Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:02:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone tried 6 cards on GD70?  (Read 2446 times)
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:13:17 PM
 #1

I've got 4x5850 w/ 850W PSU on a GD70 right now. It was my first prototype, I've since changed my build in sight of future contingency and have no further plans for the GD70. It'd be a shame to just leave it as is and I've thought of expanding it to 6 cards with extenders, however... with 6x5850 I'm considering a good modular 1200W, but I'm wondering if that'd be enough. I'd really not go any higher with the PSU or if possible go lower. So I'm consulting the forum's collective experience & daredevils.

1481284939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284939
Reply with quote  #2

1481284939
Report to moderator
1481284939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284939
Reply with quote  #2

1481284939
Report to moderator
1481284939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284939
Reply with quote  #2

1481284939
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284939
Reply with quote  #2

1481284939
Report to moderator
1481284939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284939
Reply with quote  #2

1481284939
Report to moderator
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:24:04 PM
 #2

Apparently http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=15259.0 OP could run 4x5850 with 650 W. I read somewhere the OC'd 5850 would take around 200 W but apparently that is not true. I'm not sure actually.

Any help would be appreciated. I clock my Sapphire 5850 Xtremes @ 900/300.

trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:41:38 PM
 #3

I am running 4 x 5850 on a Sempron 140 system and my Kill-A-Watt reads ~635W. I am using Seasonic 850W 80+ Silver PSUs, so I got lots of headroom anyway. I get about 1.25 Gh/s out of this rig.
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:55:31 PM
 #4

Anyone want to try for 7 ?
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6792254

EVGA 270-WS-W555-A2 Classified SR-2 Motherboard

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:05:38 PM
 #5

I believe you would be pretty safe with a 1200W running 6 5850s on that GD70. But there will be someone posting on this thread here any moment who will tell you that you will be safe with an 850-900W PSU. I would recommend against that advice. In my opinion you should always have some headroom not only for expansion but more specifically so you don't run your PSU at 100% output capacity 24/7.

My only other concern would be the 12V load through the PCIe slots for 6 GPUs. I will be looking at that possible issue on my own rigs as soon as my clamp meter arrives and I start adding a 5th GPU in several rigs.
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:23:01 PM
 #6

What are these extenders?

I just ordered 2 5830's with a 1050w PSU. I was under the impression that I needed about 800w to power this rig with dual 5830's. Guess I'll have plenty of room to expand :p
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:30:07 PM
 #7

You could simply add a 500w psu and save some unless you have plans for the 850w for another build. 4x5850's at 1.2v 1000mhz pulls 875 watts at the wall on a GD70 with Sempron and 950w Silver rated psu. Those overclocks put the cards roughly at 200 watts each. If you are at stock clocks you maybe able to get by on the 850w with 6 if you under volt them. Power coming from the slots will be a concern, check the cpu 8pin if you get 6 going if it's getting warm to the point off making the connect plastic soft or discolored consider a modification like this http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=44

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
sang
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:38:49 PM
 #8

FWIW: Im running 2x 5830s overclocked to 1000mhz + AMD Athlon X2 4200 + 1HHD + 5 fans on a 400watt Enermax PSU (385w on the 12v rails).

Estimate your load on each voltage and compare with the rated wattage on the PSU.
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 01:54:18 AM
 #9

mind windows drivers limitations on GPU's # per PC :-/
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2011, 02:09:45 AM
 #10

It worked with 5x5870 and 1 5850 and a 1200w psu ubuntu of course

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 03:46:58 PM
 #11

It worked with 5x5870 and 1 5850 and a 1200w psu ubuntu of course

Sweet!
Wonder if the cost/performance is worth it.
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2011, 04:41:48 PM
 #12

It worked with 5x5870 and 1 5850 and a 1200w psu ubuntu of course

Sweet!
Wonder if the cost/performance is worth it.
If you use 2 psu's then maybe otherwise probably not the cost of psu's rise exponentially as wattage increases.

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 04:43:39 PM
 #13

mind windows drivers limitations on GPU's # per PC :-/
I have found that the limitation is 8GPU per PC, but OpenCL is 4 per PC in windows.
So, you will hit the OpenCL limit before you hit the Windows limit.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 05:10:34 PM
 #14

No - a 1200 watt PSU is NOT enough for 6 * 5850s.

And yes, I am running 6 cards on a 890fxa-gd70 right now... and 5 on a 790fx-gd70
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2011, 05:34:38 PM
 #15

No - a 1200 watt PSU is NOT enough for 6 * 5850s.

And yes, I am running 6 cards on a 890fxa-gd70 right now... and 5 on a 790fx-gd70
Well i ran almost 6 5870 with no problems for a little under a week it might have been using close to 100% utilization but it worked(close to stock speeds). What psu(s) are you running?

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
TheSocialHermit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 09:49:38 PM
 #16

It seems from everything I have seen and what people are saying is you can run them on 1000w psu and still have a little bit of headroom. I say just go for it. It also would depend on the quality of the psu too so grab a nice corsair and it should have no problems.
kokojie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 05:16:32 PM
 #17

It seems from everything I have seen and what people are saying is you can run them on 1000w psu and still have a little bit of headroom. I say just go for it. It also would depend on the quality of the psu too so grab a nice corsair and it should have no problems.

I would not recommend the corsair 1000W for 4xgpu actually. Corsair quality is great, but they are too standard conforming. They do not provide enough power to the 12V rails to power 4xgpu(a flaw in the ATX standard spec, they will be fixing it soon).  I tried 3x6970 on a corsair 1000W, the thing wouldn't even boot up (unless I removed 1 card and boot with 2). I replaced the corsair with an unknown brand XION 1000W, and it booted the 3x6970 like a charm, running stably ever since.  

If my post has been helpful, send me some love -> BTC: 1kokojUapmWqCqPw3Ch2rjcVh57tJEzka | PPC: PDyXAgA8eH47gokVW6zVZPSuu15aao5nZF | Bitshares: kokojie
My reputation
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!