Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:19:35 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-E x1 to PCI-E x16 Issue (0.2 BTC reward)  (Read 4481 times)
Boxeo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 12:47:44 AM
 #1

Hi guys,

i've installed an hd 6950 in a x1 slot on my 890gx gigabyte motherboard (using the x1 to x16 cable adapter from cablesarus)  but every time I turn the computer on everything will power up and there is the normal 1 beep from the diagnostic speaker but no picture (the monitor just says no signal).

Removing the PCI-E x1 to x16 slot from the motherboard results in the pc booting up normally.

The 2 x16 slots are each housing a video card already

System is using a 1000W gold psu

Removing one x16 slot video card results in the same issue of no picture


I'm offering 0.2 BTC to someone that can fix my issue. thanks.

www.muchbitcoin.org - A free educational website for Bitcoin
1481249975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249975
Reply with quote  #2

1481249975
Report to moderator
1481249975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249975
Reply with quote  #2

1481249975
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481249975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249975
Reply with quote  #2

1481249975
Report to moderator
1481249975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249975
Reply with quote  #2

1481249975
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:49:01 AM
 #2

did you short the presence detect pins?

edit:
http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42


It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Boxeo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 12:50:43 AM
 #3

Yup, did that and tried without it as well. It should still post though right? The primarmy video card has the hdmi cable connected to the monitor

www.muchbitcoin.org - A free educational website for Bitcoin
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:51:59 AM
 #4

The computer is not powering up the card, you have to short 2 pins, but i do suggest you to just buy a 16x cable if you are not used to ha modifications.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:52:32 AM
 #5

have you tried dummy plugs? (i know it's a stretch, but I'm out of ideas)

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:56:12 AM
 #6

Did you attack the 2x 6-pins connector to the card, right? Also how big is your PSU?

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Boxeo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 12:58:58 AM
 #7

Yup, I have dummy plug plugged in already  Smiley thanks grue for trying to help

Also, to qed I would use another x16 as suggested but the motherboard only has x16 x16 x1 x1 x1 pci pci. The x16 slots are populated and i'm left with only x1 now. The fans are spinning on the hd 6950 on the pci-e x1 extender not sure if that means its being powered or not.

Also to note I am using molex and 6 pin adapters to power the video card. I'm going to try powering the video card with hard wired 6 pins from the psu itself (but i don't see how it would stop the primary video card from displaying the pictures)

PSU is a 1000watt gold power supply

www.muchbitcoin.org - A free educational website for Bitcoin
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:04:29 AM
 #8

You have to check if it's the motherboard or the card beeping. If there is no power or not enough power to the videocard fan will spin anyway but it will beep. If everything else is fine the only possibility is a faulty cable.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Boxeo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 01:08:44 AM
 #9

Beep is definetly from motherboard speaker. It beeps everytime the pc posts with or without the hd 6950 plugged in.

I also tried plugging it in a different pci-e x1 slot on the motherboard

www.muchbitcoin.org - A free educational website for Bitcoin
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:10:57 AM
 #10

Beep is definetly from motherboard speaker. It beeps everytime the pc posts.

I also tried plugging it in a different pci-e x1 slot on the motherboard
try unplugging all of the cards, and then plugging ONE in, using pci-e x1 -> x16.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Mechanizm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 02:18:50 AM
 #11

I'm getting the feeling that those x1 slots are being disabled when your 16x slots are populated. I've seen other Gigabytes have this same issue along with one of my own Gigabyte boards.
Boxeo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 03:01:21 AM
 #12

that's interesting news mechanizm...do you know if there is any way around this? It's definetely not the cable because i plugged the x1 to x16 cable into a x16 slot and it posted fine. So maybe you are right, it may be some way the gigabyte motherboard is set up. I'll try the x1 in the asus motherboard to see if I get the same results.

I just don't understand why it would affect the other video cards from doing their job  Undecided

www.muchbitcoin.org - A free educational website for Bitcoin
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:13:29 AM
 #13

that's interesting news mechanizm...do you know if there is any way around this? It's definetely not the cable because i plugged the x1 to x16 cable into a x16 slot and it posted fine. So maybe you are right, it may be some way the gigabyte motherboard is set up. I'll try the x1 in the asus motherboard to see if I get the same results.

I just don't understand why it would affect the other video cards from doing their job  Undecided

My asus p8p67 only boots multi-card setups if I go into BIOS and set pci-e mode to x1 so that every lane is running at that speed. Otherwise certain lanes are disabled while others run at x4, x8 or x16. Only x1 allows running all of them.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
Boxeo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 05:34:30 PM
 #14

that's interesting news mechanizm...do you know if there is any way around this? It's definetely not the cable because i plugged the x1 to x16 cable into a x16 slot and it posted fine. So maybe you are right, it may be some way the gigabyte motherboard is set up. I'll try the x1 in the asus motherboard to see if I get the same results.

I just don't understand why it would affect the other video cards from doing their job  Undecided

My asus p8p67 only boots multi-card setups if I go into BIOS and set pci-e mode to x1 so that every lane is running at that speed. Otherwise certain lanes are disabled while others run at x4, x8 or x16. Only x1 allows running all of them.

I tried looking all over the bios for a pci-e settings but with no luck. I only found some sort of pci-e spectrum (not sure what this does) setting which is disabled. I'll take a detailed look again in the bios. I tried using the cable in a m-atx asus motherboard and it works perfectly fine and doesn't even require shorting any pins.

I'll come back after trying more possible solutions

www.muchbitcoin.org - A free educational website for Bitcoin
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:25:40 AM
 #15

that's interesting news mechanizm...do you know if there is any way around this? It's definetely not the cable because i plugged the x1 to x16 cable into a x16 slot and it posted fine. So maybe you are right, it may be some way the gigabyte motherboard is set up. I'll try the x1 in the asus motherboard to see if I get the same results.

I just don't understand why it would affect the other video cards from doing their job  Undecided

My asus p8p67 only boots multi-card setups if I go into BIOS and set pci-e mode to x1 so that every lane is running at that speed. Otherwise certain lanes are disabled while others run at x4, x8 or x16. Only x1 allows running all of them.

Somebody was explaining to me that a board only has so many total lanes.. that would make sense to try dropping to x1.

I'll have to try that on one of mine where the x1 didn't work.
stunner2002
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2011, 01:06:41 PM
 #16

sorry for digging out this thread.

but i also have a gigabyte Mainboard and no success.

One card in PCI-E x16, one in PCI-E x16 (x4 electric) and one with a riser in the x1 PCI-E slot.
The pc is normally booting to windows, but only two cards are recognized (the two in the x16 slots). any solution?

board: Gigabyte GA-945P-DS3P

Donations: 17Jj39uV9YEYmjasKhuPyemaDoZuAz2zLx

--- http://www.nethifi.de ---
stapler117
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 06:16:00 PM
 #17

did you short the presence detect pins?

edit:
http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42



^^this

I'm an ex-miner. I still love bitcoins, but I've decided it's too expensive to mine for me. Lowered the difficulty a bit for the rest of you Wink

Eat FibreOne bars. they are made of pure deliciousness
stunner2002
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2011, 01:25:38 AM
 #18

-.- no, for sure i tried that to.
i think the board is hardware limit with 20x PCIe Lines. I'm using one full speed 16x Slot and one x16 (electric x4). one additional x1 Card doenst work. if i pull out one of the other 2 card, the one in the PCIe x1 slot works like a charm.
no choise have to use my third card in my desktop PC...

Donations: 17Jj39uV9YEYmjasKhuPyemaDoZuAz2zLx

--- http://www.nethifi.de ---
CydeWeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 07:12:31 PM
 #19

I wonder what would happen if you used another x1 adapter to connect the graphics card in the x16 slot?  Might that free up more lanes?

In my (working) configuration on a different Gigabyte motherboard, I have two videocards plugged into x16 slots, one using an x1 extender into an x1 slot, and another using an x1 extender into an x1 slot.
stapler117
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 07:41:54 PM
 #20

I wonder what would happen if you used another x1 adapter to connect the graphics card in the x16 slot?  Might that free up more lanes?

In my (working) configuration on a different Gigabyte motherboard, I have two videocards plugged into x16 slots, one using an x1 extender into an x1 slot, and another using an x1 extender into an x1 slot.

I was going to post something along the same lines. Tom's Hardware had done a test a while back to see how bandwidth affected gaming performance. they put scotch tape over part of the pcie x16 to put it into 8x, 4x, and 1x mode. If you've maxed out what the motherboard will assign in bandwidth, then you could try that out. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/pci-express-2.0,1915-4.html

I'm an ex-miner. I still love bitcoins, but I've decided it's too expensive to mine for me. Lowered the difficulty a bit for the rest of you Wink

Eat FibreOne bars. they are made of pure deliciousness
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!