Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 03:29:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I need of help, just started solo mining  (Read 514 times)
RamboVital
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 05:17:36 AM
 #1

Greetings and Salutations,

I am a Newbie bitcoin, California Solo Miner.  LOL!

Just started using "Litecoin" and "Reaper" today.

Getting around 1.6GH/s to 1.62GH/s
Is that good?  I am using my video card "Geforce 9800 GTX+ XLR8"

Picture of mining
http://s249.photobucket.com/user/VitalDragon/media/solomining.jpg.html

I am still a bit confused on the whole process.  Is there a Dumb/Stupid/Newbie extreme edition set by set on how to solo mine.  Because I have no idea what in the world I am doing.  Feeling really dumb here.

Also, If I went out to buy a new video card what is the the most important thing I need to look at.  GPUs, shadders, ect.....


Thank you for your time from,
Vital
1511364581
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364581

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364581
Reply with quote  #2

1511364581
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511364581
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364581

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364581
Reply with quote  #2

1511364581
Report to moderator
1511364581
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364581

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364581
Reply with quote  #2

1511364581
Report to moderator
lampshad3
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 05:24:15 AM
 #2

I think you have something set wrong, or just reading something wrong somewhere, there is noooo way you are getting 1.6 gh/s..

First thing i would recommend is go and get a new video card. Check out this site for the hardware comparison:

https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison

go here for a incredibly easy way to get your cards mining:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=162708.0

oh and welcome Smiley
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 05:31:29 AM
 #3

your config settings are messed up (causing the erroneous 1.6gh/s), and that card you're using will cost you more money in electricity than it will generate in coins of any kind.

RamboVital
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6



View Profile
April 02, 2013, 05:38:02 AM
 #4

Blarg.

I see.  After looking at those cards I now see that the software I am using is most likely faulty.  Screenshot shows what the miner is doing.  Really weird.

Thank you for all the information.  Hopefully it won't cost me an arm and a leg to build a bitcoin rig.


Cheers!
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
April 03, 2013, 02:21:20 AM
 #5

Blarg.

I see.  After looking at those cards I now see that the software I am using is most likely faulty.  Screenshot shows what the miner is doing.  Really weird.

Thank you for all the information.  Hopefully it won't cost me an arm and a leg to build a bitcoin rig.


Cheers!
Check out tacotime's thread about 'newbie mining rig' (something along those lines - just search his name). he goes step by step on what to buy, how to setup the whole thing securely in a milk crate,etc.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!