Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 10:53:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining at Macbook or iMac  (Read 796 times)
pauloaragaomelo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 09:51:02 PM
 #1

Hi, guys.

Can I mine some altcoin using my MacBook or my iMac?

Thanks!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524437586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524437586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524437586
Reply with quote  #2

1524437586
Report to moderator
Jhanzo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 503



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 10:03:42 PM
 #2

Anything that have GPU and/or CPU (plus the essential Motherboard, PSU, RAM, etc.) can be used to mine if you have the miner software, whether it'll be profitable or not is another story.  Mining with laptops or computer without proper equipment will make them break faster.  It's not uncommon for beginners to find their GPU/CPU fried the day after they started mining.
masumhossain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 105



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 10:04:27 PM
 #3

you need buy some hash power from cloud mining service provider.but be careful,there are so many scam sites who provide cloud minning

«««▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Yo coin ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬»»»
P2P Digital Currency ◘    ◘ Maximize your YOLIFE design your own future ◘
Come join our great community on Telegram
pauloaragaomelo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 10:23:04 PM
 #4

you need buy some hash power from cloud mining service provider.but be careful,there are so many scam sites who provide cloud minning

Cloud Mining is 99% ponzi.
I won't invest in Ponzi schemas hahah

yeswepump
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1007


https://t.me/onlytopcryptonews


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 10:26:22 PM
 #5

forget about it, you will burn your mac in a few hours

you'll hear the fan starting in 10 minutes, and then will never stop until it burns


UbiatarPlay

▄▄▄▄▄▄
  ████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
  ████
▀▀▀▀▀▀
           Cryptocurrency to be Everywhere        
        ●Power of Ubiquity  ●Connect- People  ●HumanNetwork  ●Marketplace

▄▄▄▄▄▄
  ████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
  ████
▀▀▀▀▀▀
■Facebook   ■ANN Thread      ■Linkedin 
■Twitter         ■Telegram          ■Github
■Medium       ■Whitepaper    ■Googleplus
pauloaragaomelo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 27, 2016, 10:27:23 PM
 #6

Anything that have GPU and/or CPU (plus the essential Motherboard, PSU, RAM, etc.) can be used to mine if you have the miner software, whether it'll be profitable or not is another story.  Mining with laptops or computer without proper equipment will make them break faster.  It's not uncommon for beginners to find their GPU/CPU fried the day after they started mining.

Ok!
Thanks!

unholycactus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1021


https://reg-charity.org/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2016, 12:03:14 AM
 #7

Anything that have GPU and/or CPU (plus the essential Motherboard, PSU, RAM, etc.) can be used to mine if you have the miner software, whether it'll be profitable or not is another story.  Mining with laptops or computer without proper equipment will make them break faster.  It's not uncommon for beginners to find their GPU/CPU fried the day after they started mining.

Ok!
Thanks!

Depends what you're looking for. If you want to experiment with mining and learn the basics of it, you can with a Mac.
I suppose the support for it will be harder to find.

If you want to mine with profits in mind, it's not a good idea and it's actually impossible nowadays.

mikehersh2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 28, 2016, 01:55:38 PM
 #8

Ive tried, the amount of power you provide isnt even registered, and you will make close to no profit. You eill need to purchase either hardware, or hash power.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!