Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2024, 09:25:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Proof of Work VS. Proof of Stake (Bitcoin - PPCoin)  (Read 11312 times)
nameface (OP)

Activity: 406
Merit: 250

View Profile
April 06, 2013, 03:49:54 PM

I'm not too technical, but I know bitcoin has proof of work built in which is how mining works. Why doesn't bitcoin have proof of stake? Proof of stake seems necessary to ensures the security of a crypto network long term.

I'm reading about PPCoin which is the only coin with proof of stake built in. Ppl are saying this makes it the best alternative crypto-currency blah blah blah

If an alt coin that has proof of stake (currently only ppcoin) became popular, would bitcoin implement it?
fghj

Activity: 65
Merit: 10

View Profile
April 06, 2013, 03:59:05 PM

I heard that there is nothing at stake with these proof of stake chains.
Syke
Legendary

Activity: 3878
Merit: 1193

View Profile
April 06, 2013, 04:13:38 PM

If an alt coin that has proof of stake (currently only ppcoin) became popular, would bitcoin implement it?

No. Bitcoin is and always will be proof of work.

Buy & Hold
nameface (OP)

View Profile
April 06, 2013, 04:33:50 PM

lol, Actually the ppcoin started trading on BTC-E.com yesterday, and it has a bit of value. I don't think there are other proof of stake coins, I may have missed something..
I'm a bit of a speculator, I'm thinking ppcoin will blow up and demolish all of the other alt cryptos due to this proof of stake aspect.

No. Bitcoin is and always will be proof of work.

Isn't the beauty of bitcoin that it can be changed? How do you know exactly what the future will bring for bitcoin?
smoothie
Legendary

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1473

LEALANA Bitcoin Grim Reaper

View Profile
April 06, 2013, 04:34:12 PM

bitcoin > PEE PEE

███████████████████████████████████████

,╓p@@███████@╗╖,