Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 05:37:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: run my own blockchain explore  (Read 532 times)
anylettuce (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 06:55:21 PM
 #1

Right now I am using 3rd party api to update and keep track of my wallets ballance. I would like to run my own so I don't need to rely on 3rd party and possibly not wait for things to load.

Thoughts or point me in the right direction?
I prefer windows but can use linux with some guides.
1714973858
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714973858

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714973858
Reply with quote  #2

1714973858
Report to moderator
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
rapazev
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100



View Profile
October 21, 2016, 07:29:32 PM
 #2

why not use blockchain.info? keep your address in a note and copy and paste on blockchain, voila.
anylettuce (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 07:46:42 PM
Last edit: October 21, 2016, 08:30:14 PM by anylettuce
 #3

why not use blockchain.info? keep your address in a note and copy and paste on blockchain, voila.
Everything in in google sheets and automatically updates every time I load it up. Due to api limits/server usage it sometimes takes time to update my 10 or so addresses.

plus I am lazy and don't what to enter every address like you said

Current code
=importdata(IF(ISBLANK(A),"",CONCAT("https://chainz.cryptoid.info/btc/api.dws?key=@@@@@@@@@@@@&q=getbalance&a=",A1)))
New code or something like this
=importdata(IF(ISBLANK(A),"",CONCAT("http://192.168.1.101/q/addressbalance/",A1)))
MartinL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 10:50:54 PM
 #4

For Bitcoin, BitPay's Insight API should meet your requirements. Its API methods should work nicely with Google Sheets, e.g. to check an address's balance:

https://insight.bitpay.com/api/addr/38ccq12hPFoiSksxUdr6SQ5VosyjY7s9AU/balance

The rate limiter can be disabled if you host it yourself.

Keep in mind that IMPORTDATA is executed remotely, so your API server will need to be publicly available, whereas 192.168.1.101 from your example is part of a private address range.
anylettuce (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 04:26:02 AM
 #5

For Bitcoin, BitPay's Insight API should meet your requirements. Its API methods should work nicely with Google Sheets, e.g. to check an address's balance:

https://insight.bitpay.com/api/addr/38ccq12hPFoiSksxUdr6SQ5VosyjY7s9AU/balance

The rate limiter can be disabled if you host it yourself.

Keep in mind that IMPORTDATA is executed remotely, so your API server will need to be publicly available, whereas 192.168.1.101 from your example is part of a private address range.
sounds exactly what I need. Now to get the install issue figured out.
~Bitcoin~
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 22, 2016, 05:10:32 AM
 #6

Blockexplorer.com also provides insight api you can check here https://github.com/bitcoin-blockexplorer/insight-api
and also seems this guide will be quite helpful in running own explorer using insight-api here https://bitcore.io/guides/full-node/
I haven't used them or developed anything yet as i am also quite noob on linux.

pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3444
Merit: 10549



View Profile
October 22, 2016, 06:16:42 AM
 #7

almost all the Blockchain Explorer APIs that i have seen had some type of Query API which will return Plaintext in their repose that you can use in your google spread sheet
here is blockchain.info https://blockchain.info/q
example:
https://blockchain.info/q/addressbalance/{bitcoinAddress}?confirmations=1
for multiple at once:
https://blockchain.info/q/addressbalance/{add1}|{add2}?confirmations=1

you can change the confirmation to a different number between 0 and 120 to only get the confirmed transactions.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
MartinL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 06:48:42 AM
 #8

almost all the Blockchain Explorer APIs that i have seen had some type of Query API which will return Plaintext in their repose that you can use in your google spread sheet
here is blockchain.info https://blockchain.info/q
example:
https://blockchain.info/q/addressbalance/{bitcoinAddress}?confirmations=1
for multiple at once:
https://blockchain.info/q/addressbalance/{add1}|{add2}?confirmations=1

you can change the confirmation to a different number between 0 and 120 to only get the confirmed transactions.

OP specifically mentioned not wanting to rely on a third party. He is already using a service like you are describing.
pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3444
Merit: 10549



View Profile
October 22, 2016, 07:12:01 AM
 #9

~~

OP specifically mentioned not wanting to rely on a third party. He is already using a service like you are describing.

yes, i can read.
but also he said this:

~
Everything in in google sheets and automatically updates every time I load it up. Due to api limits/server~~chainz.cryptoid.info/btc/api~~~

which means the problem is in the API service provider he is using. in other words chainz.cryptoid API is limiting him to 1 call per every 10 seconds and this limit does not exist in blockchain.info query so it is not really the same service you see.

besides not relying on a third party means he has to run his own full node and connect to that which i doubt that he wants to do that just for updating his balance based on his comments.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
anylettuce (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 04:58:37 PM
 #10

~~

OP specifically mentioned not wanting to rely on a third party. He is already using a service like you are describing.

yes, i can read.
but also he said this:

~
Everything in in google sheets and automatically updates every time I load it up. Due to api limits/server~~chainz.cryptoid.info/btc/api~~~

which means the problem is in the API service provider he is using. in other words chainz.cryptoid API is limiting him to 1 call per every 10 seconds and this limit does not exist in blockchain.info query so it is not really the same service you see.

besides not relying on a third party means he has to run his own full node and connect to that which i doubt that he wants to do that just for updating his balance based on his comments.

One of the problems I ran into was the address needs to be at the end and not in the middle. mysite.info/(insert) works but I never did get mysite.info/(insert)/balance.   I have it so when say sell a6 gets an address cell b6 automatically populates the link it at updates it.

I was also thinking last night about the full node. While I am not to worried I do have unlimited bandwidth and a decent speed. If this works I will use some older hardware I have to run this and just have it do its thing. If it were ever compromised all the would get is a empty address.
anylettuce (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 05:06:12 PM
 #11

I don't know why my post got quoted
Is it possible for one of these programs to allow the address entered to be at the end?
Like mysite.info/balance/(insertaddress)
It would make it a lot easier for future plans as well.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!