Bitcoin Forum
September 17, 2021, 02:19:49 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First rig.  (Read 437 times)
Herbalconfusion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 02:28:52 AM
 #1

Few questions. Anyone mine NVC? I was wondering if anyone had some recommendations in terms of a cheap mining rig case. I have everything except the HDD // case/build platform.

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4100WMGUSBX

GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10

Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40°C, 80Plus Bronze Certified,Modular Cable Design,Active PFC

What is a safe platform to build my rig on? Thanks for any advice. I ultimately want to put 3 more 5,6,or 7XXX cards on this rig.
1631888389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631888389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631888389
Reply with quote  #2

1631888389
Report to moderator
1631888389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631888389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631888389
Reply with quote  #2

1631888389
Report to moderator
1631888389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631888389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631888389
Reply with quote  #2

1631888389
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1631888389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631888389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631888389
Reply with quote  #2

1631888389
Report to moderator
nightbladexx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 02:45:39 AM
 #2

Few questions. Anyone mine NVC? I was wondering if anyone had some recommendations in terms of a cheap mining rig case. I have everything except the HDD // case/build platform.

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4100WMGUSBX

GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10

Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40°C, 80Plus Bronze Certified,Modular Cable Design,Active PFC

What is a safe platform to build my rig on? Thanks for any advice. I ultimately want to put 3 more 5,6,or 7XXX cards on this rig.

Of course this is all my opinion:
Mobo: good
CPU: good
GPU: good but i prefer the MSI R7950 TF ed
RAM: Good but spend a few xtra bucks on the 2x4GB DDR3 1866s if nothing else but for resale value
PSU: buy a gold or platinum for the extra wattage you get, i personally love the new i series (AX760i /860 /1200) from Corsair the monitoring software saves me a lot of time when i am OCing plus they're highly rated PSU's and you get more REAL watts out of them, that Rosewill will only give you 850w usable under full load

manufacturers wattage ratings are like car manufacturers EPA gas mileage ratings, usually not that accurate especially under >85% load
MisterMelancholy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 02:55:57 AM
 #3

I'm going to run a rig with 2 7970s, and I'm going to run 1x4GB stick (the exact one you have actually).

Mining doesn't really need RAM. So long as the OS can operate on 4GB of RAM, 1 stick will be just fine.
nightbladexx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 03:08:44 AM
 #4

I'm going to run a rig with 2 7970s, and I'm going to run 1x4GB stick (the exact one you have actually).

Mining doesn't really need RAM. So long as the OS can operate on 4GB of RAM, 1 stick will be just fine.

LTC scripting does use RAM
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=163306
Herbalconfusion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 12:37:43 PM
 #5

I got the extra ram cause i am gonna mine NVC or LTC. These require more ram AFAIK. Bitcoin//sha-256 is much less ram intensive//not ram intensive as at all?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!