Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 11:25:18 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can i reuse AntMiner S7 ?  (Read 818 times)
osama_aloriny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2016, 12:39:06 PM
 #1

hello everybody i am new in bitcoin mining and i do not know how to start!!
and i need more information like what do really need to run  AntMiner S7 ? do i need power suppler? which one? what is the price?
also do i need other hardware? and how to install software?

and my main Question is if failed by using  AntMiner S7 can i reuse for other things like gaming or programming ...etc?or i through t in  the trash?


thanks in advance for everybody
1537701918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701918
Reply with quote  #2

1537701918
Report to moderator
1537701918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701918
Reply with quote  #2

1537701918
Report to moderator
1537701918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701918
Reply with quote  #2

1537701918
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537701918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701918
Reply with quote  #2

1537701918
Report to moderator
1537701918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537701918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537701918
Reply with quote  #2

1537701918
Report to moderator
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1198


http://www.mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2016, 12:47:36 PM
 #2

To answer your question:
Yes, you need a PSU... Here's a thread with PSU discussion: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1177795.0. Or you can buy a bitmain PSU just to be sure: https://www.amazon.com/AntMiner-APW3-12-1600-Supply-Bitcoin-Miners/dp/B013WW2YWE

No, the ASIC can ONLY be used for sha256 crypto currency mining.
Next to bitcoin, you could also use it to mine other coins from this list: http://www.coinwarz.com/miningprofitability/sha-256 (list is not complete). You cannot use an ASIC to do anything else. You can't even use your asic to mine non-sha256 coins (for example, a bitcoin ASIC can not be used to mine litecoin)

Your main question, however, should be: can you mine with profit??? This mostly depends on your electricity rate, but also on your custom rate, the shipping costs, the fact if you have coupons, wether or not you have a cooled room with strong shelves, wether or not your electrical wiring is OK to plug in miners, wether or not you have enough time and technical knowledge to run a miner, your luck,...

In 90% of the cases, bitcoin mining will NOT be profitable...

osama_aloriny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2016, 01:41:01 PM
 #3


To answer your question:
Yes, you need a PSU... Here's a thread with PSU discussion: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1177795.0. Or you can buy a bitmain PSU just to be sure: https://www.amazon.com/AntMiner-APW3-12-1600-Supply-Bitcoin-Miners/dp/B013WW2YWE

No, the ASIC can ONLY be used for sha256 crypto currency mining.
Next to bitcoin, you could also use it to mine other coins from this list: http://www.coinwarz.com/miningprofitability/sha-256 (list is not complete). You cannot use an ASIC to do anything else. You can't even use your asic to mine non-sha256 coins (for example, a bitcoin ASIC can not be used to mine litecoin)

Your main question, however, should be: can you mine with profit??? This mostly depends on your electricity rate, but also on your custom rate, the shipping costs, the fact if you have coupons, wether or not you have a cooled room with strong shelves, wether or not your electrical wiring is OK to plug in miners, wether or not you have enough time and technical knowledge to run a miner, your luck,...

In 90% of the cases, bitcoin mining will NOT be profitable...

About the electricity i have calculated the expense for Each month i spend 12$
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1198


http://www.mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2016, 01:50:08 PM
 #4


About the electricity i have calculated the expense for Each month i spend 12$

Are you absolutely sure?
paying 12$/month means you're paying about 1 cent / Kwu... That's really, really, really cheap...


I've entered 1 cent/Kwu into coinwarz and only entered the power usage of the miner, not the overhead (like cooling).

At 1 cent/Kwu, the power will cost you about $9.5/month... Include a bit of overhead here and there, and some basic lighting, cooling, maybe a raspberry pi, and you're paying $12/month (at very least, the cooling will probably cost you more).

http://www.coinwarz.com/calculators/bitcoin-mining-calculator/?h=4730.00&p=1293.00&pc=0.01&pf=1.00&d=286765766820.55000000&r=12.50000000&er=767.22000000&hc=400.00

I've "invented" a price of 400 USD for a second hand S7 + shipping + customs, and imagined you'd already have a PSU, shelves, cooling,...
In this imaginary situation, you'd break even in 140 days... IF the difficulty would stay the same, and the btc price would remain steady. Since the diff is still rising (AFAIK), and i can only assume you don't have a PSU, shelves,... it'll probably be (a lot) more...

osama_aloriny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2016, 02:26:25 PM
 #5


About the electricity i have calculated the expense for Each month i spend 12$

Are you absolutely sure?
paying 12$/month means you're paying about 1 cent / Kwu... That's really, really, really cheap...


I've entered 1 cent/Kwu into coinwarz and only entered the power usage of the miner, not the overhead (like cooling).

At 1 cent/Kwu, the power will cost you about $9.5/month... Include a bit of overhead here and there, and some basic lighting, cooling, maybe a raspberry pi, and you're paying $12/month (at very least, the cooling will probably cost you more).

http://www.coinwarz.com/calculators/bitcoin-mining-calculator/?h=4730.00&p=1293.00&pc=0.01&pf=1.00&d=286765766820.55000000&r=12.50000000&er=767.22000000&hc=400.00

I've "invented" a price of 400 USD for a second hand S7 + shipping + customs, and imagined you'd already have a PSU, shelves, cooling,...
In this imaginary situation, you'd break even in 140 days... IF the difficulty would stay the same, and the btc price would remain steady. Since the diff is still rising (AFAIK), and i can only assume you don't have a PSU, shelves,... it'll probably be (a lot) more...


Yes i am absolutely sure about the electricity pricing The cost is 0.01 USD / kwh I am live in Saudi Arabia


So is profitable or not ?
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 07, 2016, 02:32:13 PM
 #6

Yes i am absolutely sure about the electricity pricing The cost is 0.01 USD / kwh I am live in Saudi Arabia


So is profitable or not ?

Here is a calculator for you to figure out for yourself:  https://bitcoinwisdom.com/bitcoin/calculator

at $0.01 / kWh it will likely be profitable eventually, but how long that takes will depend on difficulty and exchange.  If I was in your situation I would be buying S7's personally.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
isoneguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 501



View Profile
December 30, 2016, 04:47:08 PM
 #7

Yes i am absolutely sure about the electricity pricing The cost is 0.01 USD / kwh I am live in Saudi Arabia


So is profitable or not ?

Here is a calculator for you to figure out for yourself:  https://bitcoinwisdom.com/bitcoin/calculator

at $0.01 / kWh it will likely be profitable eventually, but how long that takes will depend on difficulty and exchange.  If I was in your situation I would be buying S7's personally.

Yeah, 1 cent a kWh is almost free, I would buy as many s7's as my electrical wiring would allow...and then either upgrade the wiring to allow for more miners or upgrade the miners to be more efficient.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!