Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2024, 07:11:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using the bitcoin-qt debug window  (Read 2169 times)
bitcoinperson (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 01:28:18 PM
 #1

I'm using bitcoin-qt v0.8.0-beta for Mac. I'm trying to send bitcoin via the debug window.

I've tried the following where <bitcoinaddress> is the address I'm sending to and <amount> is the amount.

sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount>

But I get:

Error: This transaction requires a transaction fee of at least 0.002 because of its amount, complexity, or use of recently received funds! (code -4)

So i type settxfee .002 and try to send again, but I get the same error.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.
1715497886
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715497886

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715497886
Reply with quote  #2

1715497886
Report to moderator
1715497886
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715497886

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715497886
Reply with quote  #2

1715497886
Report to moderator
"In a nutshell, the network works like a distributed timestamp server, stamping the first transaction to spend a coin. It takes advantage of the nature of information being easy to spread but hard to stifle." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715497886
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715497886

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715497886
Reply with quote  #2

1715497886
Report to moderator
bitcoinperson (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 09:11:09 PM
 #2

bump
Liam W
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
March 25, 2013, 09:46:12 PM
 #3

I'm using bitcoin-qt v0.8.0-beta for Mac. I'm trying to send bitcoin via the debug window.

I've tried the following where <bitcoinaddress> is the address I'm sending to and <amount> is the amount.

sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount>

But I get:

Error: This transaction requires a transaction fee of at least 0.002 because of its amount, complexity, or use of recently received funds! (code -4)

So i type settxfee .002 and try to send again, but I get the same error.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.

Have you tried:

Code:
settxfee 0.002

and then

Code:
sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount>

Make sure it says true when you enter the settxfee command Smiley
bitcoinperson (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 10:01:39 PM
 #4

Yeah, I did try that, didn't work. I think I actually figured it out though:

What did work:

Code:
sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> 0.17291295 paytxfee .0005

Edit:
Actually I lied. Yes, the transaction went through, but it used the recommended .002 fee, not what I had specified.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!