Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 11:51:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Non-noob at mining; 5770 shown mining but isn't actually doing anything.  (Read 839 times)
DonH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 02:28:58 AM
 #1

I recently put in an old 5770 along with my GTX 660 since I was only getting about 68 Mh/s, the 5770 alone gets about 380 Mh/s.
With any miner I use, CG, Phoenix, GUIM, the 5770 is shown mining at its normal 380 Mh/s but no shares are ever accepted.

I've been scouring forums for the past days and found a few people who had the same problem but I never found an answer.
I spent about $160 for a new PSU just to run the second card, I could pay that off in just over a month if it could mine that whole time.

Any help at all is appreciated; links, personal experience, anything is great. Thanks!

-dH
1511524274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524274
Reply with quote  #2

1511524274
Report to moderator
1511524274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524274
Reply with quote  #2

1511524274
Report to moderator
1511524274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524274
Reply with quote  #2

1511524274
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511524274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524274
Reply with quote  #2

1511524274
Report to moderator
1511524274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524274
Reply with quote  #2

1511524274
Report to moderator
1511524274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524274
Reply with quote  #2

1511524274
Report to moderator
ljackstar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 02:38:24 AM
 #2

Do you have ALL of the drivers you need? I know my 5800 wasn't showing up until I downloaded the openCl drivers from the AMD website

Check out http://developer.amd.com/tools/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/

DonH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 03:01:50 AM
 #3

Do you have ALL of the drivers you need? I know my 5800 wasn't showing up until I downloaded the openCl drivers from the AMD website

Check out http://developer.amd.com/tools/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/

I'm quite sure I do. The driver I'm running is 12.100.17.0, I can't find it specifically but I believe I last installed the 2.1 SDK because it was mentioned that the new versions didn't work correctly
Zeamar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 09:12:09 AM
 #4

Are you using mining pool or solo mining? Solo is not profitable with graphics card.

If you use pool I don't know whats wrong. Normally if something in setup is wrong and you try mining with pool you get error message like "Couldn't connect to server" or something like that.
BitSmile
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 09:38:06 AM
 #5

It happened to me with that card also, I gave up.

DonH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 10:38:45 AM
 #6

Are you using mining pool or solo mining? Solo is not profitable with graphics card.

If you use pool I don't know whats wrong. Normally if something in setup is wrong and you try mining with pool you get error message like "Couldn't connect to server" or something like that.

Yeah, I've tried Mt. Red and TripleMining, both of which I've used before with my original card successfully
kxdan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:26:51 AM
 #7

ive got a 5770 running GUIminer , puts out around 165mh/s seems to work ok with me

Driver Packaging Version   8.85-110419a-118908C-ATI   
Catalyst Version   11.5   
Provider   ATI Technologies Inc.   
2D Driver Version   8.01.01.1152   
2D Driver File Path   /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0000   
Direct3D Version   7.14.10.0833   
OpenGL Version   6.14.10.10750   
Catalyst Control Center Version   2011.0104.2155.39304   
DonH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:44:07 AM
 #8

ive got a 5770 running GUIminer , puts out around 165mh/s seems to work ok with me

Driver Packaging Version   8.85-110419a-118908C-ATI   
Catalyst Version   11.5   
Provider   ATI Technologies Inc.   
2D Driver Version   8.01.01.1152   
2D Driver File Path   /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0000   
Direct3D Version   7.14.10.0833   
OpenGL Version   6.14.10.10750   
Catalyst Control Center Version   2011.0104.2155.39304   


I'll have to check all my versions against yours and see if it'll work with them later, thanks!
silentgaps
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 10:47:09 AM
 #9

Quote
I recently put in an old 5770 along with my GTX 660 since I was only getting about 68 Mh/s, the 5770 alone gets about 380 Mh/s.
With any miner I use, CG, Phoenix, GUIM, the 5770 is shown mining at its normal 380 Mh/s but no shares are ever accepted.

I am using 5770 also and it is working fine.

First.  I think there is no problem with the driver and the card, because it is showing a hash rate 380 Mh/s.

Second. What is the setting of your CGminer?

DonH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 06:24:22 PM
 #10

I am using 5770 also and it is working fine.

First.  I think there is no problem with the driver and the card, because it is showing a hash rate 380 Mh/s.

Second. What is the setting of your CGminer?

I'm using GUIMiner because I haven't figured out how to make CGminer to switch to my 5770

I just started up CGM, here's the log from it:
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] Started cgminer 2.11.4
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] ADL found less devices than opencl!
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
 [2013-04-20 14:14:47] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
 [2013-04-20 14:14:48] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-20 14:14:51] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/listenChannel
 [2013-04-20 14:14:51] Disabling extra threads due to dynamic mode.
 [2013-04-20 14:14:51] Tune dynamic intensity with --gpu-dyninterval
 [2013-04-20 14:14:54] Thread 1 being disabled
 [2013-04-20 14:14:56] Accepted 2eac6b26 Diff 5/1 GPU 0
 [2013-04-20 14:15:56] Accepted da7127d4 Diff 1/1 GPU 0

The 5770 is on platform 1, device 0

Edit: I've been able to get it mining with GUIMiner, but it will go for a little while, 30 shares or so, then it will stop mining.
Mowcore
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 10:47:56 AM
 #11

Had the exact same problem as the op, somehow I managed to install a sdk and it worked then i uninstalled to try another card (6870) and couldn't get the sdk i had working for it working again. I came across a post on these forums and someone had a sdk rar file of the "opencl.dll, amdocl.dll" files, 3 in total. I just copied and replaced the ones i had with the latest amd beta drivers (13.3) and it started accepting shares!!!
Search around for AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5.rar, as i said , I found the post on these forums, so best start looking here.

My problem now is getting it to work with my new 7970, im lost lol! My previous set up was a gtx470 oc and the hd 5770.

Humble Weekly Bundle.Pay What You Want. Redeem on Steam. Support charity. Pay with BTCitcoin now!--> Paypal Sad
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!