Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 12:51:32 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: S5 wireless  (Read 1138 times)
coinscashout
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 08:49:08 PM
 #1

I'm a hoobyist miner and quite new to setting up my s5 miner.

I wanted to know how I can:
Set-up my miner's connection from wifi to laptop to s5 miner (I've tried connecting it but I can't find my miner's ip when searching for it)

and

Set-up miner's connection from wifi to miner

another thing is when i press the small ip button on my miner I don't hear a beep sound I've read from a few sites is this normal
1513342292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513342292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513342292
Reply with quote  #2

1513342292
Report to moderator
1513342292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513342292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513342292
Reply with quote  #2

1513342292
Report to moderator
1513342292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513342292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513342292
Reply with quote  #2

1513342292
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513342292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513342292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513342292
Reply with quote  #2

1513342292
Report to moderator
jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 08:54:05 PM
 #2

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.

coinscashout
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:11:22 PM
 #3

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.

Makes sense about being the same IP. So if I purchase a wifi ethernet bridge that should work? I read somewhere that my laptop and miner has to be ethernet to find eachother is this correct?

Also, with the beeping sound should I worry about this (I bought it from ebay)
jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:35:47 PM
 #4

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.

Makes sense about being the same IP. So if I purchase a wifi ethernet bridge that should work? I read somewhere that my laptop and miner has to be ethernet to find eachother is this correct?

Also, with the beeping sound should I worry about this (I bought it from ebay)

If the miner is hashing and there are no errors stated on the UI, then you're probably fine with the beeping noise not happening.
As long as you keep an eye on the UI every few hours (as it may be the beep doesn't work or something and there's a greater problem).
I don't think they both have to be ethernet to find each other, but specific cables are needed in order to transfer data in this way. The DHCP part of the router would get confused as to what is requesting the IP as the request for a new IP would come from the request of the computer that already has an IP, I'm not sure but a bridge seems that it would work.

kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile
September 04, 2016, 06:14:15 PM
 #5

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.
This is what I have used on almost all my miners including an S5, it works perfectly and is much more convenient for spreading about a house and not crowding the router area.

jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 07:24:46 AM
 #6

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.
This is what I have used on almost all my miners including an S5, it works perfectly and is much more convenient for spreading about a house and not crowding the router area.

Its good to hear that works well. Is there any data loss for it being done wirelessly (like hashing speeds reduced).
It'll do many things for you by putting miners in different places around a house as there is less noise and heat coming from one specific area.

kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile
September 07, 2016, 05:02:57 AM
 #7

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.
This is what I have used on almost all my miners including an S5, it works perfectly and is much more convenient for spreading about a house and not crowding the router area.

Its good to hear that works well. Is there any data loss for it being done wirelessly (like hashing speeds reduced).
It'll do many things for you by putting miners in different places around a house as there is less noise and heat coming from one specific area.
No i haven't seen any drop in performance by using these instead of ethernet cables.

jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
September 09, 2016, 12:14:06 AM
 #8

I know that the miners have no initially built WiFi connectivity. However, if you purchase a devices that allows you to convert WiFi to ethernet, then you can connect to your S5 through ethernet into the device.

As far as I know, this cannot be done through a PC as everything has to go through the PC so will get the same IP as the PC (presumably) and the information will suffer some slight latency as it'll have to pass through the computer first which may force it to overheat.
This is what I have used on almost all my miners including an S5, it works perfectly and is much more convenient for spreading about a house and not crowding the router area.

Its good to hear that works well. Is there any data loss for it being done wirelessly (like hashing speeds reduced).
It'll do many things for you by putting miners in different places around a house as there is less noise and heat coming from one specific area.
No i haven't seen any drop in performance by using these instead of ethernet cables.
That's quite unusual as there is a belief that there are sufferings such as packet losses and data transfer interruptions that could reduce the mining power. There could also be an increase in the mining hashrate? Both in relation to the temperature bing cooled so more energy is avaliable in the miner and data transmission actually too and from the miner is slightly faster (which may show at a certain number of THs that is used).

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 09, 2016, 01:06:11 AM
 #9

Per miner, their connection speed is T10/100 by default stepping down as needed. Most (older) routers are what around 53Mbps? Newer ones are much faster.

But - data speed from a miner is just short bursts of actually pretty slow data. The s1/s2 using OpenWRT had a nice diagnostics package to show data rates. For the s2 it pegged at around 1mbps pk and averaged around 125kbps as I recall.

Should be a piece of cake for even old routers. UNLESS you have folks in your house streaming videos/gaming over the WiFi as well. Or a lot of miners. Gonna be problems there...

Ya got me looking for some scrapes of the throughput and found miner porn... part of the mod'd s1 farm I had at home way back then...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg16190339#msg16190339

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
jackg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

1JRmjyGo3kpdXcQeAeTBmGtgkC1AomHKED


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 12:39:00 AM
 #10

Per miner, their connection speed is T10/100 by default stepping down as needed. Most (older) routers are what around 53Mbps? Newer ones are much faster.

But - data speed from a miner is just short bursts of actually pretty slow data. The s1/s2 using OpenWRT had a nice diagnostics package to show data rates. For the s2 it pegged at around 1mbps pk and averaged around 125kbps as I recall.

Should be a piece of cake for even old routers. UNLESS you have folks in your house streaming videos/gaming over the WiFi as well. Or a lot of miners. Gonna be problems there...

Ya got me looking for some scrapes of the throughput and found miner porn... part of the mod'd s1 farm I had at home way back then...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg16190339#msg16190339

That's quite a lot of miners. Did the router handle that OK or was there problems with others were added?
I suspect that if there's a peak of 1MBs then you'd need at least 17 miners to have latency issues with quite an old router (by old I mean 17MBs around 2005-2010 time - before the wide use of fibre optic).

Liquid71
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 846


There is NO Freedom without Privacy


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 06:09:20 PM
 #11

I've used tplink travel router and it works good, costs $20 and was easy to setup. Obviously use ethernet whenever possible, but this little device works good when wifi is the only option. You plug the miner into this router using a small ethernet cable, then the router connects to your home router over wifi. After initial setup it just works whenever it's plugged in, so cheap and effective
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-Repeater-150Mbps-TL-WR702N/dp/B007PTCFFW/ref=pd_sim_147_5?ie=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=MRB145CW0ZDN1J41ERMT

isoneguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


eat bacon!!!


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2016, 01:00:25 AM
 #12

I've found success using an antrouter to bridge connections for wifi mining.

Ye 'olde'!!! Do you concur???
v.^.<.<. ◘ qwop
earth | fist | bubbles | ventricle | con | cave | bread | barns | spoon | little | hammer | four | chins | potato | scrypt | gauss | flamethrower | general | table | mongolian | salt | berry | quarter | panel | dual | hell | lucky's | dagger | *french* | translucent | pearl | echo | evil | axe | sea | mineral | labyrinth | vector | morning | palm | star | bench | mask | chosen | ray | parsel | snoop | tongue | rice | pants | rex | two | ocean | ball | red -respec
Liquid71
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 846


There is NO Freedom without Privacy


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 01:57:19 AM
 #13

I've found success using an antrouter to bridge connections for wifi mining.

Nice, now you're wifi connection is mining too  Cool

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!