Bitcoin Forum
February 24, 2018, 08:52:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VGA/USB Mass Splitter or similar system?  (Read 377 times)
bitstomake
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 12:04:09 PM
 #1

I have a growing fleet of ubuntu boxes I use for mining, currently around 20.  The only annoying thing is constantly having to unplug then replug the keyboard/mouse/monitor into each to reboot or amend.

Is there a mass vga/usb splitter available?  Or is there an easier way of doing this?  Haven't been able to find one Sad

Thanks
1519462342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519462342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519462342
Reply with quote  #2

1519462342
Report to moderator
1519462342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519462342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519462342
Reply with quote  #2

1519462342
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519462342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519462342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519462342
Reply with quote  #2

1519462342
Report to moderator
qaaq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 02:06:50 PM
 #2

it's called kvm switch, google it

BTC: 16nMs9466EdrESw96F6admN9tcEdsYVw1X
bitstomake
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 02:19:20 PM
 #3

Many thanks qaaq.

Oh dear, when you start going over 4 port, these things are horribly expensive.  Can anyone think of an alternative way of achieving this?  Some kind of virtual control system?
Mugatu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 02:46:04 PM
 #4

SSH or remote desktop
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1087


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 03:21:39 PM
 #5

Many thanks qaaq.

Oh dear, when you start going over 4 port, these things are horribly expensive.  Can anyone think of an alternative way of achieving this?  Some kind of virtual control system?


okay  ebay has good deals on 4 port  I have 3 give me 1 minute for links

here is a quality 4 port for 170

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002RCTNKW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?


same one used for  60
http://www.ebay.com/itm/IOGEAR-GCS1774-4-PORT-SYMPHONY-KVM-SWITCH-USB2-0-NTWK-AUDIO-/251630505570?

but you need to buy cables  these work with  video cards that have hdmi

https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-HDMI-DVI-Adapter-Cable/dp/B014I8UQJY/ref=sr_1_1?

these work if your video card has dvi out put.
https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-DVIMM3-3-Feet-Digital-Monitor/dp/B00HS2257O/ref=sr_1_42?


plus you need these


https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-USB-2-0-Cable--Male/dp/B00NH11KIK/ref=sr_1_2?



Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1008


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 09:12:53 PM
 #6

Newegg has some 4-way KVM new for around $80ish, Iogear brand IIRC.

 If you're wanting to switch anything BUT old-style VGA video though, the price starts going through the roof - DVI and HDMI KVMs are ALL a ton more per port, which IMO is dumb as they're digital signals not analog and should be EASIER to switch.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1087


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
September 18, 2016, 09:58:54 PM
 #7

Newegg has some 4-way KVM new for around $80ish, Iogear brand IIRC.

 If you're wanting to switch anything BUT old-style VGA video though, the price starts going through the roof - DVI and HDMI KVMs are ALL a ton more per port, which IMO is dumb as they're digital signals not analog and should be EASIER to switch.


I got lucky grabbed 3 used Kvm/usb four port for 60 each with cables and only missing power supplies.

I spent 3x 60 and 3 x 8 or 204. And new they were 3x 170 or 510


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 251


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 03:08:32 AM
 #8

SSH or remote desktop

Ditto.  When I need to reboot a rig, I ssh in, then "shutdown -r now".
I keep a keyboard and monitor plugged into one of my rigs so I can use it as a terminal.  So if swap a riser or card I use the terminal to ssh into the rig and check on the changes.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!