Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 11:37:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can some sort of miner be run with the phone line's power, not making it "busy"?  (Read 2167 times)
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i :)


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:01:51 AM
 #1

(I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, i only got a superficial knowledge on most things involved.)


Is there some sort of mining rig that can run out of the power from a phoneline (either directly hooked or thru some sort of adapter/transformer/wallwart thingy etc), without the phone company considering the line to be "busy" while the device is plugged and sucking energy (in other words, not preventing the phone from ringing if called nor preventing outgoing calls)?


Obviously this wouldn't be very competitive, probably even less powerful than GPUs, but since the electricity coming thru the phone line is unmetered, if it doesn't interfere with regular usage of the phone line for making and receiving calls then that's pretty much free eletricity, and free electricity + mining rig = free money (though in this case it might be just a trickle of money, still free though). But since it is quite weak, the best way to go with this would be to join a pool, obviously.


ps: I live in Brazil, most specificly São Paulo. I'm not sure if that makes much a difference, but i have the impression the landline standards and protocols might be a bit different in different parts of the world; keep that in mind.


ps2: oh, and another requirement is there must be no significant noise added into the phone line, there is a ADSL service being offered in these parts and i wouldn't want them to trace the noise to my house...

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC/BCH for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511437031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511437031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511437031
Reply with quote  #2

1511437031
Report to moderator
1511437031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511437031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511437031
Reply with quote  #2

1511437031
Report to moderator
1511437031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511437031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511437031
Reply with quote  #2

1511437031
Report to moderator
mokahless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 464



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:32:18 AM
 #2

First I ever heard of this. So in Brazil, you guys all have a sort of "POE" (power over ethernet) but for your phones? So you don't have to plug any of your phones into outlets?
You guys must have pretty thick phone cables.

Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:39:24 AM
 #3

There is usually a small amount of electricity provided by the phone line itself, but it is very low current and highly illegal to tap for non-phone purposes. You'd be lucky if you could draw more than 1-2 watts before the voltage sagged to unusable levels or blows a fuse somewhere.
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i :)


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:40:42 AM
 #4

First I ever heard of this. So in Brazil, you guys all have a sort of "POE" (power over ethernet) but for your phones? So you don't have to plug any of your phones into outlets?
You guys must have pretty thick phone cables.
It is my understanding the landlines have a small bit of power even when the phone is on the hook (some phones even take advantage of that to do things like backlight on the keys, show the time, allow management of a simple contacts book etc while plugged but with the phone on the hook). It is certainly not as powerful and reliable as regular powerlines, but there is some energy in there. The characteristics of the electricity change when you connect a call, when the phone is ringing etc; these variations and pulses need to be taken in consideration.

Ah, and if i'm not mistaken there is even some house alarm systems that monitor the landline and trigger the alarm if the line ever goes dead; since it is supposed to have some energy in it pretty much the whole time, if it goes dead it means someone cut the line.

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC/BCH for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i :)


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:44:36 AM
 #5

There is usually a small amount of electricity provided by the phone line itself, but it is very low current and highly illegal to tap for non-phone purposes. You'd be lucky if you could draw more than 1-2 watts before the voltage sagged to unusable levels or blows a fuse somewhere.
And there is no 1Watt miner out there?

And why exactly is it illegal? What is the harm if they are sending that electricity anyway?

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC/BCH for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1367

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 10:34:02 AM
 #6

read this

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ringer_equivalence_number

drawing power = increasing the REN.

or, another way, the device you add (miner) will have a REN. probably a pretty high one.

load the line up too much and phones stop working. or they cut you off as they only have so much power to feed into the line.

Quote
And there is no 1Watt miner out there?

there probably will be soon. but are you seriously worried about 1 or 2 watts on your electric bill??
Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:16:58 PM
 #7

There is usually a small amount of electricity provided by the phone line itself, but it is very low current and highly illegal to tap for non-phone purposes. You'd be lucky if you could draw more than 1-2 watts before the voltage sagged to unusable levels or blows a fuse somewhere.
And there is no 1Watt miner out there?

And why exactly is it illegal? What is the harm if they are sending that electricity anyway?

It's illegal because if your device were to malfunction or draw excessive current, it could affect other nearby lines. This could potentially interfere with someone's ability to dial 911 in an emergency. This is also the reason that cell phone jammers are illegal.

I'm not currently aware of any miners that will work on less than 2 watts of power.
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i :)


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 11:33:26 PM
 #8


Quote
And there is no 1Watt miner out there?

there probably will be soon. but are you seriously worried about 1 or 2 watts on your electric bill??
1 watts on the electric bill is always more expensive than 1 watt on the phone line...

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC/BCH for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1367

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 12:10:46 AM
 #9


Quote
And there is no 1Watt miner out there?

there probably will be soon. but are you seriously worried about 1 or 2 watts on your electric bill??
1 watts on the electric bill is always more expensive than 1 watt on the phone line...

if it took me (say) 2 minutes hook something up for a free watt worth of power, I would feel like I had wasted 2 mins of my life Smiley Ill just use my house electric.
mokahless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 464



View Profile
March 25, 2013, 12:41:17 AM
 #10

Even a raspberry pi is twice the power requirement. I mean, you can mine on its CPU but...

niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 12:50:20 AM
 #11

There is usually a small amount of electricity provided by the phone line itself, but it is very low current and highly illegal to tap for non-phone purposes. You'd be lucky if you could draw more than 1-2 watts before the voltage sagged to unusable levels or blows a fuse somewhere.
And there is no 1Watt miner out there?

And why exactly is it illegal? What is the harm if they are sending that electricity anyway?
They are not sending it anyway; it only flows if you are drawing it.

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
Crystallas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
March 26, 2013, 05:53:21 AM
 #12

10w solar panel + 18650 battery stack = cheap and not being intrusive to the com grid. Still wont give you a ROI, but at least you're stealing the sun's energy and not someone else's LOL
TECSHARE
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Welcome to Bitcoin Stalk


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 10:59:14 AM
 #13

Phone companies monitor these power levels. If you do it too much eventually some one will be at your door wanting to inspect your setup to look for shorts.

BITCOINTALK STAFF SELECTIVELY ENFORCE THE RULES IN AN ATTEMPT TO CREATE A CHILL EFFECT AND PERMANENTLY REMOVE ME AND OTHERS FROM THIS FORUM AS RETALIATION FOR SPEAKING OUT ABOUT THEIR ABUSIVE BEHAVIOR, AND THAT OF THEIR PERSONAL CLIQUES.
Phil21
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 05:09:27 PM
 #14

A long time ago I did the math to figure out how many phone lines I'd have to order (assuming I'd get max draw on each which is a large assumption) to power a small Cisco router at a remote location.  I think it was around 70, iirc Smiley

This is a fun thing to think about and do napkin math on, but it's not practical and surely illegal.  It's stealing power, just like if you'd plug into the unmetered side of your house demarc.  This is actually probably a lot worse, since you're drawing power from a system where the power exists for a very specific reason.  Most likely you won't be fused on your individual line, so if you do draw more than a few watts you'll be taking out a neighborhood.   Heck, given you're in a developing country it might not be fused anywhere Smiley

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tip_and_ring

-Phil
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 05:36:46 PM
 #15

Eletrical Alert:

Even if you did manage to "get" power over a phone line; you'd quickly discover that phone lines aren't rated the handle the power draw that the device might require and if it did some how succeed in drawing the power you would likely end up with a fire wherever the phone line runs through.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 02:54:46 PM
 #16

Sandman.com has sold this stuff for years:

http://www.sandman.com/telco.html

I don't see any ASICS though.

lol telco powered glow in the dark vibrator...thats awesome!

I remember , I hated to work on phone systems while they were live, if I was doin wire tracing or whatnot. The voltage raises by 2x when someone picks up the line, enough to give ya a good electrical feedback when you touch the wires... whereas there non off the hook voltage isnt really high enough to feel it. I think its like 20 "idle" and 40v when phone off the hook.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
zif33rs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 27, 2013, 03:02:40 PM
 #17

^   Thats friggin hilarious...I lol'ed.  I'm betting its he's best seller.

New to bitcoin? Want to mine? Not sure where to start out?
Check out www.hostedmining.com
Donations and Tips  btc - 1MkjKHpZbSaRepeYaAcmRMcqt8o3HKQCF   ltc  - LNz48TP8MZmke38qbZD5gXi53KrktbJG7V  ftc  - 6iDt92cyDvxXkrDhCzMh4zEmK1b9PqShs4
Phil21
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 11:20:42 PM
 #18

Man, good link.  Ha.

It's actually 90v (AC current, voltage varies but is generally 90v in the US iirc) when it rings.  I found that out stripping wire with my teeth to connect a new jack for my uber-fast 19.2k modem.  Who had the time to run down to grab wirestrippers when there was so much connecting at high speeds to do?!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!