Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 10:16:53 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multibit & Electrum  (Read 2519 times)
miztaziggy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 500


Decentralize $15-Trillion Global Trade Industry


View Profile
April 04, 2013, 05:10:43 PM
 #1

Since these wallets use a remote server to handle the block chain, what happens if you keep your bitcoin in one of their wallets and the remote server gets shut down?

Can you transfer the bitcoins to another wallet - say Qt - without having to send them over the network?

1539728213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539728213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539728213
Reply with quote  #2

1539728213
Report to moderator
1539728213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539728213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539728213
Reply with quote  #2

1539728213
Report to moderator
1539728213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539728213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539728213
Reply with quote  #2

1539728213
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539728213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539728213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539728213
Reply with quote  #2

1539728213
Report to moderator
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1083


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
April 04, 2013, 05:13:28 PM
 #2

Yes, you can. Your private key is actually on client-side, so you can export the keys to other clients like QT or even blockchain.info.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
April 04, 2013, 05:36:11 PM
 #3

MultiBit uses regular bitcoind machines to get it's block information from.
There isn't a central "multibit" server - it uses the Bitcoin network directly.

There is a multibit.org machine but that is just a webserver for downloading the installers, the multibit help and a config file to indicate when there are new versions available.


MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!