Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 10:31:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My Build Info , 3 psu / 3 mobo / 16 cards combo for ETH 480MH/s  (Read 6614 times)
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 536


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 12:03:08 AM
 #1

So there is some information about my newest build  Smiley

Updated with pictures and some additional info 23/sept/2016

My project is completed today all , 16 cards installed with custom ROM's, Take me forever to mod all those BIOSes . YEP , i have 12 XFX rx 480 , same model number , but i had to create 7 different rom for those cards to work stable. I was not able to use 1 modded bios for all 12 cards . Higher ASIC quality cards have more overclocking potential for sure Smiley , and much easier to mod those rom files for those cards:) Also i got 4 Nitro 8GB OC , those card have 3 different BIOSes . ( 13-2E3470U.X4L / 13-2E3470U.X51 / 113-2E3472U.053 ) Rom files are not interchangeable . You can flash them to another nitro , but then your hashrate will drop to lower 20's or under or just going up and down. Some of my card running over 30MH/s some is between 29.2-30MH/s STABLE !
My first priority was , creating a custom rom , with lower power draw and higher hash rate than stock .

My Build Total Hashrate is : 480 MH/s
Total Power draw at the wall : 2439Watts / 120volts
Still working on my setup for lower power draw




Parts :
 
1.00” X 1.00” Square aluminum tubing
Local hardware store

Fiber cement siding board as a motherboard tray ( for safety reason i would not recomending any kind of wood as a mobo tray . There is a high amps running all over Smiley if something going wrong , It can be a fire hazard !!!
Local hardware store , Lowe , Home Depot

3 Motherboards
with cpu / 8GB mem
 
2x ASRock H97 anniversary edition
http://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/h97%20anniversary/
1x GigaByte GA-X99M-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0)
http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5221&dl=1#ov

3 PSU
 
1x EVGA SUPERNOVA 1600
http://www.evga.com/articles/00840/
1x Corsair AXi Series, AX1500i
http://www.corsair.com/en/company/press-release/corsair-ax1500i-the-worlds-first-1500-watt-80-plus-titanium-psu-now-available
1x Corsair AX860i
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/ax860i-digital-atx-power-supply-860-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-fully-modular-psu

16x PCI-E 16x to 1x Powered Riser Adapter Card w/ 50cm USB 3.0 Extension Cable & MOLEX to SATA Power Cable
easy to find on amazon , ebay

3x WeMo Insight Switch Smart Plug
with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi
http://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-F7C029/
Best way to monitor energy usage and remotley restart  , turn on , off your builds Smiley

And the most important Smiley
16 x RX 480 card .
13 arrived , 3 its on the way
I had to shop around a little bit , bc this card had a very limited availability when i placed my orders , so i got few from amazon , ebay , newegg Smiley All cards have 8GB samsung memory , 4 x shappire nitro , 12 xfx , 1 MSI ( for my PC )

3x 120GB SSD hard drive

After placed everything together , installed win 10 on the SSDs , before connected to internet , blocked all automatic updates , downloads , reportings , sharings ect ...used Win 10 built in group policy editor , to prevent the system crashing from some  stupid forced driver update by Microsoft . Then installed Intel inf utility , then the RX 480 driver with one RX 480 connected to the mobo ! if all 6 card was connected , AMD driver installation hang during install ...
After installation completed with 1 CARD connected ,set the virtual memory to 16GB min (, turned off the pc , connected another 5 card , WIN 10 booted up , recognized all the cards ...

Downloaded Claymore's Dual Ethereum+Decred AMD+NVIDIA GPU Miner v7.0 , created a bat file
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1433925.0

TIMEOUT 90
setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool eth-us-west1.nanopool.org:9999 -ewal 0xmyethwallletaddress/workername

Fired up the bat file , the miner started hashing with 148-149MH/s , at this point it was pulling around 1100 Watts at the wall from a 120 Volts outlet . It was running stable for a few hours , then it was time to cut back that energy usage Smiley

After a little playing with wattman settings i was able to manage the energy usage down to 725-750Watts so it saved me 350 watts / mobo or 700 watts from the entire setup with 2 mobo/12cards Smiley

I let the 2 mobo with the same settings running for a few hours , it was not any stability issue , so cranked up the memory a little bit one by one under wattman settings to 2050 (8200) hash rate went up to 151-152MH/s then it pulled around 770Watts at the wall ...., both mobos running with this setting more than 24 hours without any problem .

For underclocking i reduced the gpu speed , voltage , memory voltage , target temp , power limit .
Dont want to post my settings yet , still testing the stability and will increase the mem speeds.

I was able to run my setup for 3 days with 162MH/s each mobo  , with some high mem speed settings , but there was a lot of reboots , wattman reset the tune settings to factory default ... so i had to tune again one by one each 12 cards ...
was not able to sucessful underclock the miner with any other tune program , used ASUS GPU tweak , MSI afterburner..etc
wattman the only one worked for me the way i want Smiley

And there is some picrures :






























Pictures added 2017







Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
1531737105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531737105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531737105
Reply with quote  #2

1531737105
Report to moderator
MORE CRYPTO, LESS NOISE
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531737105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531737105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531737105
Reply with quote  #2

1531737105
Report to moderator
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 12:28:14 AM
 #2


Super cool!

Great job
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 01:58:13 AM
 #3

Nice. Love the aluminum build, just did an aluminum angle build today. I have always wanted to try the square ones but haven't been able to find the various connectors at lowes or home depot.

BTCBusinessConsult
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 02:56:11 AM
 #4

Now just flash them all with a 29 MHs low power mod  Grin

.
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄      ██████████▄▄     ████▄      ▄████  ███████████▄▄   ████████████████     ▄▄███████▄▄
  ▄███████▀▀   ▀▀███████▄    █████████████▌    ████▄    ▄████   ██████████████  ████████████████   ▄█████████████▄
 ▄█████▀           ▀█████▄   ████    ▀█████     ████▄  ▄████    ████     ▀█████       ████        ████▀▀     ▀▀████
▄█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄     █████▄  ████     ████▌      ████▄▄████     ████      █████       ████       ████▀         ▀████
▀▀▀▀▀    ████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄████▄▄▄▄████▀        ████████      ████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀       ████       ████           ████
        ▐██████████████████████████████▄           ██████       █████████████▀        ████       ████           ████
▄▄▄▄▄    ████████▀▀▀▀██████▀▀████▀▀▀▀████           ████        ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀           ████       ▀████         ████▀
▀█████    ▀▀▀▀▀▀     █████▀  ████     ████▄         ████        ████                  ████        ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
 ▀█████▄           ▄█████▀   ████      █████        ████        ████                  ████          ▀███████████▀
  ▀███████▄▄   ▄▄███████▀    ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀                  ▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
     ▐████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀▀▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
     █████           ███    █████████      ██▄     █████     ▄████████
    ▐█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███    █████████▄    ▄███▄     ███     ▄████████▌
    ██████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▄     ▀     ▄█████████
   ▐██████    ██████████    ██████████    ███████         ██████████▌
   ███████           ███    ██████████    ████████       ███████████
  ▐███████           ███    ██████████    ██████▀         ▀████████▌
  ████████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▀     █     ▀███████
 ▐████████    ██████████            █      ███      ███      █████▌
 █████████    ██████████            █      █▀      █████      ▀███
▐████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▌
 ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄████████████████▀▀█████▄
▄████████████▀▀▀░░░░██████▄
████████▀▀▀░░░▄▀░░░████████
█████▄░░░░░▄█▀░░░░░████████
████████▄░█▀░░░░░░█████████
▀████████▌▐░░░░░░░████████▀
▀████████░▄██▄░░████████▀
▀█████████████▄███████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄████████░██░█████████▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀░▀▀░▀▀████████▄
▄███████▄░░░▄▄▄▄░░▀███████▄
█████████░░░████░░░████████
█████████░░░░░░░░░▀████████
█████████░░░████░░░░███████
▀███████▀░░░▀▀▀▀░░░▄██████▀
▀█████▄▄▄▄░▄▄░▄▄▄███████▀
▀████████░██░█████████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
  JOIN ICO
April 15th
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 02:58:15 AM
 #5

Now just flash them all with a 29 MHs low power mod  Grin

And got performance drop in an hour to normal value (like you have). Why?
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 536


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 03:07:20 AM
 #6

Now just flash them all with a 29 MHs low power mod  Grin

Tried to flash with that modded bios , but was not able to complete the flashing process under win 10 . That mod is for reference card only  , maybe im wrong :-)

Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
BTCBusinessConsult
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 03:11:14 AM
 #7

Yeah based on the pictures they are not reference cards.

I would check out the ethereum forums - mining category. Pretty sure I saw some "non reference" mods that will help.

Nice set up man nice setup

.
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄      ██████████▄▄     ████▄      ▄████  ███████████▄▄   ████████████████     ▄▄███████▄▄
  ▄███████▀▀   ▀▀███████▄    █████████████▌    ████▄    ▄████   ██████████████  ████████████████   ▄█████████████▄
 ▄█████▀           ▀█████▄   ████    ▀█████     ████▄  ▄████    ████     ▀█████       ████        ████▀▀     ▀▀████
▄█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄     █████▄  ████     ████▌      ████▄▄████     ████      █████       ████       ████▀         ▀████
▀▀▀▀▀    ████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄████▄▄▄▄████▀        ████████      ████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀       ████       ████           ████
        ▐██████████████████████████████▄           ██████       █████████████▀        ████       ████           ████
▄▄▄▄▄    ████████▀▀▀▀██████▀▀████▀▀▀▀████           ████        ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀           ████       ▀████         ████▀
▀█████    ▀▀▀▀▀▀     █████▀  ████     ████▄         ████        ████                  ████        ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
 ▀█████▄           ▄█████▀   ████      █████        ████        ████                  ████          ▀███████████▀
  ▀███████▄▄   ▄▄███████▀    ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀                  ▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
     ▐████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀▀▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
     █████           ███    █████████      ██▄     █████     ▄████████
    ▐█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███    █████████▄    ▄███▄     ███     ▄████████▌
    ██████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▄     ▀     ▄█████████
   ▐██████    ██████████    ██████████    ███████         ██████████▌
   ███████           ███    ██████████    ████████       ███████████
  ▐███████           ███    ██████████    ██████▀         ▀████████▌
  ████████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▀     █     ▀███████
 ▐████████    ██████████            █      ███      ███      █████▌
 █████████    ██████████            █      █▀      █████      ▀███
▐████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▌
 ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄████████████████▀▀█████▄
▄████████████▀▀▀░░░░██████▄
████████▀▀▀░░░▄▀░░░████████
█████▄░░░░░▄█▀░░░░░████████
████████▄░█▀░░░░░░█████████
▀████████▌▐░░░░░░░████████▀
▀████████░▄██▄░░████████▀
▀█████████████▄███████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄████████░██░█████████▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀░▀▀░▀▀████████▄
▄███████▄░░░▄▄▄▄░░▀███████▄
█████████░░░████░░░████████
█████████░░░░░░░░░▀████████
█████████░░░████░░░░███████
▀███████▀░░░▀▀▀▀░░░▄██████▀
▀█████▄▄▄▄░▄▄░▄▄▄███████▀
▀████████░██░█████████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
  JOIN ICO
April 15th
ioglnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 250

Fighting mob law and inquisition in this forum


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 06:48:07 PM
 #8

Lovely build rig ..can you make me one :-D
Build me one too^^ the aluframe rig

GTX 1080Ti rocks da house... seriously... this card is a beast³
Owning by now 18x GTX1080Ti :-D @serious love of efficiency
Ambros
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 500

pool.sexy co-founder


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 06:49:05 PM
 #9

Now just flash them all with a 29 MHs low power mod  Grin

Tried to flash with that modded bios , but was not able to complete the flashing process under win 10 . That mod is for reference card only  , maybe im wrong :-)

You are right, mods are only for reference cards.
ioglnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 250

Fighting mob law and inquisition in this forum


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 07:55:05 PM
 #10

How you manage that the cards are working without monitor plugged in?
I have a XFX like you but if I don't have monitor connected it gets disabled by the driver.

GTX 1080Ti rocks da house... seriously... this card is a beast³
Owning by now 18x GTX1080Ti :-D @serious love of efficiency
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 536


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 10:35:14 PM
 #11

make sure under control panel / power settings
Put computer to sleep : never
Turn off display : never

Let me know if it's help .

Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
CoinBreader
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 10:58:38 PM
 #12

awesome build! it reminds me the glory days back in 2012 ! where i had a 62 cards ,
anyhow good job loved that wemo plugs!
ioglnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 250

Fighting mob law and inquisition in this forum


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 11:04:08 PM
 #13

make sure under control panel / power settings
Put computer to sleep : never
Turn off display : never

Let me know if it's help .

standard settings for me but it still requires that I have attached a DVI, HDMI or DP to the card otherwise the Radeon control is going nuts and also monitoring of the card is gone.
Like this :-(


GTX 1080Ti rocks da house... seriously... this card is a beast³
Owning by now 18x GTX1080Ti :-D @serious love of efficiency
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 536


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 11:14:19 PM
 #14

are u using win 10 or win 7 ? What AMD  driver u have installed ?

Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1264


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 11:21:28 PM
 #15

nice but i do not see a shot with 16 cards and 3 mobos.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 536


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 11:29:12 PM
 #16

3 cards on the way it was pre ordered :-) you can see the motherboard , psu in the corner on this pictures ;-)
It's there ;-) but not in the open case yet  Roll Eyes

Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1264


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 13, 2016, 12:56:06 AM
 #17

One more question.

Do you think two threaded rods could be used to support the long bars or are they solid and won't sag?

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 13, 2016, 03:14:22 AM
 #18

Another question:

Could you please put the dimensions on the frame's rods? Did you cut them at Home Depot?

I will try to make similar - but shorter, for 6 cards only
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2016, 06:51:08 AM
 #19

to be honest i prefer one rig setup than 3-4 way, with the latter would be a pain in the ass to move it, too heavy and cumbersome
ioglnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 250

Fighting mob law and inquisition in this forum


View Profile
September 13, 2016, 07:04:59 AM
 #20

I use Windows 10 x64 and the latest nonWHQL Radeon Driver Hotfix and you?

GTX 1080Ti rocks da house... seriously... this card is a beast³
Owning by now 18x GTX1080Ti :-D @serious love of efficiency
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!