Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2019, 01:00:29 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How exactly does trust/default trust work  (Read 346 times)
Sweeet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 501

Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies.


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 04:27:29 AM
 #1

I understand some basics about how the trust system works, I read the original trust post by themos or one of the admins but I still don't really understand it. For someone to see a trust publicly is called default trust right? If this is right how does one get default trust and how long will your trust be seen publicly by others. Thanks for the help.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563238829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563238829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563238829
Reply with quote  #2

1563238829
Report to moderator
Lutpin
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1791


Goodbye, Z.


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 04:33:16 AM
 #2

For someone to see a trust publicly is called default trust right?
All trust feedbacks are public, so I guess you're talking about trusted and untrusted feedbacks and hence those that do and those that do not influence your rating.
"DefaultTrust" is an account maintained by the admins.
When we talk about DT, we mostly talk about the users in that accounts downlist (DT1), and the ones in the downlist of those users (DT2).
Feedbacks by those two groups are being shown as trusted (and hence influence ratings) on default/vanilla settings (clean trustlist besides DefaultTrust and depth set to 2).

You however can modify that settings as much as you like, build your own trust list and network with users you trust and with users whos feedbacks you want to see (aswell as exclude those you don't like showing up as trusted).


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████



             ▄████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
            ██                          ▄▄▄▄▄▄                           ██
           ██  ██████                ▄██████████▄     ████████████████████▀
          ██  ████████             ▄████▀   ▀████▄    ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
         ██  ████  ████           ████▀       ▀██▀    ████
        ██  ████    ████        ▄███▀                 ████

       ██  ████      ████       ███▀                  ████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
      ██  ████        ████      ███                   ██████████████
     ██  ████          ████     ███▄                  ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

    ██  ████████████████████    ▀████                 ████
   ██  ██████████████████████    ▀████▄        ▄██▄   ████

  ██  ████                ████     ▀████▄   ▄████▀    ████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
 ██  ████                  ████      ▀██████████▀     ████████████████████▄
  ██                                    ▀▀▀▀▀▀                           ██
   ▀█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
Sweeet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 501

Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies.


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 06:53:50 PM
 #3

For someone to see a trust publicly is called default trust right?
All trust feedbacks are public, so I guess you're talking about trusted and untrusted feedbacks and hence those that do and those that do not influence your rating.
"DefaultTrust" is an account maintained by the admins.
When we talk about DT, we mostly talk about the users in that accounts downlist (DT1), and the ones in the downlist of those users (DT2).
Feedbacks by those two groups are being shown as trusted (and hence influence ratings) on default/vanilla settings (clean trustlist besides DefaultTrust and depth set to 2).

You however can modify that settings as much as you like, build your own trust list and network with users you trust and with users whos feedbacks you want to see (aswell as exclude those you don't like showing up as trusted).
Thanks for this, this helps but how does one end up on the DT2 and can they be removed? Thanks.
minifrij
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1165


In Memory of Zepher


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 08:23:08 PM
 #4

Thanks for this, this helps but how does one end up on the DT2 and can they be removed? Thanks.
A user is put onto DT2 by a member of DT1 putting them onto their trust list.
If they need to be removed, the D1 member who put them on their trust list can simply remove it. Otherwise, if several other DT1 users exclude the DT2 user from their trust list (by using a ~ before their name) he will be removed from DT2. To be removed through the second way, 1 more DT1 member must distrust the user than trust them (E.G if they are trusted by 1 DT1 member, 2 must distrust them for them to be removed).

You can see the members who are on DT1 by looking at the members under the 'Depth 1' subheading on this page.
Sweeet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 501

Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies.


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 08:32:01 PM
 #5

Thanks for this, this helps but how does one end up on the DT2 and can they be removed? Thanks.
A user is put onto DT2 by a member of DT1 putting them onto their trust list.
If they need to be removed, the D1 member who put them on their trust list can simply remove it. Otherwise, if several other DT1 users exclude the DT2 user from their trust list (by using a ~ before their name) he will be removed from DT2. To be removed through the second way, 1 more DT1 member must distrust the user than trust them (E.G if they are trusted by 1 DT1 member, 2 must distrust them for them to be removed).

You can see the members who are on DT1 by looking at the members under the 'Depth 1' subheading on this page.
Ok thank you, I understand fully now.

Actually I have one more question, If a DT1 person is to give you a positive trust will that automatically add you to the DT2 list or do they need to do it manually, thanks and otherwise I understand now.
minifrij
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1165


In Memory of Zepher


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 08:38:29 PM
 #6

Actually I have one more question, If a DT1 person is to give you a positive trust will that automatically add you to the DT2 list or do they need to do it manually, thanks and otherwise I understand now.
It won't; the user must add you to their trust list manually. Trust lists and trust feedback aren't the same. Someone giving you positive trust won't automatically add you to their trust list and vice versa.
Sweeet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 501

Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies.


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2016, 08:40:35 PM
 #7

Actually I have one more question, If a DT1 person is to give you a positive trust will that automatically add you to the DT2 list or do they need to do it manually, thanks and otherwise I understand now.
It won't; the user must add you to their trust list manually. Trust lists and trust feedback aren't the same. Someone giving you positive trust won't automatically add you to their trust list and vice versa.
Alright thanks for the help again.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!