Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 02:10:05 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Changing graphics cards in Ubuntu  (Read 2047 times)
Laereom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:38:40 AM
 #1

I recently upgraded my 5770 to a 6950 in Ubuntu, and it isn't being recognized as an OpenCL device.  Does anyone have any experience with similar situations or know what causes a new device to be 'seen' by OpenCL?
1539828605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539828605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539828605
Reply with quote  #2

1539828605
Report to moderator
1539828605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539828605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539828605
Reply with quote  #2

1539828605
Report to moderator
1539828605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539828605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539828605
Reply with quote  #2

1539828605
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539828605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539828605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539828605
Reply with quote  #2

1539828605
Report to moderator
1539828605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539828605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539828605
Reply with quote  #2

1539828605
Report to moderator
supa
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:41:02 AM
 #2


You should be able to just swap cards.  I do it all the time.

Can you get glxinfo, etc working in x?  That would suggest your driver isn't installed/loaded or your Xorg.conf is somehow wrong.

lsmod | grep fglrx

Do you get something?

Did you update your Xorg.conf ?  aticonfig --initial ?
Laereom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:55:31 PM
 #3

Upon running glxinfo, I get a massive amount of output that's pretty meaningless to me.

Upon running lsmod | grep fglrx, I get:
fglrx                2434640  173

Upon running sudo aticonfig --initial, I get:
Uninitialised file found, configuring.
Fail to link to fglrx-libglx.so, please check whether driver is installed correctly
Using /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Saving back-up to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.original-0


This last one seems interesting...the driver works fine for running the display.  I basically just turned off the proprietary driver when after I put in my 6950, and then turned it back on; I did this the lazy way via the Additional Drivers menu.

If these drivers aren't working for it, where exactly should I be getting them from?  What source do you use for your drivers?
supermine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 516



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:20:51 PM
 #4

I have the same problem. The solution that works for everyone is to install the propietery drivers from ATI - however their site is down! Anyone knows where to get the .run files except from the official ATI pages, which are down since a couple of hours?

Edit: Found the driver on another mining rig - so if you guys need the file as well, send me a PM.

███           ▄▄▄                          ███
███           ███    ▄█                    ███
███ ▄▄▄▄▄▄          ▄██▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄▄     ███        ▄██▄    ▄▄▄         ▄▄▄
███████████▄  ███ ▐████████  ██▄███████▄   ███       ██████    ███       ███▀
███▀    ▀███▌ ███   ███      ███▀    ▀███  ███      ████████    ███     ███▀
███      ▐██▌ ███   ███      ███      ███  ███     ██▀    ▀██    ███   ███▀
███      ▐██▌ ███   ███      ███      ███  ███    ███      ███    ███ ███▀
███▄    ▄███▌ ███   ███▄     ███▄    ▄███  ███   ████▄    ▄████    █████▀
███████████▀  ███   ▀██████  ███████████▀  ███  ████████████████    ███▀
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀    ▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀▀  ███ ▀▀▀▀▀▀    ▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    ███▀
                             ███       ▄▄▄ ▄   ▄  ▄ ▄▄▄          ▄███▀
                             ███      █    █   █  █ █▄▄▀      █████▀
                             ▀▀▀      ▀▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▀▄▄▀ █▄▄█      ▀▀▀















❱❱
❰❰

vx609e
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 02:19:58 AM
 #5

I have a similar problem...if I change cards count (go from 2 to 3 let say), ubuntu does not boot anymore...I need to reinstall OS. That's really tedious...there's gotta be a quick fix.
BitcoinRigs.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2011, 05:37:54 AM
 #6

Whenever you change cards, do this:

Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f

Dedicated Bitcoin Mining Rigs from http://bitcoinrigs.com/
Sideways
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 06:46:31 AM
 #7

Also check your SDK version, the 6xxx cards are not supported by 2.1, you have to goto 2.4
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!