Bitcoin Forum
September 29, 2016, 11:48:11 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Post Your Hash/Sec and Hardware  (Read 16955 times)
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 04, 2010, 06:41:24 PM
 #1

Hello all! This thread is exactly what the title says: a place to post about the node(s) that you are running, including their performance and hardware.

To find out your performance, you'll need to build from source with laszlo's patch. The performance in hashes / second will be listed in the UI where it used to say "Generating..." and will spam your debug.log.

I'm currently running Bitcoin on three machines (and I tested it on a fourth, but that one is for a business, so I can't keep it running).

My Workstation
Specs:
HP HDX 16t - 16" laptop
Intel Core 2 Duo P8700 (x64) @ 2.53GHz w/ 3072KB cache
4GiB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GT 130M (OpenCL needs to get its act together!)
Ubuntu 10.04 LTS 64-bit (2.6.32-22)
Performance:
**Perf - thread 3 : 446k iter/sec
**Perf - thread 4 : 451k iter/sec
**Perf - total : 897k iter/sec (2 threads)

My Home Server
Specs:
1400MHz Intel Celeron w/ 512KB L2 Cache
512MiB of (ancient) RAM
Debian testing 32-bit (not sure the kernel version)
Performance:
**Perf - total : 169k iter/sec (1 threads)
Puny! Cheesy

My Xen VPS
Specs:
Not 100% sure about this, but it's using 4 cores.
256MiB of (fast) RAM
Ubuntu 10.04 LTS 64-bit (not sure the kernel version)
Performance:
**Perf - thread 1 : 436k iter/sec
**Perf - thread 2 : 410k iter/sec
**Perf - thread 3 : 419k iter/sec
**Perf - thread 4 : 429k iter/sec
**Perf - total : 1694k iter/sec (4 threads)

So, anybody else?

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
1475192891
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475192891

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475192891
Reply with quote  #2

1475192891
Report to moderator
1475192891
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475192891

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475192891
Reply with quote  #2

1475192891
Report to moderator
1475192891
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475192891

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475192891
Reply with quote  #2

1475192891
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
June 04, 2010, 06:43:53 PM
 #2

someone make a windows binary for noobs/lazy people like me ^^

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 04, 2010, 06:45:53 PM
 #3

Make sure you guys try compiling with -O2 instead of -O0 (check your makefiles).  It improved performance a lot for me.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 04, 2010, 10:14:05 PM
 #4

E2200 C2D 2Ghz CPU

**Perf - thread 1 : 495k iter/sec
**Perf - thread 2 : 495k iter/sec
**Perf - total : 990k iter/sec (2 threads)


BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 05, 2010, 12:33:30 AM
 #5

Make sure you guys try compiling with -O2 instead of -O0 (check your makefiles).  It improved performance a lot for me.
Laszio, I tried that but it failed. I'll see if I can't address the specific error. Line 15 in net.h failed to compile.

Quote from: SmokeTooMuch
someone make a windows binary for noobs/lazy people like me ^^
I can try if nobody else replies and this doesn't get accepted into mainline. Not sure what the Windows dependencies are or if I can cross-compile. Win64 or 32?

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
June 05, 2010, 01:01:30 AM
 #6

Win7 64-Bit here.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 05, 2010, 03:14:38 AM
 #7

You should compile for 32 bit windows (mingw).. 64 bit would just make it use more memory but you'll have to build all the dependencies that way too, if it's even possible with wxWidgets and stuff..

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 06, 2010, 11:05:47 PM
 #8

I haven't generated a block since 6/3/2010 while running my VPS (up to 2280 khps) 24/7 and my laptop (1200 khps) every night. I'm rather disappointed.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 12:53:45 AM
 #9

That seems odd.. are you seeing any instances of 'proof-of-work' if you grep debug.log?

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 02:19:00 AM
 #10

That seems odd.. are you seeing any instances of 'proof-of-work' if you grep debug.log?
No, I'm not seeing that on either. On my workstation, the debug.log file has for some reason been clipped at the beginning. It's around 4.8 MiB. On my VPS, it's 20MiB and going strong.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 03:54:46 AM
 #11

Athlon FX-55 (socket 939) on linux

**Perf - thread 1 : 575k iter/sec
**Perf - total : 575k iter/sec (1 threads)

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 03:56:00 AM
 #12

The debug.log is truncated when you restart the app, not sure if it does it periodically too.. are you perhaps getting disconnected/reconnected frequently or having really high latency?  A poor connection could prevent you from generating, though I wouldn't think you would be having that issue at the VPS.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 04:24:02 AM
 #13

I'm on campus internet. It's pretty reliable. It occasionally asks me to reauthenticate with the master server, but that's fairly rare. The VPS is el-cheepo, but it never drops for more than a second or two. Would it help for me to post or link my debug.log?

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 04:38:33 AM
 #14

Can you post it on a web server or something?  It sounds pretty large.  I could take a look but it's probably hard to find anything among all the spam.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 10:51:20 AM
 #15

Sure. My computers ran all last night without generating again.

http://validity.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/vps.debug.log.bz2 (2.1MiB compressed)
http://validity.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/laptop.debug.log.gz (489KiB compressed)

Thanks.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 03:03:14 PM
 #16

Really sorry about this but there was a typo in the patch.. I replaced the original version with a fixed one.  The original patch was actually not incrementing the nonce so it messed up the generation Sad

new patch: http://heliacal.net/~solar/bitcoin/bitcoin-svn-79-perfcounter-2010-06-02.patch

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 07, 2010, 03:54:39 PM
 #17

Really sorry about this but there was a typo in the patch.. I replaced the original version with a fixed one.  The original patch was actually not incrementing the nonce so it messed up the generation Sad

new patch: http://heliacal.net/~solar/bitcoin/bitcoin-svn-79-perfcounter-2010-06-02.patch
Laszlo and I talked about this on IRC. I made a slightly cleaned up version against r80 of the SVN (no differences, but it might be a hair faster). You can get it here:
http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/bitcoin-svn-80-perfcounter-cleaned-2010-06-07.patch

Or you can just get the combined patch that also includes the net.h workaround and some RPC extensions:

http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/bitcoin-svn-80-combined-2010-06-07.patch

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
venom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
July 10, 2010, 07:02:22 AM
 #18

Intel Core i5-450M (2.4Ghz)
4GBs RAM

*One Core =>  350-450 khash/sec
*Two Cores => 600-850 khash/sec
*Three Cores => 750 - 900khash/sec
*Four Cores => 800-900 khash/sec

Using the regular build, 0.3 on Win7/64bit
Bitcoiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 10, 2010, 04:02:42 PM
 #19

AMD-64 X2 TK-53 1.7Ghz

1 Core: 310 khash/sec
2 Cores: 590 khash/sec (and an overheating laptop)

Want to thank me for this post? Donate here! Flip your coins over to: 13Cq8AmdrqewatRxEyU2xNuMvegbaLCvEe  Smiley
ksd5
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
July 11, 2010, 11:33:32 PM
 #20

Heh. I'm using a HP Pavilion 8670c with 384MB RAM and a 600MHz Pentium III. I'm only getting 50 khash per second.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!