Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 03:30:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with CPU  (Read 1608 times)
Mikrouwel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 01:57:26 PM
 #1

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534476657
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534476657

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534476657
Reply with quote  #2

1534476657
Report to moderator
bcearl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:00:12 PM
 #2

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Does it seem weird that an aircraft carrier is more powerful than a car, but a car is way faster on motorways?

Misspelling protects against dictionary attacks NOT
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:02:17 PM
 #3

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

GPU's a made for different things. They are only made to handle a certain amount of things, but the things that they can handle, they are VERY good at. One of those is hashing.
freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:05:18 PM
 #4

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

This one: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0
smackdaddy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:05:43 PM
 #5

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Does it seem weird that an aircraft carrier is more powerful than a car, but a car is way faster on motorways?

Good analogy.

█ DECENT FOUNDATION █ ICO ⏰ 10th of September (http://decent.ch/)
Mikrouwel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:08:38 PM
 #6

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

This one: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0

I get a error message saying "application has stopped" working when I open it Sad

Also, how many MHash/s could I get out my CPU with that prog?

Mik
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:32:50 PM
 #7

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

This one: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0

I get a error message saying "application has stopped" working when I open it Sad

Also, how many MHash/s could I get out my CPU with that prog?

Mik

7 at the max.
Mikrouwel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:56:03 PM
 #8

Okay lol not worth it then

Thanks anyway
batt01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 267
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 12:21:50 AM
 #9

Get a Jalapenp from butterflylabs.

zThermal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 03:41:53 AM
 #10

and by the time u get one, you cant make ur money back
shep
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 09:50:48 AM
 #11

In the same boat, have an Intel sandy bridge, but my GPU is an old Nvidia 9800.  Looks like I'll be upgrading soon.
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 09:58:43 AM
 #12

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

I get about 10 Mh/s on my i5 laptop and 710 Mh/s on my 5970...

SpaceJelly
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 09:59:07 AM
 #13

In the same boat, have an Intel sandy bridge, but my GPU is an old Nvidia 9800.  Looks like I'll be upgrading soon.

Personally I wouldn't bother. Unless you like PC gaming, getting a GFX card for mining alone is a: a waste of electricity and b: a waste of money as you'll be unlikely to make back the purchase price of the GFX card.

(This is all assuming that ASIC's hit sometime in Q1-2 2013)

1Je11yL4Fqw5nvaP6KUs2JDABBp29vKeEU
1JeLLyv8o7YwooSg53qEdDSPXeAT3ShQoc
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!