Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2018, 05:55:05 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What is "intensity" in cgminer?  (Read 669 times)
M3t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 02:30:18 AM
 #1

I have mine set to 6 and 7 for dual cards.

I set one to 12 and got blue screen of death.

What is intensity? Tongue
1544853305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544853305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544853305
Reply with quote  #2

1544853305
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544853305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544853305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544853305
Reply with quote  #2

1544853305
Report to moderator
1544853305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544853305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544853305
Reply with quote  #2

1544853305
Report to moderator
1544853305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544853305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544853305
Reply with quote  #2

1544853305
Report to moderator
M3t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 02:38:04 AM
 #2

bump!
ltcminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 02:48:10 AM
 #3

my guess is how smoothly you want the video output to be. The higher the intensity, the rougher the video display could become.

just my guess, you are better off reading the help section.
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1229



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 03:14:42 AM
 #4

It's exactly what it says on the tin: how intensely cgminer uses your GPU to mine bitcoins. Setting this higher than your system can handle is a Bad Idea, as you discovered the hard way. As a general rule, anything above 9 is probably too high, and your primary card will need to be much lower unless you don't mind your GUI lagging severely.

Will pretend to do unverifiable things (while actually eating an enchilada-style burrito) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
M3t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 03:47:54 AM
 #5

So more intensely = more MHashes? Or....?
M3t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 06:36:53 AM
 #6

bump!!
Miademora
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 06:39:38 AM
 #7

afaik higher intensity can give you a little bit more hashes if your card can handle it
M3t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 03, 2013, 12:50:57 AM
 #8

can I get a confirmation? thanks!!
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1001


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 12:52:39 AM
 #9

On dedicated miners i use 14-18.
If i actually planned to use the pc i would set it around 6-12.

And yes.. The higher the value the more hashing.
FreshJR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 03, 2013, 12:57:21 AM
 #10

Its similar to process priority in windows.

High intensity means:
that miner gets high priority for gpu computation
as in you will get laggy desktop and other 3d performance
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!