Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:28:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is a bequitet 430W enough for a HD5870?  (Read 1799 times)
Uhrenknecht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 07:32:34 AM
 #1

Hey there,
just ordered a returned Gigabyte HD5870 for 177€.

Got a Bequiet 430W power supply and asked myself if I need a new power supply for using the card (OC or not) and or extra fans?

Actually Im running an Athlon Dual 6000+ with 2 GB DDR2-Ram , Nvidia 8800GTS and 3 IDE-HDDs.


Thanks for help

1481012914
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012914

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012914
Reply with quote  #2

1481012914
Report to moderator
1481012914
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012914

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012914
Reply with quote  #2

1481012914
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012914
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012914

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012914
Reply with quote  #2

1481012914
Report to moderator
swusc2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


Do your part for Bitcoin!


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 08:24:47 AM
 #2

It probably is enough. Just be careful you might want to down-clock your CPU just to be safe. Also long as you aren't mining with both CPU and GPU you should be fine.

Impress your friends! Buy a bitcoin keychain!
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=30799.0
smoki
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 08:32:57 AM
 #3

Well, the PSU can output 30A on the 12V rail. That will be enough if this is going to be a dedicated mining rig.
On the other hand, if you plan to use the system while mining, then no, it probably will not be enough. And certainly not, if you plan to keep the 8800GTS in the rig. The CPU can use over 100W under load, the 8800GTS close to 150W and the 5870 around 180W.

19Wsi1QNn7A9YHwbQsjXz4tWxdu72HQ8zM (just in case Smiley)
Uhrenknecht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 10:32:40 AM
 #4

Nvidia goes to Ebay. How can I use the computer if the mining takes too much cpu-power? On my 8800GTS I turned off Aero in Win 7 and it's okay to play poker and F5 MtGox.. Smiley

gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 06:12:24 PM
 #5

Hey there,
just ordered a returned Gigabyte HD5870 for 177€.

Got a Bequiet 430W power supply and asked myself if I need a new power supply for using the card (OC or not) and or extra fans?

Actually Im running an Athlon Dual 6000+ with 2 GB DDR2-Ram , Nvidia 8800GTS and 3 IDE-HDDs.


Thanks for help

If your CPU draws over 75 watts then I would say no, it is not powerful enough.

You always want to "over do it" with your PSU.
hardly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 06:18:25 PM
 #6

never ever ever would I trust a $30 power supply with a <$200 graphics card.

If that power supply is a crappy as I'm 99% sure it is, then effectively it will handle about 300 watts.

Feel like being generous? I'll <3 you forever Cheesy 1JHckLQ9ed9YntYpsCAxsDQpuhnc7DYTSk
Uhrenknecht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 10:20:42 AM
 #7

Thanks guys, but I'm not sure if you underestimate my PSU

http://www.be-quiet.net/be-quiet.net/index.php?StoryID=17&ProductID=44&websiteLang=en

That's my PSU.
 30$ is at lot less than I paid for it. It actually costs 48€ ( http://www.mindfactory.de/product_info.php/info/p619208_430W-be-quiet--Pure-Power-L7-80--Bronze.html )which is actually about 68$.

And I'm not using my NVIDIA anymore!

smoki
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 08:47:15 PM
 #8

Yeah, just ignore hardly's comment about the psu being crap. Bequiet actually produces very good power supplies and you can be confident that if the spec sheet says 30A @ 12V, that's what the unit will deliver.
I say give it a try, but keep an eye on the 12V, 5V and 3.3V voltages (use a program like cpuid hardware monitor, http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html). If they deviate for more than 5% from their nominal values under load, the psu is being dangerously overstressed.

19Wsi1QNn7A9YHwbQsjXz4tWxdu72HQ8zM (just in case Smiley)
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:55:09 AM
 #9

That is a decent psu. It has some voltage fluctuations although they aren't too bad. Other than that, it will definitely handle a 5870.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!