Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2018, 04:23:12 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: S9 Center Board Appears Dead??  (Read 1566 times)
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 07:28:21 PM
 #1

I noticed the center board on one of my S9's was hashing 0.00 last night. It was still showing all O's across the ASIC chain for that board, but no hash.
I rebooted and it would come back hashing. But 30 minutes or so later, it would go back to 0.
The rebooting worked 2 or 3 times, but now the board is completely absent from the miner status page.

I have powered down a few times to see if it would come back but it didn't.

I tried to reset it a few minutes ago, but my few attempts at getting it to reset failed.

I can't try the reset again for a few hours as I had to shut down all my miners because of a major thunderstorm and my fans could suck in the pouring rain.

Any thoughts other than trying again to get it to reset? If the reset fails, would you suggest flashing as a possible solution? It's a batch 3.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537590192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590192
Reply with quote  #2

1537590192
Report to moderator
1537590192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590192
Reply with quote  #2

1537590192
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1338


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 07:47:26 PM
 #2

I noticed the center board on one of my S9's was hashing 0.00 last night. It was still showing all O's across the ASIC chain for that board, but no hash.
I rebooted and it would come back hashing. But 30 minutes or so later, it would go back to 0.
The rebooting worked 2 or 3 times, but now the board is completely absent from the miner status page.

I have powered down a few times to see if it would come back but it didn't.

I tried to reset it a few minutes ago, but my few attempts at getting it to reset failed.

I can't try the reset again for a few hours as I had to shut down all my miners because of a major thunderstorm and my fans could suck in the pouring rain.

Any thoughts other than trying again to get it to reset? If the reset fails, would you suggest flashing as a possible solution? It's a batch 3.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

did you try to clock it lower?

say 575 or 550?

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 08:06:21 PM
 #3

I noticed the center board on one of my S9's was hashing 0.00 last night. It was still showing all O's across the ASIC chain for that board, but no hash.
I rebooted and it would come back hashing. But 30 minutes or so later, it would go back to 0.
The rebooting worked 2 or 3 times, but now the board is completely absent from the miner status page.

I have powered down a few times to see if it would come back but it didn't.

I tried to reset it a few minutes ago, but my few attempts at getting it to reset failed.

I can't try the reset again for a few hours as I had to shut down all my miners because of a major thunderstorm and my fans could suck in the pouring rain.

Any thoughts other than trying again to get it to reset? If the reset fails, would you suggest flashing as a possible solution? It's a batch 3.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

did you try to clock it lower?

say 575 or 550?

It was running at 575 today. I've got them on a schedule.
When I can power them back up, I'll try a lower freq.
Thanks!

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 09:11:56 PM
 #4

I've gotten it to reset. No joy.

I've also down-clocked to 500 and then 475. Same result.

I'll try to reset again.

Then I guess I will try to flash the miner if I can find the link to instructions on how to flash with the micro sd.  Angry

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 10:06:19 PM
 #5

Fixed it!!  Cheesy

I thought the center board, would of course line up with the center adaptor connector at the top. For lack of a better way of explaining it.

So I unplugged the center board from the connector and plugged it into the one open connector. Still no joy.

Finally, (like dumba$$) I looked and saw that it was the first board to my right which had no red light on it.
So I unplugged that from the connector and plugged into the open connector.

It worked. All three boards hashing.

Now to remove it from Antpoo and put it back where it belongs.  Cheesy

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 30, 2016, 10:11:00 PM
 #6

Whoops, spoke too soon. As soon as I set it to my pool and it restarted, the board is still not alive. %$#%^&&%$$  Angry
First board on the right, looking from the exhaust end, still has no red light. It was there until I changed pools.

Back to the drawing board.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 31, 2016, 02:30:22 AM
 #7

I noticed the center board on one of my S9's was hashing 0.00 last night. It was still showing all O's across the ASIC chain for that board, but no hash.
I rebooted and it would come back hashing. But 30 minutes or so later, it would go back to 0.
The rebooting worked 2 or 3 times, but now the board is completely absent from the miner status page.

I have powered down a few times to see if it would come back but it didn't.

I tried to reset it a few minutes ago, but my few attempts at getting it to reset failed.

I can't try the reset again for a few hours as I had to shut down all my miners because of a major thunderstorm and my fans could suck in the pouring rain.

Any thoughts other than trying again to get it to reset? If the reset fails, would you suggest flashing as a possible solution? It's a batch 3.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

did you try to clock it lower?

say 575 or 550?

It was running at 575 today. I've got them on a schedule.
When I can power them back up, I'll try a lower freq.
Thanks!

Out of curiosity what PSU are you using with it?  Have you tried another PSU?   Also have to ask with mention of schedule are you dealing with extreme heats?  Scheduling tends to be for heat or sound just curious which one you are using for.
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 31, 2016, 02:38:33 AM
 #8

I noticed the center board on one of my S9's was hashing 0.00 last night. It was still showing all O's across the ASIC chain for that board, but no hash.
I rebooted and it would come back hashing. But 30 minutes or so later, it would go back to 0.
The rebooting worked 2 or 3 times, but now the board is completely absent from the miner status page.

I have powered down a few times to see if it would come back but it didn't.

I tried to reset it a few minutes ago, but my few attempts at getting it to reset failed.

I can't try the reset again for a few hours as I had to shut down all my miners because of a major thunderstorm and my fans could suck in the pouring rain.

Any thoughts other than trying again to get it to reset? If the reset fails, would you suggest flashing as a possible solution? It's a batch 3.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

did you try to clock it lower?

say 575 or 550?

It was running at 575 today. I've got them on a schedule.
When I can power them back up, I'll try a lower freq.
Thanks!

Out of curiosity what PSU are you using with it?  Have you tried another PSU?   Also have to ask with mention of schedule are you dealing with extreme heats?  Scheduling tends to be for heat or sound just curious which one you are using for.

I was using a btiman psu. Yes, I have tried switching out with 2 HP 1000's. Same result. The board on the right has no red light.

Yes, I'm using the scheduler because during the day it can reach mid 90's F. But I'm pretty certain heat has not caused the problem as I keep a very watchful eye on all the temps and would always down-clock so my board temps stayed below 65 and the chip temps never got beyond the mid 90's.

I am still seeking solutions. Haven't tried flashing yet, but I think the board is the problem. I will keep you updated.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 31, 2016, 04:49:30 AM
 #9

Flashed the machine with the corresponding S9 600Mhz FW.

No luck. Board is still dead. I guess I will contact BM.  Angry

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
July 31, 2016, 11:36:02 AM
 #10

Flashed the machine with the corresponding S9 600Mhz FW.

No luck. Board is still dead. I guess I will contact BM.  Angry

It needs a lot of patience  for this.

one of my S9 B1 board was dead . D.O.A.

I'll get it tomorrow.

Miner Delivered Thursday, June 16, 2016
June 17 i send Bitmain imeil.

after 9 day "testing" i opened repair ticket
Tickets Id 033201606261315032280y0tx0T30672 Date 2016-06-26 13:15:03
Sending blade for 70 euro back to China
Delivery 29.06.2016 17:20 HK001 / HKG

Tracing info


Click on the picture

So not even two months for all.



wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 31, 2016, 12:50:23 PM
 #11

Will Bitmain Warranty in Colorado repair or send out a new board? I know I will have to pay for it either way, but would rather not send it to China. I didn't buy it from BM directly anyway.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 31, 2016, 05:44:15 PM
 #12

Does anyone know, or care to postulate, whether the ribbon cable for the S7 is the same or will work on an S9? They look the same.

I figure I should try to rule out any simple solutions I can think of. The dead board pisses me off! Sad

Thanks!

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
DRKMSTR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2016, 01:27:43 AM
 #13

Try re-seating every connection.

Worked for me.

The S7-style boards are finicky.

The MAD DOGE: http://maddoge.com/
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 05:36:03 PM
 #14

Try re-seating every connection.

Worked for me.

The S7-style boards are finicky.

I'll try doing that again to every cable on the miner later when I have to take the miners down because of storms. Thanks for response! Smiley

Edit: Right now I'm only hashing with the two boards with the 3rd unplugged for safety.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!