Bitcoin Forum
September 30, 2020, 06:48:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: RX 480 Best driver for ETH mining ? (Windows)  (Read 18675 times)
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 06, 2016, 11:45:51 AM
 #1

I read this article: http://cryptomining-blog.com/8033-testing-the-amd-radeon-rx-480-for-ethereum-mining/

And they seem to be able to get around 27Mhs just by overclocking the memory to 9Ghz.
What older driver versions support Memory overclock that high ?

I have the 16.7.3 driver now and it only support overclocking to 2050Mhz.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 2646



View Profile
August 07, 2016, 04:21:44 AM
 #2

I read this article: http://cryptomining-blog.com/8033-testing-the-amd-radeon-rx-480-for-ethereum-mining/

And they seem to be able to get around 27Mhs just by overclocking the memory to 9Ghz.
What older driver versions support Memory overclock that high ?

I have the 16.7.3 driver now and it only support overclocking to 2050Mhz.

16.7.2

Clock to 2200 which is 8800

Then set fans  to 2800- -4500. Temps to 75 -65

Lastly set power to -25

Look at my long thread it has a lot of info on clocks.

Note leave gpu freq and gpu volts alone.

And leave memory volts alone


I only mine with windows 7. 6 pcs and 14 cards.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 09:29:43 AM
 #3

I read this article: http://cryptomining-blog.com/8033-testing-the-amd-radeon-rx-480-for-ethereum-mining/

And they seem to be able to get around 27Mhs just by overclocking the memory to 9Ghz.
What older driver versions support Memory overclock that high ?

I have the 16.7.3 driver now and it only support overclocking to 2050Mhz.

16.7.2

Clock to 2200 which is 8800

Then set fans  to 2800- -4500. Temps to 75 -65

Lastly set power to -25

Look at my long thread it has a lot of info on clocks.

Note leave gpu freq and gpu volts alone.

And leave memory volts alone


I only mine with windows 7. 6 pcs and 14 cards.
Thanks !

On my six cards setup on Windows 10 i jumped from 148Mhs to around 160Mhs.

I have a strange issue though.
On stock clocks all cards where doing 24.7Mhs.
Overclocked all cards except one are doing 27.9Mhs. The one not doing that have dropped to 23Mhs.

But overall i am up över 10Mhs so i am pretty happy anyway.
FlexiN
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 09:52:29 AM
 #4

I have the same setup like you Cryptozillah, but can you say me how much watts you consume for the whole rig ??
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 10:29:19 AM
 #5

I have the same setup like you Cryptozillah, but can you say me how much watts you consume for the whole rig ??
1200w at the wall overclocked.
Too much, cant figure out why it is pulling that much power.

My system should pull around 75w, so the gpus have to pull around 180w+ each
FlexiN
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 12:41:57 PM
 #6

I have the same setup like you Cryptozillah, but can you say me how much watts you consume for the whole rig ??
1200w at the wall overclocked.
Too much, cant figure out why it is pulling that much power.

My system should pull around 75w, so the gpus have to pull around 180w+ each

What the hell, 1200W is too much for the RX480, i've seen before somes miners claim and share 140-150 mh/s with 750-850W for the whole rig, if someone have good settings to share you are welcome Smiley
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 12:47:21 PM
 #7

I have the same setup like you Cryptozillah, but can you say me how much watts you consume for the whole rig ??
1200w at the wall overclocked.
Too much, cant figure out why it is pulling that much power.

My system should pull around 75w, so the gpus have to pull around 180w+ each

What the hell, 1200W is too much for the RX480, i've seen before somes miners claim and share 140-150 mh/s with 750-850W for the whole rig, if someone have good settings to share you are welcome Smiley
Yeah i dont get this, i have been trying to underclock today but no big difference.
I am starting to think that my wattmeter is broken.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 2646



View Profile
August 07, 2016, 01:30:33 PM
 #8

I have the same setup like you Cryptozillah, but can you say me how much watts you consume for the whole rig ??
1200w at the wall overclocked.
Too much, cant figure out why it is pulling that much power.

My system should pull around 75w, so the gpus have to pull around 180w+ each

What the hell, 1200W is too much for the RX480, i've seen before somes miners claim and share 140-150 mh/s with 750-850W for the whole rig, if someone have good settings to share you are welcome Smiley
Yeah i dont get this, i have been trying to underclock today but no big difference.
I am starting to think that my wattmeter is broken.

here is a rx 480 stock gpu leave it alone not in the photo

then the memory  I am at stock 2000
then memory volts I am at stock  auto
  set here first for your baseline.



the key to under clock is this  see the oval is at -23   that is what saves watts.   so  with all settings above stock 

set your fans close to mine  and
try power saver at -15  you will mine in the 24-25mh spot  check the watts used
set  power saver at -20 you will mine in same 24-25mh spot check watts used

then -22 , -24 , -26, -28, -30  keep checking watts and mh   somewhere near 26-32 mh drops a lot  so go to -25 what ever for your cards

 you may have the six cards like this:


one      -21
two      -27
three    -26
four     -29
five     -20
six       -23



I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 02:25:36 PM
Last edit: August 07, 2016, 02:39:39 PM by Cryptozillah
 #9

I have the same setup like you Cryptozillah, but can you say me how much watts you consume for the whole rig ??
1200w at the wall overclocked.
Too much, cant figure out why it is pulling that much power.

My system should pull around 75w, so the gpus have to pull around 180w+ each

What the hell, 1200W is too much for the RX480, i've seen before somes miners claim and share 140-150 mh/s with 750-850W for the whole rig, if someone have good settings to share you are welcome Smiley
Yeah i dont get this, i have been trying to underclock today but no big difference.
I am starting to think that my wattmeter is broken.

here is a rx 480 stock gpu leave it alone not in the photo

then the memory  I am at stock 2000
then memory volts I am at stock  auto
 set here first for your baseline.



the key to under clock is this  see the oval is at -23   that is what saves watts.   so  with all settings above stock  

set your fans close to mine  and
try power saver at -15  you will mine in the 24-25mh spot  check the watts used
set  power saver at -20 you will mine in same 24-25mh spot check watts used

then -22 , -24 , -26, -28, -30  keep checking watts and mh   somewhere near 26-32 mh drops a lot  so go to -25 what ever for your cards

 you may have the six cards like this:


one      -21
two      -27
three    -26
four     -29
five     -20
six       -23



Thanks ! Much appreciated.
I had totally missed that feature, now i dropped like 250w for the whole rig @ stock clocks and -25. Now mining at 148Mhs @ 920w
I will try to tweak it up a bit and see how it goes.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 2646



View Profile
August 07, 2016, 03:10:27 PM
 #10

good  250 watts saved is good start .

next try to bump the ram up say to 2080 for each card .

you should get more like 25.5 mh or 26.1 with 2080 for ram.

and power in watts should stay about the same.

do one card at a time.  if mh  on the card drops to say 22 then move the power for that to -20

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 04:28:28 PM
 #11

good  250 watts saved is good start .

next try to bump the ram up say to 2080 for each card .

you should get more like 25.5 mh or 26.1 with 2080 for ram.

and power in watts should stay about the same.

do one card at a time.  if mh  on the card drops to say 22 then move the power for that to -20
Yeah i will try to find the sweet spot.
I have been having issues when overclocking all cards at once. 2-3 cards can jump up a bit while the rest drop in hashrate.
It is better to give it some time and manage one card at the time
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 05:33:22 PM
Last edit: August 07, 2016, 05:56:05 PM by Cryptozillah
 #12

Getting there Smiley

990w at the wall. Will let this run for a day and see if it is stable.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 2646



View Profile
August 07, 2016, 08:08:27 PM
 #13

yeah thats about as good as it gets.   worst case drop to 2200 vs 2250  and set at -22 vs -25 if it is not stable.


Getting there Smiley

990w at the wall. Will let this run for a day and see if it is stable.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 08:21:03 PM
 #14

yeah thats about as good as it gets.   worst case drop to 2200 vs 2250  and set at -22 vs -25 if it is not stable.


Getting there Smiley

990w at the wall. Will let this run for a day and see if it is stable.
Right now it is looking rock solid but i will just leave it going and see what happends.
This make me want to stack up on some more gpu:s Smiley
Houssy06
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2016, 09:58:05 PM
 #15

What version of Crimson are you using? Would love to have the full settings Cryptozillah.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 2646



View Profile
August 08, 2016, 12:19:27 AM
 #16

What version of Crimson are you using? Would love to have the full settings Cryptozillah.



he has to be using 16.7.2  as 16.7.3 limits  ram clock  to 2050 / 8200

to get the 27mh  ram clock has to be at 2200/8800 to 2250/9000

some cards crash over 2200 some go to 2250.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 08, 2016, 07:13:36 AM
 #17

What version of Crimson are you using? Would love to have the full settings Cryptozillah.



he has to be using 16.7.2  as 16.7.3 limits  ram clock  to 2050 / 8200

to get the 27mh  ram clock has to be at 2200/8800 to 2250/9000

some cards crash over 2200 some go to 2250.
Yeah i am now running the 16.7.2 driver.
I had to lower the clocks to 2200 during the night due to a system crash. I will try to tweak it back up a bit when i get home from work today.
The rig is doing 162.5Mhs with memory clock set at 2200.

I can post all my settings later today.
rawbert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 08, 2016, 07:59:20 AM
 #18

What version of Crimson are you using? Would love to have the full settings Cryptozillah.



he has to be using 16.7.2  as 16.7.3 limits  ram clock  to 2050 / 8200

to get the 27mh  ram clock has to be at 2200/8800 to 2250/9000

some cards crash over 2200 some go to 2250.

Too bad 16.7.2 doesn't have support for RX 470.. I have one coming so in order to use it with my 2x RX 480 I must use 16.7.3.

Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 08, 2016, 08:13:58 AM
 #19

What version of Crimson are you using? Would love to have the full settings Cryptozillah.



he has to be using 16.7.2  as 16.7.3 limits  ram clock  to 2050 / 8200

to get the 27mh  ram clock has to be at 2200/8800 to 2250/9000

some cards crash over 2200 some go to 2250.

Too bad 16.7.2 doesn't have support for RX 470.. I have one coming so in order to use it with my 2x RX 480 I must use 16.7.3.
I am pretty sure that the 470 have a limit at 1750 on the memory, atleast on the 4GB version.
Houssy06
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2016, 09:02:03 AM
 #20

I'm doing 131 mh/s with 5 Xfx RX 480, drawing 800 watt from wall, pretty sure i can make it do better.

Fan at 70 % and temp is around 68 on all cards. Mem clock ar 2125

Crimson 16.7.3
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!