Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 07:51:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Gigabyte R9 380 Gaming G1 4gb - moded bios  (Read 2644 times)
twofreckles
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 10, 2016, 10:02:20 AM
 #1

OK, I hope someone will help me, I consider donating some btc for help.

I have successfully moded r9 280x cards using VBE and atiflash. Power draw around -30WAT, with around same speed.

However moded bios of r9 380 Gaming G1 give absolutely no difference in mining, nor power nor speed.

Here is what I do:

1. Extract oryginal bios with atiflash
2. Open this in Tonga Bios Editor(I have tried VBE, Hawaii and Polaris but neither is compatible with this kind of bios).
3. Moded tables exactly same as R9 380x cards, which screenshots are around. Of course save the bios under different name.
4. Flash a card with atiflash

It gives a positive communicate, there is no error, bios if flashed, however whenever I log into Ubuntu MHs and Power draw from wall is exactly the same like with oryginal bios. WAT usage is around 167 per card, while speed around 19MHs.

So my concern is , is Tonga BIOS Editor actually editing those tables or they stay in original way?  Or maybe it is impossible with this GPUs? Any other bios editor program out there? Are those tables blocked somehow? Any help appreciated.

Here are some screenshots:

http://prnt.sc/ceiikz  (Tonga version).
http://prnt.sc/cejb6c

1513151507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513151507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513151507
Reply with quote  #2

1513151507
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513151507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513151507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513151507
Reply with quote  #2

1513151507
Report to moderator
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 01:55:22 PM
 #2

Most R9 380s get the best hashrates with 1.5Ghz memory.  Going to 1625 gives lower hashrates, except for a few cards that have faster ram timings.
There's also little point to changing clock rates in the BIOS.  Under Linux you can use aticonfig --odsc to set clock rates.  Around 820Mhz core and 1500Mhz memory should give you the fastest eth hashrates with the lowest power consumption.
twofreckles
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 10, 2016, 04:33:18 PM
 #3

Most R9 380s get the best hashrates with 1.5Ghz memory.  Going to 1625 gives lower hashrates, except for a few cards that have faster ram timings.
There's also little point to changing clock rates in the BIOS.  Under Linux you can use aticonfig --odsc to set clock rates.  Around 820Mhz core and 1500Mhz memory should give you the fastest eth hashrates with the lowest power consumption.

You are of course correct, however you can not control voltage from under a linux and this is actually what I'd like to change in BIOS.

nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 08:21:08 PM
 #4

Most R9 380s get the best hashrates with 1.5Ghz memory.  Going to 1625 gives lower hashrates, except for a few cards that have faster ram timings.
There's also little point to changing clock rates in the BIOS.  Under Linux you can use aticonfig --odsc to set clock rates.  Around 820Mhz core and 1500Mhz memory should give you the fastest eth hashrates with the lowest power consumption.

You are of course correct, however you can not control voltage from under a linux and this is actually what I'd like to change in BIOS.

Of course, I'm always right. :-)

By downclocking the core to 820, you'll lower the DPM state, which lowers the voltage, and reduces the power.

p.s. If you want to reduce the voltage even more, I think you have to modify Voltage Table 2.  I'm not sure what the first table is for.
twofreckles
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 11, 2016, 09:39:18 AM
 #5


Of course, I'm always right. :-)

By downclocking the core to 820, you'll lower the DPM state, which lowers the voltage, and reduces the power.

p.s. If you want to reduce the voltage even more, I think you have to modify Voltage Table 2.  I'm not sure what the first table is for.


OK so we coming back to my original question, I have done it, tables edited, GPUs flashed but no difference in power consumption. Any other tonga bios editor out there which can be used?

melsell1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 10:49:57 AM
 #6

have you tryed Eliovp rom?

https://www.upload.ee/files/6154762/380.rom.html
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 11:20:05 AM
 #7


Could brick your card.. use at your own risk..

twofreckles
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 11, 2016, 04:51:49 PM
 #8


Yes I have tried that one, here is atiflash error:

http://prntscr.com/cgsiu9

However I exported oryginal bios, then manually edited tables according to Eliovp rom and then flashed it. Flashing went ok, but no speed increase and no power consumption decrease

melsell1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 05:17:30 PM
 #9


Yes I have tried that one, here is atiflash error:

http://prntscr.com/cgsiu9

However I exported oryginal bios, then manually edited tables according to Eliovp rom and then flashed it. Flashing went ok, but no speed increase and no power consumption decrease

Try this command : AtiFlash -f -p 0 380.rom

-f forces to write bios
twofreckles
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 11, 2016, 05:29:16 PM
 #10


Try this command : AtiFlash -f -p 0 380.rom

-f forces to write bios

How is it different from what I have done? I mean editing original tables according to modification done by Eliovp. The only difference is in GPU freq Table:

Here is a full data from Eliovp rom:
http://prnt.sc/cgslh1

Here is my oryginal rom:
http://prntscr.com/cgszd9

And here is moded and flashed rom:
http://prnt.sc/cgsznf


As already said 2 and 3rd despite of difference of tables doesn't give any electricity decrease. The card itself is for sure moded because OC GURU II is shouting at start up that some values were changed, also GPU-Z showing difference values in clocks. 

melsell1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 05:48:33 PM
 #11


Try this command : AtiFlash -f -p 0 380.rom

-f forces to write bios

How is it different from what I have done? I mean editing original tables according to modification done by Eliovp. The only difference is in GPU freq Table:

Here is a full data from Eliovp rom:
http://prnt.sc/cgslh1

Here is my oryginal rom:
http://prntscr.com/cgszd9

And here is moded and flashed rom:
http://prnt.sc/cgsznf


As already said 2 and 3rd despite of difference of tables doesn't give any electricity decrease. The card itself is for sure moded because OC GURU II is shouting at start up that some values were changed, also GPU-Z showing difference values in clocks. 

i don't know how but Eliovp bios gives ~+2mh and -20-30watts on my giga 380 g1 gaming.. i think there is moded timings in hex editor or so... RIGHT? Cheesy
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 05:51:11 PM
 #12


Yes I have tried that one, here is atiflash error:

http://prntscr.com/cgsiu9

However I exported oryginal bios, then manually edited tables according to Eliovp rom and then flashed it. Flashing went ok, but no speed increase and no power consumption decrease

Try this command : AtiFlash -f -p 0 380.rom

-f forces to write bios

I would strongly advice against doing that.

twofreckles
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 11, 2016, 05:52:31 PM
 #13



i don't know how but Eliovp bios gives ~+2mh and -20-30watts on my giga 380 g1 gaming.. i think there is moded timings in hex editor or so... RIGHT? Cheesy


OK, done it. Forced flashing to the Eliovp's rom. But no progress whatsoever. No speed increase no power consumption decrease.... So no matter what bios, stats of mining are exactly the same.

What operating system are you using? Do you have exactly same GPUs?


Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 05:55:40 PM
 #14



i don't know how but Eliovp bios gives ~+2mh and -20-30watts on my giga 380 g1 gaming.. i think there is moded timings in hex editor or so... RIGHT? Cheesy


OK, done it. Forced flashing to the Eliovp's rom. But no progress whatsoever. No speed increase no power consumption decrease.... So no matter what bios, stats of mining are exactly the same.

What operating system are you using? Do you have exactly same GPUs?



That's not abnormal.

The mod was done for a specific kind of card, if you're lucky it'll work on your card. If not, it won't work, if you're truly unlucky, you'll have a bricked card.

Again, if you brick your card because you couldn't handle yourself and you went ahead and flashed it anyway, i warned everyone more than enough.

If you want a 380 mod for your card, which will give you an increase of 2-3 or even 4-5Mh (depending on your memory) and a power reduction. Send me a pm.


Greetings.

nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 06:06:33 PM
 #15


How is it different from what I have done? I mean editing original tables according to modification done by Eliovp. The only difference is in GPU freq Table:

Here is a full data from Eliovp rom:
http://prnt.sc/cgslh1

Here is my oryginal rom:
http://prntscr.com/cgszd9

And here is moded and flashed rom:
http://prnt.sc/cgsznf

As already said 2 and 3rd despite of difference of tables doesn't give any electricity decrease. The card itself is for sure moded because OC GURU II is shouting at start up that some values were changed, also GPU-Z showing difference values in clocks.  

To reduce power beyond what you get from underclocking, I'm pretty sure you need to modify DPM0 in voltage table2.  Try changing 900 to 850 for each of the 4 voltage columns in Table2.  Note that I have not yet tested this myself.

Edit: just tried it, and it does not work.  Idle voltage stays at 900mV after flashing the modded BIOS.
melsell1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 06:12:15 PM
 #16

set mem 1625 and core 880 or less... whit that bios you have core voltage controll in MSI afterburner.. set it -100 and power limit -17- -20
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 12:39:35 AM
 #17

If you want a 380 mod for your card, which will give you an increase of 2-3 or even 4-5Mh (depending on your memory) and a power reduction. Send me a pm.

How do you reduce the power?  I've looked at your 380 nitro BIOS, and it looks like Voltage Table and Voltage Table2 are unchanged from the stock BIOS.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!