Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 12:44:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin-qt and bandwidth  (Read 766 times)
deepskydiver
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 05:31:49 AM
 #1

The current and previous client are causing me a lot of trouble unfortunately.

The 7Gb blockchain needed to be all but re-done after not using the client for a year or more. It's taken 4 days - and I've downloaded much more than 7Gb plainly.

It seems firstly that you act as a node (I don't know if this can be changed) - but there are some messy aspects to it.

First - it destroys my connection. It saturates the upload channel (a little over 1Mbps). Nothing else works - I can't possibly leave it running ever - is this intentional?
Second, it isn't easily throttled. It uses both its own process bitcoin-qt AND 'system' - though this appearance of it being under 'system' may be a limitation of the utility I'm using (Netbalancer).

The questions I have are:

1. Do you have to act as a node?
2. Will future clients be such bandwidth hogs and so slow?
3. Why is there nowhere to download the blockchain (the only source I could find was ancient!)

I suspect it's a real problem, because I want to do my part, but I can't leave the current client running.
1511268267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511268267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511268267
Reply with quote  #2

1511268267
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511268267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511268267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511268267
Reply with quote  #2

1511268267
Report to moderator
1511268267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511268267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511268267
Reply with quote  #2

1511268267
Report to moderator
1511268267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511268267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511268267
Reply with quote  #2

1511268267
Report to moderator
mitty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 05:41:21 AM
 #2

The easiest way to avoid running the full client is to use an online wallet.  The easiest I've found is Blockchain.info: https://blockchain.info/wallet/

The only downside is that someone else (blockchain.info in this case) has control of your private keys and therefore your bitcoins.  Apparently they use client-side encryption but I remember one case where a dispute came up and blockchain took coins from an alleged scammer's wallet.  Just a consideration before giving someone else control over your coins.

I've also heard of people mentioning desktop clients that don't require a full blockchain download.  I don't know anything about these yet though. 
deepskydiver
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 06:02:39 AM
 #3

Thanks - I've recently signed for an online wallet. So these client issues are common?
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 06:41:30 AM
 #4

4 days to get the blockchain? I suppose you are not using the bitcoin client version 0.8.1, am i right?

Also, there is a way to throttle it and tell it to not use more than some bandwidth, but i dunno how  Cheesy

About lightweight clients, try Multibit or Electrum
deepskydiver
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 07:24:28 AM
 #5

It was with 0.8.1 - I was amazed and annoyed by both how slow it was and how much it sucked
bandwidth. I'll have a look to see if you can throttle / limit it directly.
Fressac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 07:42:21 AM
 #6

It does take some time.

It took me about 20 hours running Bitcoin-Qt 0.8.0 on OS X. My bandwidth usage was pretty moderate though at only a couple hundred Kbps maximum and even then only at times.  Seems this is one of the more moderate cases compared to deepskydiver and others I've heard from who've gone through the process.

"The worst thing that can happen to a good cause is, not to be skillfully attacked, but to be ineptly defended." -- Frédéric Bastiat
deepskydiver
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 07:47:44 AM
 #7

OK, I've tried the command line parameters -listen=0 maxconnections=16
Seems to be much better in not sucking up the upload channel. I can't really assess the efficiency of download though it seemed perhaps better from the small number of blocks I needed to get.
pharmland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 03:53:30 PM
 #8

Online wallet is more risky because easier for someone to steal your BTC.
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 04:20:47 PM
 #9

I was in a similar boat, my DSL works but it's not the best, i used netlimiter to restrict it as not too kill my ping times, most net apps are happy with 80% of your net speed
lindonclark86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 04:25:43 PM
 #10

It took me quite a while to download too. Now I have a qt wallet for most of my bitcoins and an online blockchain wallet for portability.
bovcan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 04:41:56 PM
 #11

Yes I may switch to an online wallet because bitcoin-qt is such a hard disk space hog.  I wouldnt' risk too  muchy $ that way but maybe a little.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 05:10:48 PM
 #12

Then use Multibit
joesmoe2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Ching-Chang;Ding-Dong


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2013, 05:16:13 PM
 #13

I use blockchain.info, seems to be secure enough.

BitcoinLeader
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2013, 05:27:16 PM
 #14

I am having the same problem with bitcoind. I have downloaded bootstrap.dat (4.5gb) though, however it still takes more than 10 hours to update the whole blockchain.

Why can't  we just import the whole blockchain from a single archive?

easycoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 05:36:05 PM
 #15

Thanks for the info!  Grin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!