Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:38:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiGPU mining - constant crashes  (Read 2066 times)
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 09:16:10 PM
 #1

So i acquired today for testing & fun 2x6770s (same price as 5770).

Well, i dont' got the crossfire bridge, so they are running separately now, i do have 1 monitor connected to each card.

Problem is: IF i try to mine with both vid cards at the sametime it most often causes a crash.
Using via GUIminer i can start them running, but as soon as either one stops it's a crash again.

I've tried phoenix, guiminer and puddinpop's (which worked the worst).

Running win7 64bit. Not a dedicated mining rig, a workstation i decided to finally get some GPU power on as well Smiley

Thanks! Smiley

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
1480927089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927089
Reply with quote  #2

1480927089
Report to moderator
1480927089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927089
Reply with quote  #2

1480927089
Report to moderator
1480927089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927089
Reply with quote  #2

1480927089
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 10:54:47 AM
 #2

Two words:

Power supply

If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2011, 01:04:14 PM
 #3

Two words:

Power supply

Nope, offers plenty of power for 2x6770 Smiley (550W corsair)

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 01:12:11 PM
 #4

Two words:

Power supply

Nope, offers plenty of power for 2x6770 Smiley (550W corsair)


A 600W is recommended according to this chart http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/amd-radeon-hd-6000/hd-6770/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-6770-overview.aspx#3

If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2011, 01:17:37 PM
 #5


Depends upon the quality of the PSU. Weak 600W will be same as 300W quality.
Weak: All is counted as total. Corsair, Enermax atleast count ONLY 12V rail outputs to the marketed total.

2x6770 sucks about 220W, my CPU (even tho it's extreme series) prob around 130W, and rest prob 50W. and GPUs and rest don't enjoy even solely 12V.

In any case, they are now running stable on the *same* system, in crossfire. Kind of, still reports 2 adapters, yet i got crossfire enabled. Whatever, is not crashing anymore. (Not needed for gaming). Next week 2x5970 arrives anyway and got to upgrade PSU, hopefully some store will have 1kW enermax in stock Smiley


Oh and quality differs: 550W cheapo PSU was not able to power up a system which a really old Enermax 350W was happy to powerup Smiley I think that system required something like 450W and the really old, too small Enermax didn't have problems with that Cheesy

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
freeman725
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 02:18:29 PM
 #6


Depends upon the quality of the PSU. Weak 600W will be same as 300W quality.
Weak: All is counted as total. Corsair, Enermax atleast count ONLY 12V rail outputs to the marketed total.

2x6770 sucks about 220W, my CPU (even tho it's extreme series) prob around 130W, and rest prob 50W. and GPUs and rest don't enjoy even solely 12V.

In any case, they are now running stable on the *same* system, in crossfire. Kind of, still reports 2 adapters, yet i got crossfire enabled. Whatever, is not crashing anymore. (Not needed for gaming). Next week 2x5970 arrives anyway and got to upgrade PSU, hopefully some store will have 1kW enermax in stock Smiley


Oh and quality differs: 550W cheapo PSU was not able to power up a system which a really old Enermax 350W was happy to powerup Smiley I think that system required something like 450W and the really old, too small Enermax didn't have problems with that Cheesy

Running in crossfire will cut your hash rate by 15 to 30%. Run both cards independently and make sure you either have a second monitor, or a dummy plug ooked to the second card.
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2011, 02:28:02 PM
 #7


Depends upon the quality of the PSU. Weak 600W will be same as 300W quality.
Weak: All is counted as total. Corsair, Enermax atleast count ONLY 12V rail outputs to the marketed total.

2x6770 sucks about 220W, my CPU (even tho it's extreme series) prob around 130W, and rest prob 50W. and GPUs and rest don't enjoy even solely 12V.

In any case, they are now running stable on the *same* system, in crossfire. Kind of, still reports 2 adapters, yet i got crossfire enabled. Whatever, is not crashing anymore. (Not needed for gaming). Next week 2x5970 arrives anyway and got to upgrade PSU, hopefully some store will have 1kW enermax in stock Smiley


Oh and quality differs: 550W cheapo PSU was not able to power up a system which a really old Enermax 350W was happy to powerup Smiley I think that system required something like 450W and the really old, too small Enermax didn't have problems with that Cheesy

Running in crossfire will cut your hash rate by 15 to 30%. Run both cards independently and make sure you either have a second monitor, or a dummy plug ooked to the second card.

I'm actually doing the exactly same 180-185M max per card ~stock clock. (stock 850, running 860)
Currently aggression 4 and aggression 8 -> 78 and 180.
Shutting down youtube brought adapter 0 (main monitor) to 156 average (154-157 bouncing)

Still need to checkup a lot on overclocking ATIs, first ATI GPUs i've owned in.... Like 8+ years. I've been NVidia all the way until recently my last 8800Ultra burned.

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Keichtech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:48:29 AM
 #8

Are you over clocking your cards?
If you are and they are set to high I know it can cause a crash, happened to me.

Wallet # 13By599tiK1z2U3znaXoCtLYTJCfKcuoxd

If you found this post helpful or if you have any bitcoins that are lonely looking for a good home. I promise to treat them right and give them all the love and attention they need. Smiley
goozman96
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 03:01:11 AM
 #9

Just in case:
They've got sufficient cooling, right?

BTC: 19DKtsdGfQyFzNiEze9KuFQrWGiLDvg6F1 | LTC: LbV6UGyjYbVP49NvQFmuAnkADcaFYvNagK | NMC: NDCdMJmTmGH54Cezmo3CwSxAC7grAoZJbj
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 06:57:34 AM
 #10

Same thing happened with stock clocks, and cooling is sufficient.

Update: Since updating my system, adding crossfire bridge seemed to solve the constant crashes!
I can now freely stop & restart the mines, both GPUs work fine etc. no more crashes. So it seems the reason was you need to add the crossfire bridge oO;

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!