Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 07:52:23 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: middle hashboard not working on my S9 after 20 days  (Read 1903 times)
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 23, 2016, 05:33:54 PM
 #1

hi,

it suddenly disappear from the page ( my miner down rated to 568 from the first day )
what should i do ?

1539719543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719543
Reply with quote  #2

1539719543
Report to moderator
1539719543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719543
Reply with quote  #2

1539719543
Report to moderator
1539719543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719543
Reply with quote  #2

1539719543
Report to moderator
You can see the statistics of your reports to moderators on the "Report to moderator" pages.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539719543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719543
Reply with quote  #2

1539719543
Report to moderator
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 23, 2016, 05:42:35 PM
 #2

it still have red flash like the other
and the failure lamp not flashed!
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 23, 2016, 05:50:02 PM
 #3

here is a picture toked yesterday after more than 2 days of working
Xircom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 23, 2016, 07:40:33 PM
 #4

Same happen to me yesterday. Batch 1 S9

BTC: 1MyJmxS9ER5ZBNvpG3LhoUXGotpzbPowed
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 23, 2016, 07:49:49 PM
 #5

Same happen to me yesterday. Batch 1 S9

is there a fix to this issue ? its batch 9
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 01:39:47 PM
 #6

I have discovered two issues with s9 gear.

One is a truly dead board.

Two is missing hash.


Missing hash can be fixed.


so  to see if it is missing hash check your power use ie  if the miner is pulling full power  say 1250 to 1350 watts you have missing hash.


if the miner is pulling ⅔ power   you have a dead board.  wait for photo.

if you have a lite out like this photo you have a dead board.

You also would be pulling ⅔ power not full power


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
judypug1956
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 01:43:35 PM
 #7

I have discovered two issues with s9 gear.

One is a truly dead board.

Two is missing hash.


Missing hash can be fixed.


so  to see if it is missing hash check your power use ie  if the miner is pulling full power  say 1250 to 1350 watts you have missing hash.


if the miner is pulling ⅔ power   you have a dead board.  wait for photo.

if you have a lite out like this photo you have a dead board.

You also would be pulling ⅔ power not full power



a spacer for clarity for my main account philipma1957

This is a secondary account .
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 01:50:22 PM
 #8

So if all three boards are lite up  and you are pulling full power you hash is being stolen or diverted.  

I do not know how they do it I do not know who is doing it but I am certain it is being done.

I discovered this the last few days along with my dead hash board.


You can stop this.  change the password  from root to a longer 12 character password then put it behind a second router.

our network is now

 cable modem --------- old router ---------switch ---------new router ----------- new switch-------- 6 s9's and 1 s7


this brought back all my boards  that were dropping out.(other then the dead one)

You can do a free test by bringing your miner to a different internet ip

A friends house  should fix the issue if I am correct.

I found this out bringing gear back and forth from the solar array to my house to try to fix the dead board.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 02:31:12 PM
 #9

So if all three boards are lite up  and you are pulling full power you hash is being stolen or diverted.  

I do not know how they do it I do not know who is doing it but I am certain it is being done.
<snip>
You really should ask CK about this but;
Electrically there is no way a single instance of CGminer can divert the hash from 1 board.  Periodically redirect all the boards in a miner yes. It checks what boards are present and then works with them as a single package getting/sending all data from/to a single IP address.

Now if there is a man-in-the-middle sitch where a hidden 2nd instance of CGminer is running that from time to time isolates and takes over control of the one board...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1164

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 02:45:53 PM
 #10

Which, since bmminer is apparently closed-source, could be in there on purpose. In any case it makes finding and patching the hole a lot more difficult.

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 03:50:30 PM
 #11

Which, since bmminer is apparently closed-source, could be in there on purpose. In any case it makes finding and patching the hole a lot more difficult.
Ja. But, Phillipa said that he has also seen this on s7's and s5's which has code that can be checked.

Closest to I've seen to this (on a s7) is one board-shutting down for 15min to an hour and then coming back to life on its own. I have 2 s7's that do this every so often -- as in maybe once every few days to over a week or more between the board apparently taking a nap for a while then getting back to work.

The oddest thing about is that M'sMiner Monitor and Kano miner stats will show the 1/3rd drop in real-time speed while the average shows what it should be though after 15min or so Kano will start reporting the drop in average. Bitmains GUI reports the same drop in RT and average as normal. Also shows all boards/chips are alive. Do a soft or hard reboot and all is as it should be. Very odd...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1164

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 05:39:15 PM
 #12

Appears like one of my hosted S9 has a dead board, right side looking from the intake. I think it had red light when I was looking over the machines because I couldn't immediately distinguish which board was dead, but when I took it down for testing the red LED never lit. It draws full power and the buck output is the right voltage but it doesn't register in the stats. Guess we'll see what the owner wants to do about attempting warranty.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 05:55:20 PM
 #13

Which, since bmminer is apparently closed-source, could be in there on purpose. In any case it makes finding and patching the hole a lot more difficult.
Ja. But, Phillipa said that he has also seen this on s7's and s5's which has code that can be checked.

Closest to I've seen to this (on a s7) is one board-shutting down for 15min to an hour and then coming back to life on its own. I have 2 s7's that do this every so often -- as in maybe once every few days to over a week or more between the board apparently taking a nap for a while then getting back to work.

The oddest thing about is that M'sMiner Monitor and Kano miner stats will show the 1/3rd drop in real-time speed while the average shows what it should be though after 15min or so Kano will start reporting the drop in average. Bitmains GUI reports the same drop in RT and average as normal. Also shows all boards/chips are alive. Do a soft or hard reboot and all is as it should be. Very odd...

Yeah I don't know why this happens but my truly dead board pulled zero power. My vanishing boards  pull full power.

If I move the miner behind a second router  all boards work.

Off topic.  I finally after 10 weeks minus 1 day finished my kitchen  this real world but first world problem has been a true distraction to my mining.

I ordered a shit ton of parts over the last two days and will start fucking with the gear in the solar array.

First off  I need to figure if it is a board issue and not a high jack of hash. But these boards do not behave like  my dead one.

I will post back more info on this the next few days.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 24, 2016, 11:37:03 PM
 #14

I have a Skype msg out to a buddy of mine to see if he has the time/interest to look at the firmware file(s) for the s9. Just waiting for him to show up.

Even by my standard the dude is by far a brilliant Dr. of Computer Science and does keep Blockchain discussions alive where he currently works (major Investments Firm). Leads a group whose job is to explore new ways of mining Big Data for investments modeling and making front ends for clients to use for perusing/manipulating the huge amounts of raw data being collected about, well, everything nowadays....

Anyway, between him and opieum2 from here (IT security) I figure that if something suspect is going on -- they will find it. Been a long time (AMT days) since opieum2 has been on here but I'll ask.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 01:59:36 AM
 #15

they told me to send it to there address and i sent it from 2 days
i will update here what happen to me
it cost me 65$ for shipping using Aramex
mamiakimo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 08, 2016, 10:08:58 AM
 #16

i get message today from them (Your repair order has been sended.)
and ups track no

is that mean it repaired ?
when i open the ticket i get



what that ( Hava Replace ) mean ?
Rumipl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 08, 2016, 08:19:27 PM
 #17

Did anyone have more vanishing boards ? I have about 30 vanished boards in my S9's. I tried the sollution Phil gave but unfortunatelly it doesnt help. I check the power consumption and all of the miners are drawing 100 % of the power, as well the led on the boards seems to be ok. Do you have any sollution ?

Thank you

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 09, 2016, 12:45:35 AM
 #18

Did anyone have more vanishing boards ? I have about 30 vanished boards in my S9's. I tried the sollution Phil gave but unfortunatelly it doesnt help. I check the power consumption and all of the miners are drawing 100 % of the power, as well the led on the boards seems to be ok. Do you have any sollution ?

Thank you
Vanishing from where?
Your selected pool throughput?
Do all the boards show up in Bitmains GUI when the pools shows a boards worth of speed missing?
Do any of your failover pools pickup the hashing? (possibly a variant of balanced pools being activated maybe?)

If the GUI shows a board missing then something in hardware.
BTW -- clear the browser cache and cookies before looking a a miner when this happens. Reason: I've seen the status page not really refresh at times, on the s7's usually around 30-50 days of running 24x7. Shortly after that the miner gets weird with hard boot as the fix for another month or so.

If the board IS showing up - check your routers logs and filter by the miners IP. ALL traffic to/from them should be only pointed at your pools!

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
September 15, 2016, 01:19:48 AM
 #19

i get message today from them (Your repair order has been sended.)
and ups track no

is that mean it repaired ?
when i open the ticket i get



what that ( Hava Replace ) mean ?

That was the status on a dead hash board and BB Black board I returned. They sent replacements.
I was wondering what that meant also.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!