Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:19:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED]setting up multiple miners  (Read 2529 times)
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 12:57:55 AM
 #1

Great Idea to have sub topics...  lets try and keep on topic...

speaking of which,  I am about to set up my first second rig.  Can someone point me to; or just tell me here how to tell the guiminer to look on a different machine for the bitclient.  Do you just give it another flag ?

A little backround on my primary set up.
poclbm/Windows 7 64
guiminer with 3 workers (5850's @ 342Mhash) going against slushs pool.  current flags are  (   -v -w 64 -f 1 )  clock,  900   mem 400

so, my question is, when I set this all up at another machine, can I use the flags to  go against the primary bitclient?  
How many other machines can go against one client without becoming bottle necked.?

or can I just run another client...  help

Jim

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
1481177961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177961
Reply with quote  #2

1481177961
Report to moderator
1481177961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177961
Reply with quote  #2

1481177961
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177961
Reply with quote  #2

1481177961
Report to moderator
1481177961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177961
Reply with quote  #2

1481177961
Report to moderator
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 02:18:33 AM
 #2

You will need to point your miner to the IP address of the machine running Bitcoin in server mode.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 02:20:46 AM
 #3

Also.. I believe this goes in Mining Support .. not mining software.

Mining Software is for posting Miners and specifics regarding them.

Mining Support is for problems like this.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 03:08:51 AM
 #4

thank you.


my bad,  anyway to move this thread to 'mining support'

I guess my question should have been, does guiminer support pointing to the bitcoind client on a diff ip?



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 03:39:22 PM
 #5

yes,
however you will have to edit your bitcoin.conf file on the machine you are running bitcoin -server or bitcoind
that file should look like :-
rpcuser=name
rpcpassword=password
rpcallow=192.168.*.*

change name and password to what you have and rpcallow to be your local net range
then you will be able to conenct to it over the local net

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 08:30:48 PM
 #6

sir.  you are awsome,  I believe I will have to send you a tip...  I have been mining for 3 days, I have about 3btc now Smiley.

One more question,  I believe I have to edit the ini file of poclbm.  but I need the syntax.  I have looked around alot, but cannot find it.


I ended up playing with the 'net view'  and net use commands, which lead me to the syntax for the rpc call

 "bitcoin_executable": "\\\\miner1\\C:\\bitcoin\\bitcoin_322\\bitcoin.exe",

Thank everybody Smiley

Jim

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 03:37:32 AM
 #7

The easiest way to setup GUIMiner to point to a bitcoin server on another IP is to just select the "other" as the server option.  Populate the IP in the Host box, Port in the port box and the username/password to match the rpcuser/rpcpassword values you set in the bitcoin.conf file in those boxes.  You can use the same username/password for multiple miners if they're all pointing to the same bitcoin client server.

Also, make sure you have the port you choose set to allow the inbound traffic on the server machine.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!