Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 03:43:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I figure out my Mh/s?  (Read 5456 times)
Kelissa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:34:08 AM
 #1

I just downloaded the stuff today, and am totally new to this.
I have an ATI HD 4670.
How many Mh/s would I get?
Every site I find has a WAYY different answer, from 18kh/s to 50mh/s.
Help?
Thanks

Also, guiminer wont open. Is that because all my blocks in my wallet haven't finished downloading?
1511451817
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451817

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451817
Reply with quote  #2

1511451817
Report to moderator
1511451817
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451817

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451817
Reply with quote  #2

1511451817
Report to moderator
1511451817
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451817

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451817
Reply with quote  #2

1511451817
Report to moderator
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511451817
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451817

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451817
Reply with quote  #2

1511451817
Report to moderator
1511451817
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451817

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451817
Reply with quote  #2

1511451817
Report to moderator
ltc_foundry
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:42:25 AM
 #2

4670 - not very many, will depend on your .conf; as for guiminer, could be a lot of things.

Sorry, I realize that isn't very helpful.
Kelissa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:44:07 AM
 #3

Well can I get an estimate?
Mangalica
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:46:25 AM
 #4

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

According to this, it will be in the 30-50 range. Hard to give a precise figure.
Kelissa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:47:40 AM
 #5

so 30,000 - 50,000 kh/s?
Mangalica
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:50:55 AM
 #6

Yes, for Bitcoin (and other SHA-256) mining anyway.
ltc_foundry
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:53:17 AM
 #7

From what im seeing count on seeing 30-40 mh.

Split the difference, count on getting 35 or so. YMMV.

FWIW, you'll need to mine for months to generate a single coin at 35 mh. At present difficulty and exchange rate, you're looking at 36 cents a day in fiat value (usd). TDP of a 4670 at load is 85 watts. At 15 cents a kwH your electricity costs will be ~30 cents a day. So you may be able to mine 5 cents worth of profit a day until the difficulty spikes again and then you'll likely be underwater.

TL;DR is ~barely~ worth mining with a 4670, unless you just want to play around with it. In which case you probably wouldnt care about your hashrate. Invest in a couple of caymans.
Kelissa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:54:56 AM
 #8

I was thinking more for LTC mining.
help me use this calculator:
http://give-me-ltc.com/calc
So under kh/s I'd put 35000, leave difficulty, change pool fee to 1%, then what?
ltc_foundry
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:56:45 AM
 #9

your not going to get 35 mh hashing LTC. litecoin doesnt use sha-256 it uses Scrypt. You'll get about 1/1000 the hashrate you would get on hashing sha-256. Count on 30-35 kh hashing LTC. not 35000.
ltc_foundry
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:57:24 AM
 #10

BTW, you're awfully fucking bossy.
Mangalica
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:59:56 AM
 #11

I was thinking more for LTC mining.
help me use this calculator:
http://give-me-ltc.com/calc
So under kh/s I'd put 35000, leave difficulty, change pool fee to 1%, then what?

LTC mining is different. It uses scrypt.
There is only a figure for a 4770 at 18kh/s.

https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison

Kelissa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 01:12:37 AM
 #12

Guess it's not worth it after all.
Thanks everyone.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!