Bitcoin Forum
May 30, 2017, 05:49:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with more than 1 GPU on one Mainboard with different Hardware Models  (Read 1223 times)
Bloody Angel
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:32:45 PM
 #1

Hello @ all,


I have a question, I have a Radeon 6970 and a Radeon 6850. One from Sapphire and the other one from Powercolor. I know that Crossfire isn't possible, but would it be possible to mine on both in one PC with a Mainborad such as this ones here:

Asrock ALIVEXFIRE-ESATA2

or this one:

MSI 890FXA-GD70


What I know is that I need to have a monitor on booth plugged in, but is there anything else I need?

Thank you for your Help.



Bye Bloody


PS: I have a 750Watt power supply, will this be enough?

1496123347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496123347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496123347
Reply with quote  #2

1496123347
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1496123347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496123347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496123347
Reply with quote  #2

1496123347
Report to moderator
1496123347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496123347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496123347
Reply with quote  #2

1496123347
Report to moderator
1496123347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496123347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496123347
Reply with quote  #2

1496123347
Report to moderator
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:01:53 PM
 #2

i did not check out the asrock mainboard, but it will work with the msi (and all other mainboards, as long as you have more than one physical pci-e x16 (the long one) slot available). on the msi board you can actually put up to 4 of your mentioned cards! (yeah i know you can use extenders and put even more cards on there, but we are not talking about this Wink )

the psu will be enough for 2, maybe 3 cards!

and well, you need a cpu, ram and some other things like mouse and keyboard and maybe a case with some fans Wink
and instead of 2 monitors you could use 1 dummy plug or a kvm switch

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
Bloody Angel
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:40:34 PM
 #3

Thank you, for your answer.


What hardware do you adivse if I want to have two or morge PCI-E Cards in one PC? three would be nice but if there are only two slots this would be no problem!

What do the other forum members advise?


Thank you.

Bye Bloody

stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:45:09 PM
 #4

I have the MSI 890FXA-GD70 and it works as supposed to! But you can get cheaper ones, too

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 09:06:55 AM
 #5

Need to know the exact model of your psu. Wattage ratings can be very deceiving. There are some 700w models out there that can barely put out 600w. The Asrock is a good board but will require a different processor than the MSI so keep that in mind.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!