Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2018, 03:34:31 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Spondoolies SP30 Loop Errors ?  (Read 678 times)
macjax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 02, 2016, 11:54:13 PM
 #1

Hey guys. I picked up 2 Spondoolies SP30's the other day. After taking them apart, cleaning them and adding new thermal paste, one unit is giving me an issue. It will run and hash for about 30-40 minutes and then shuts down. It will eventually start up again but then shuts down again. Sometimes after minutes, sometimes it runs much longer. Anyway, I was wondering if one of you guys can take a look at the System Log and see why. The only thing I noticed was loop error 3, which was in yellow text. I have copied and pasted those errors bellow. If you want the entire log, please let me know:

Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 1: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 2: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]: ASICS in loop> 3: 0
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 4: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 5: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 6: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 7: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 8: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 9: 3

Nov  2 23:35:48 miner local1.warn minergate[29400]: Critical: ERROR: Loop failed 3 !

Nov  2 23:35:56 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]: Critical: Bad loop 3 = trying power cycle
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]: Critical: Bad loop 3 = set loop as disabled

As you can see, there seems to be an issue with loop 3. Whatever that means ? LOL. Any recommendations on how to fix if fixable would be greatly appreciated !!!

Many thanks !!!
macjax

1537457671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457671
Reply with quote  #2

1537457671
Report to moderator
1537457671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457671
Reply with quote  #2

1537457671
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537457671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457671
Reply with quote  #2

1537457671
Report to moderator
1537457671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457671
Reply with quote  #2

1537457671
Report to moderator
Maxumark
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132
Merit: 104


View Profile
November 07, 2016, 08:00:27 PM
 #2

Go into the settings and disable loop 3. Also check your temps and make sure you are below 120 temp. I think that 125 is the limit to where its cuts off.
Have you updated the firmware to 2.7.1? I think that its the latest and available on the spondoolies Bitcointalk thread.
I have found for them to run continuous without stopping you need to bypass or disable bad loops, and up the fan speed and, or throttle back loops to keep them 100 to 115 temp.
 

Mining LTC and other alts since 2014 when I realized I missed the BTC train.
flameruk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2016, 10:27:52 PM
 #3

Hey guys. I picked up 2 Spondoolies SP30's the other day. After taking them apart, cleaning them and adding new thermal paste, one unit is giving me an issue. It will run and hash for about 30-40 minutes and then shuts down. It will eventually start up again but then shuts down again. Sometimes after minutes, sometimes it runs much longer. Anyway, I was wondering if one of you guys can take a look at the System Log and see why. The only thing I noticed was loop error 3, which was in yellow text. I have copied and pasted those errors bellow. If you want the entire log, please let me know:

Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 1: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 2: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]: ASICS in loop> 3: 0
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 4: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 5: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 6: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 7: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 8: 3
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]:  ASICS in loop 9: 3

Nov  2 23:35:48 miner local1.warn minergate[29400]: Critical: ERROR: Loop failed 3 !

Nov  2 23:35:56 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]: Critical: Bad loop 3 = trying power cycle
Nov  2 23:36:09 miner local1.warn minergate[29509]: Critical: Bad loop 3 = set loop as disabled

As you can see, there seems to be an issue with loop 3. Whatever that means ? LOL. Any recommendations on how to fix if fixable would be greatly appreciated !!!

Many thanks !!!
macjax



When u re thermalled the chips did u clean the Asics up with isopropyl alcohol and scrape the hard shit from around the decoupling caps next to the Asics?
When I rebuilt my SP20's the first one I did had this issue.
I then re did the process but cut the glue from the PCB using a hacksaw blade so the heat sink went closer to the chip.
You unfortunately need to use a shit load of paste (ignore anything you read on the internet).
I put the heat sinks back on and tightened the clips, put a length of wood over the heat sinks and put a decent weight on there. I use epoxy and glued the heat sinks closer to the board and left over night.

This fixed the issue with a hash card so I did the same on all of them.
I know the SP30 is a bigger machine but I'm sure the guts are the same just different PCB layout.

Find my P2POOL node at www.ukp2pool.uk:9332

Donations for operating node?
BTC  1CYevtGy3aqr1reuq7CFceNFAT7snsz3VM
macjax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 09, 2016, 12:07:59 AM
 #4

Go into the settings and disable loop 3. Also check your temps and make sure you are below 120 temp. I think that 125 is the limit to where its cuts off.
Have you updated the firmware to 2.7.1? I think that its the latest and available on the spondoolies Bitcointalk thread.
I have found for them to run continuous without stopping you need to bypass or disable bad loops, and up the fan speed and, or throttle back loops to keep them 100 to 115 temp.
 

Thanks man ! yes, I have the latest Firmware running. I just found the location to disable loops. Didn't know that was possible. There are 3 disable options per loop. Do I disable all 3 or ? Also, by disabling them, what gets affected ?

My temp is at 51c or 123f. Fan speed at 100. How can I get it to run cooler ? It's in a room where the air temp is about 60 degrees so it's not that hot...

Thank you !!
macjax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 09, 2016, 12:15:56 AM
 #5

When u re thermalled the chips did u clean the Asics up with isopropyl alcohol and scrape the hard shit from around the decoupling caps next to the Asics?
When I rebuilt my SP20's the first one I did had this issue.
I then re did the process but cut the glue from the PCB using a hacksaw blade so the heat sink went closer to the chip.
You unfortunately need to use a shit load of paste (ignore anything you read on the internet).
I put the heat sinks back on and tightened the clips, put a length of wood over the heat sinks and put a decent weight on there. I use epoxy and glued the heat sinks closer to the board and left over night.

This fixed the issue with a hash card so I did the same on all of them.
I know the SP30 is a bigger machine but I'm sure the guts are the same just different PCB layout.
[/quote]

Well, this miner was used in mineral oil so basically all the paste came right off with ease. I am eventually going to do the same thing and submerged it in mineral oil but I wanted to fully configure it and get it running 100 percent before I drop it in the oil. I would hate to have it in the oil and then have to pull it out to fix/change something. What a mess. It did use a crap load of paste. I honestly don't like the spring loaded heat sinks. I would prefer they were tight against the chips. I might consider gluing them. I'm not worried about the need to remove the heat sinks again. This will probably be the last run for these units as the difficulty will be to high in the next couple of months for these to make any money...

Thanks for your help !!
macjax
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!