Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:55:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with CPU  (Read 1474 times)
Mikrouwel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 01:57:26 PM
 #1

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik
1481122518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122518
Reply with quote  #2

1481122518
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481122518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122518
Reply with quote  #2

1481122518
Report to moderator
bcearl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:00:12 PM
 #2

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Does it seem weird that an aircraft carrier is more powerful than a car, but a car is way faster on motorways?

Misspelling protects against dictionary attacks NOT
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:02:17 PM
 #3

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

GPU's a made for different things. They are only made to handle a certain amount of things, but the things that they can handle, they are VERY good at. One of those is hashing.
freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:05:18 PM
 #4

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

This one: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0
smackdaddy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:05:43 PM
 #5

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Does it seem weird that an aircraft carrier is more powerful than a car, but a car is way faster on motorways?

Good analogy.

Mikrouwel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:08:38 PM
 #6

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

This one: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0

I get a error message saying "application has stopped" working when I open it Sad

Also, how many MHash/s could I get out my CPU with that prog?

Mik
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:32:50 PM
 #7

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

This one: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0

I get a error message saying "application has stopped" working when I open it Sad

Also, how many MHash/s could I get out my CPU with that prog?

Mik

7 at the max.
Mikrouwel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:56:03 PM
 #8

Okay lol not worth it then

Thanks anyway
batt01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 12:21:50 AM
 #9

Get a Jalapenp from butterflylabs.

*Image Removed*
Noobs Need BitCoins Buy or Sell Here. Get 100BTM Free https://coinbase.com/?r=51b3ea0704913f9615000014
zThermal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 03:41:53 AM
 #10

and by the time u get one, you cant make ur money back
shep
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 09:50:48 AM
 #11

In the same boat, have an Intel sandy bridge, but my GPU is an old Nvidia 9800.  Looks like I'll be upgrading soon.
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 09:58:43 AM
 #12

Hey Guys,

Is there a program that lets you mine in BTCMine with your CPU and you get decent Mhash/s and you dont have to stop GPU mining?

It seems weird that a CPU is more powerful than a GPU yet my 5870 can get 400Mhash/s were my i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz only gets 5Mhash/s Sad

Thanks

Mik

I get about 10 Mh/s on my i5 laptop and 710 Mh/s on my 5970...

SpaceJelly
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 09:59:07 AM
 #13

In the same boat, have an Intel sandy bridge, but my GPU is an old Nvidia 9800.  Looks like I'll be upgrading soon.

Personally I wouldn't bother. Unless you like PC gaming, getting a GFX card for mining alone is a: a waste of electricity and b: a waste of money as you'll be unlikely to make back the purchase price of the GFX card.

(This is all assuming that ASIC's hit sometime in Q1-2 2013)

1Je11yL4Fqw5nvaP6KUs2JDABBp29vKeEU
1JeLLyv8o7YwooSg53qEdDSPXeAT3ShQoc
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!