Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 01:59:35 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: New poclbm GUI Miner Mac .app [now with bfgminer + cpuminer]  (Read 34938 times)
knybe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


decentralize EVERYTHING...


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 09:44:02 PM
 #21

from total noob standstill, that has set up a mining account on mining.bitcoin.cz, how do I setup MacMiner from the beginning??

do I use my site login info? or the worker/password info?

this is what I've got so far:
1540043975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043975
Reply with quote  #2

1540043975
Report to moderator
1540043975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043975
Reply with quote  #2

1540043975
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540043975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043975
Reply with quote  #2

1540043975
Report to moderator
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 01:28:06 AM
 #22

Hey, glad to see it looks as though it's working for you, and lucky I use slush's pool too so I can help you out here!

change pool to stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 (you can leave out the http://)

it looks to me as though you have the user/pass set up correctly, as long as that's registered at mining.bitcoin.cz - you use usernameyoulogintothesitewith.individualworkername for user and the password for the worker, not the login to the website.

Please do let me know how you get on! I'm especially interested in whether it works fine for people who haven't already installed any of the dependencies, and if you're new to mining I'm guessing that's the case for you?

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
knybe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


decentralize EVERYTHING...


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 02:05:12 AM
 #23

Hey, glad to see it looks as though it's working for you, and lucky I use slush's pool too so I can help you out here!

change pool to stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 (you can leave out the http://)

it looks to me as though you have the user/pass set up correctly, as long as that's registered at mining.bitcoin.cz - you use usernameyoulogintothesitewith.individualworkername for user and the password for the worker, not the login to the website.

Please do let me know how you get on! I'm especially interested in whether it works fine for people who haven't already installed any of the dependencies, and if you're new to mining I'm guessing that's the case for you?

oh cool!

badabing badaboom and it's working.... THANKS!

I have installed MacPorts and some other things, is that the dependencies you're talking about?
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 07:29:56 PM
 #24

oh cool!

badabing badaboom and it's working.... THANKS!

I have installed MacPorts and some other things, is that the dependencies you're talking about?
Great, glad that helped!

I was mostly wondering about python modules that could have been installed, like pyopencl, but I've just now run MacMiner in the 10.8 VM I have set up, even after removing some system included dependencies like numpy it seems to run fine, as should be expected with the included framework, I was mainly concerned because one 10.8 user was having problems, and wasn't sure why!

Hope you get some good mining in before BFL ships it's ASICs  Grin

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Fluxbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 03:20:01 PM
 #25

This miner is way better than anything I've used on OS X so far.  Native Stratum support, works without having to install or modify additional files, I can have my BTC wallet open at the same time...  I posted a question in the newbie pen before they let me out:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=186119.0

I'm curious to know if there is a way to save your profile info (pool/port #, options, user, pw) for the next time you load the application.  Is that a future feature, or is there a trick?  Thanks for the help and the awesome application.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 07:15:35 PM
 #26

This miner is way better than anything I've used on OS X so far.  Native Stratum support, works without having to install or modify additional files, I can have my BTC wallet open at the same time...  I posted a question in the newbie pen before they let me out:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=186119.0

I'm curious to know if there is a way to save your profile info (pool/port #, options, user, pw) for the next time you load the application.  Is that a future feature, or is there a trick?  Thanks for the help and the awesome application.

Thanks for the positive feedback! I really appreciate it. I might even quote you on my CV  Grin

I've updated MacMiner now to support saving options (that was kinda bugging me too) and to support fullscreen mode - the link is the same:

http://fabulouspanda.co.uk/MacMiner.app.zip

it's a bit bigger now though as I've also included python 2.7.4 and updates to poclbm, hopefully my bandwidth allowance will make it through to May!

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Fluxbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 05:11:23 AM
 #27

The settings save now, but it threw exceptions at me when I fired up the miner:

 25/04/2013 00:07:53, Setting server (onenoname.worker3 @ stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333)
Exception in thread Thread-1:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "threading.pyc", line 552, in __bootstrap_inner
  File "threading.pyc", line 505, in run
  File "OpenCLMiner.pyc", line 162, in mining_thread
  File "OpenCLMiner.pyc", line 334, in load_kernel
IOError: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: '1b21e1330112c99d8c7a0496c3257a34.elf'

The older version still does the trick, though.  I hope it's an easy fix for you.  And, for the record, it's still an awesome program.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 11:32:36 AM
 #28

Whoops, thanks for the heads-up!

I've uploaded a version with the new features but the older smaller poclbm and code-signing turned off, I'm fairly sure poclbm is the issue but I'll need to set up a new test environment before I can figure out for sure as they both work on my machine and VM, strangely enough! Link is still the same - or you can drop the poclbm.app in the old MacMiner.app/Contents/Resources in the new, broken one at the same place, replacing the defective version, in which case I would appreciate you letting me know if that fixes it as it would confirm the cause of the issue for me!

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Fluxbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 01:56:53 PM
 #29

Replacing the new poclbm.app with the old one got the miner working.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 11:25:58 PM
 #30

Replacing the new poclbm.app with the old one got the miner working.
Cool thank you! And for saving me the bandwidth Wink

I promise to start testing these on a clone of a fresh 10.8 install outside of a virtual machine before I change the app available! Won't necessarily say the same of the github project though. That might need a little tinkering sometimes but I'll start releasing stable versions at some point soon so people can check what they're running.

Should get a HD of a dozen clean OS installs set up for testing and the new version ready sometime on the weekend - up next, signing properly with my Dev ID to stop the 'unknown developer' warning, adding cgminer + bflminer backend options (Scrypt/litecoin/ASIC support), a preference window and view options (get some of those fancy dial-type display options for hash rates etc., which I anticipate might see more use when people move to mine on chips outside their computer case).

Requests will definitely be considered, but that's what I have in mind so far.

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Fluxbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 05:31:12 AM
 #31

Nice.  Shiny gauges would be pretty slick.  You've definitely got the back end nailed.  I was around 65-68MH/s on Diablo and I'm doing about 75MH/s with MacMiner.

Let me know if you need any beta testers or any other help.

Thanks for the awesome product.
kodachrome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 10:21:08 PM
 #32


I'm running OS X 10.7.5, 2.5 GHz i5, 16GB Ram, Radeon HD 6750M. Your new version of GUI Miner does not detect my GPU with the error message "No OpenCL devices were found" however the older version of GUI Miner that was built for Mac 2012-11-18 version does detect my GPU and works fine for mining.
I got the same error on the same GPU (Radeon 6750M) and on Lion.  I tried both the older (and otherwise working with the old GuiMiner) 2011 POCLBM and the latest one as described neither make any difference, the problem seems to be your version of GuiMiner.

Any chance of a fix?
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 11:07:53 PM
 #33


Any chance of a fix? (for 10.7)

I'll be updating the binaries on the weekend and I'll do my best to get MacMiner working with 10.7 then!

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 11:09:17 PM
 #34

MacMiner has been updated to include cpuminer for scrypt and with bugfixes for bfgminer - the different miners are now available from the 'View' menu. Get it here:

http://fabulouspanda.co.uk/MacMiner.pkg

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
kodachrome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 10:18:10 AM
 #35

Well MacMiner now runs on 10.7, however it appears to have at least two problems:

Quote
07/05/2013 11:13:21, Ignored invalid server entry:
No PyOpenCL

Not using OpenCL


Nothing to mine on, exiting

Problem 1:
The Invalid server entry I dont get, Ive tried both stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333  and http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332  - no difference. My username is the normal Slush workername (siteloginname.workername) but even leaving username blank get the same error.


Problem 2:
Seems the no OpenCL error persists.. does it really require me to download and compile PyOpenCL? The old Guiminer still works fine in this regard, full OpenCL straight away!
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2013, 10:20:54 AM
 #36

Invalid server entry seems to show up regardless, I get that on a working miner.

The PyOpenCL error - are you using the version from this thread or the new 10.7 installer here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

?

The one one this thread would definitely give you that error but the 10.7 installer should work for …

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
kodachrome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 11:28:29 AM
 #37

Woops, yes I had the other version, didnt see the update in the other thread.

However now I get this error with the correct 10.7 version:

Quote
07/05/2013 12:24:07, Ignored invalid server entry:

OpenCL devices:

  •    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2675QM CPU @ 2.20GHz
  • [1]   ATI Radeon HD 6750M

    No devices specified, using all GPU devices


                                                                                    
     07/05/2013 12:24:09, started OpenCL miner on platform 0, device 1 (ATI Radeon HD 6750M)

                                                                                    
     07/05/2013 12:24:09, Setting server (
username.macworker @ stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333)
Exception in thread Thread-1:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "threading.pyc", line 810, in __bootstrap_inner
  File "threading.pyc", line 763, in run
  File "OpenCLMiner.pyc", line 162, in mining_thread
  File "OpenCLMiner.pyc", line 334, in load_kernel
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: 'a498af9e9440422fc47a0ee44b41758d.elf'

This the new version of poclbm.app bug as above?
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2013, 11:31:21 AM
 #38

Damn, my bad, but you can fix that by right clicking MacMiner.app and choosing Show Package Contents then select 'Contents' folder in the window that opens, right click-get info and click the lock on the bottom right of the info window then change all permissions to 'read+write' and click the sprocket+down arrow button and choose 'apply to contents'. Once that's run it should work for you.

I'll push a new version ASAP! Thanks for the bug report.

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
kodachrome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 02:00:02 PM
 #39

Indeed that worked, fast turnaround, thanks! Smiley
So GPU mining with a nice Gui on MacOS 10.7 with an AMD 6750M with Stratum support.. looks good!

It gave me a notice a new version is out.. but wanted to see if this worked before risking an update. Cheesy
knybe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


decentralize EVERYTHING...


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 01:42:33 AM
 #40

HAY!
nice plug:

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/05/weve-got-a-butterfly-labs-bitcoin-miner-and-its-pretty-darn-fast/

can you post the configuration you came up with?
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!