Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2018, 08:09:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Any way to back off ethminer by 5% or so?  (Read 1330 times)
helloeverybody
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2016, 08:33:00 AM
 #1

HI,

Does anyone know if there is a command i can use to limit how much of my gpu ethminer will actually use? because i currently have it running at 99% it causes my web browser to freeze and makes youtube videos etc tricky to watch. Im sure there was a way to limit the usage but cant seem to find out how to do it.


1516694944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516694944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516694944
Reply with quote  #2

1516694944
Report to moderator
1516694944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516694944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516694944
Reply with quote  #2

1516694944
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 18, 2016, 08:53:39 AM
 #2

HI,

Does anyone know if there is a command i can use to limit how much of my gpu ethminer will actually use? because i currently have it running at 99% it causes my web browser to freeze and makes youtube videos etc tricky to watch. Im sure there was a way to limit the usage but cant seem to find out how to do it.



Try turning down the intensity or use another miner. I'm using sgminer-gm on my desktop and I'm browsing it and even playing videos games while mining, works pretty well.

helloeverybody
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2016, 08:55:56 AM
 #3

HI,

Does anyone know if there is a command i can use to limit how much of my gpu ethminer will actually use? because i currently have it running at 99% it causes my web browser to freeze and makes youtube videos etc tricky to watch. Im sure there was a way to limit the usage but cant seem to find out how to do it.



Try turning down the intensity or use another miner. I'm using sgminer-gm on my desktop and I'm browsing it and even playing videos games while mining, works pretty well.

I cant actually find what the command would be for turning down the intensity though. This is all i have in the help file.

Options:

Work farming mode:
    -F,--farm <url>  Put into mining farm mode with the work server at URL (default: http://127.0.0.1:8545)
    --farm-recheck <n>  Leave n ms between checks for changed work (default: 500).
    --no-precompute  Don't precompute the next epoch's DAG.
Ethash verify mode:
    -w,--check-pow <headerHash> <seedHash> <difficulty> <nonce>  Check PoW credentials for validity.

Benchmarking mode:
    -M,--benchmark  Benchmark for mining and exit; use with --cpu and --opencl.
    --benchmark-warmup <seconds>  Set the duration of warmup for the benchmark tests (default: 3).
    --benchmark-trial <seconds>  Set the duration for each trial for the benchmark tests (default: 3).
    --benchmark-trials <n>  Set the duration of warmup for the benchmark tests (default: 5).
    --phone-home <on/off>  When benchmarking, publish results (default: on)
DAG creation mode:
    -D,--create-dag <number>  Create the DAG in preparation for mining on given block and exit.
Mining configuration:
    -C,--cpu  When mining, use the CPU.
    -G,--opencl  When mining use the GPU via OpenCL.
    -U,--cuda  When mining use the GPU via CUDA.
    --opencl-platform <n>  When mining using -G/--opencl use OpenCL platform n (default: 0).
    --opencl-device <n>  When mining using -G/--opencl use OpenCL device n (default: 0).
    -t, --mining-threads <n> Limit number of CPU/GPU miners to n (default: all CPU threads / 1 GPU)
   --gpu-mining-buffers <n> Number of GPU mining buffers (default: 2)
   --gpu-batch-size <n> Mining batch size as a power of 2 (default: 18 => 262144)
   --gpu-workgroup-size <n> Mining workgroup size (opencl) / threads per block (CUDA). Should be multiple of 8. (default: 128).
   --gpu-devices <0 1 2 ..> Use selected gpu devices (CUDA only). (default: 0, max 8 GPUs)
   --high-cpu-load Use this flag to get a tiny bit better performance at the cost of high CPU load.
General Options:
    -v,--verbosity <0 - 9>  Set the log verbosity from 0 to 9 (default: Cool.
    -V,--version  Show the version and exit.
    -h,--help  Show this help message and exit.

YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 18, 2016, 09:05:16 AM
 #4

Yeah, my bad. turns out that ethminer doesn't have intensity settings. try downloading sgminer-gm or Claymore's instead and see if you are having the same lags. if you do you can start playing with the intensity until you can use the computer normally.

helloeverybody
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2016, 09:17:16 AM
 #5

Yeah, my bad. turns out that ethminer doesn't have intensity settings. try downloading sgminer-gm or Claymore's instead and see if you are having the same lags. if you do you can start playing with the intensity until you can use the computer normally.

I might have to try that and see if no one else has any ideas. I can still mostly use the computer as im typing on it right now, Its just the problem with the browser crashing from time to time and youtube being a pain in the tits. Im just so used to running ethminer and hoped i could make a small adjustment to the .bat to improve things rather than looking into a completely new miner =p

YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 18, 2016, 10:37:06 AM
 #6

Yeah, my bad. turns out that ethminer doesn't have intensity settings. try downloading sgminer-gm or Claymore's instead and see if you are having the same lags. if you do you can start playing with the intensity until you can use the computer normally.

I might have to try that and see if no one else has any ideas. I can still mostly use the computer as im typing on it right now, Its just the problem with the browser crashing from time to time and youtube being a pain in the tits. Im just so used to running ethminer and hoped i could make a small adjustment to the .bat to improve things rather than looking into a completely new miner =p

It's really not a problem, changing a miner takes 5 minutes and you might even get a better hashrate.

helloeverybody
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2016, 10:43:59 AM
 #7

Yeah, my bad. turns out that ethminer doesn't have intensity settings. try downloading sgminer-gm or Claymore's instead and see if you are having the same lags. if you do you can start playing with the intensity until you can use the computer normally.

I might have to try that and see if no one else has any ideas. I can still mostly use the computer as im typing on it right now, Its just the problem with the browser crashing from time to time and youtube being a pain in the tits. Im just so used to running ethminer and hoped i could make a small adjustment to the .bat to improve things rather than looking into a completely new miner =p

It's really not a problem, changing a miner takes 5 minutes and you might even get a better hashrate.

I will download claymores miner and give it a try but im pretty sure last time my antivirus took exception and even when i omitted it, it still wouldnt open it without deleting the file. I just get lazy and like to stick with one that i know works  (even if its not working as good as it should ).

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!