Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:55:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: P2Pool mining Problem  (Read 1269 times)
Searinox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 04:52:41 AM
 #1

Hello,

I'm new to both Bitcoin and mining. I set up a combination of Bitcoin 0.8.1, P2Pool and GUIminer, all latest versions.

Bitcoin-qt.exe - has downloaded all ~7.5GB of hashes and I have an active wallet. It is running in server mode with a set user and password. It reports a steady 8-10 active connections and keeps adding new blocks every few minutes.

run_p2pool.exe - is reporting success in connecting to Bitcoin with the aformentioned user and password. The connection, to the best of my understanding, is successful, and run_p2pool begins showing negotiations with other clients. The p2p connection port is custom and forwarded, and external port checking websites indeed confirm that the port is working. P2Pool is reporting that it's found and bound to my BTC account, and is reporting the correct ID, the same that Bitcoin is reporting.

GUIminer/Poclbm - is connecting to P2pool's rpc at 127.0.0.1:9332, and I believe it successfully manages to do so, it throws an error about mismatching user/pass(Poclbm is using generic user/pass to connect to run_p2pool) but then proceeds with hashing. It reports a hash of roughly 200Mhash/s and the graphics card's fan and GPU temp increase significantly, indicating a successful mining.

So as described above, everything seems okay. Bitcoin's all done catching up and waiting, P2Pool correctly connects to it and identifies my account, and Poclbm manages to connect to P2Pool and starts hashing. So where's the problem? Well, I let this run all night, and when I was up it was still running all the same. However, http://127.0.0.1:9332/static/ is reporting the following:

Local rate: 0.00H/s (NaN% DOA) Expected time to share: NaN hours
Shares: 0 total (0 orphaned, 0 dead) Efficiency: Huh

I then go to the graphs page, where the graphs show pool rate and traffic rate for the hours it's been running, but everything under local rate, shares, and payout, is completely empty. It worries me that P2Pool isn't catching my mining at all! Could someone please clarify? Thank you.
Reply
1511164508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164508
Reply with quote  #2

1511164508
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511164508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164508
Reply with quote  #2

1511164508
Report to moderator
1511164508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164508
Reply with quote  #2

1511164508
Report to moderator
jdbtracker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687


Minimum Effort/Maximum effect


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 10:23:07 PM
 #2

You need to change to https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer

p2pool does not like guiminer. so you'll need to switch.

If you think my efforts are worth something; I'll keep on keeping on.
I don't believe in IQ, only in Determination.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!