Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 06:31:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIMiner constant stalling?  (Read 2804 times)
LotLP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 09:47:00 PM
 #1

So, I'm using GUIMiner to mine, latest version afaik, and sometimes it notes something about stale/invalid shares, sure. But other times, it'll just stop mining alltogether and not do anything anymore. Obviously I don't want to have to check my PC 24/7 to make sure it's still mining and manually restarting it every time. Does anyone know what to do about this? How to make it restart manually anyway.

NANOMACHINES, SON.
1511418713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511418713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511418713
Reply with quote  #2

1511418713
Report to moderator
1511418713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511418713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511418713
Reply with quote  #2

1511418713
Report to moderator
1511418713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511418713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511418713
Reply with quote  #2

1511418713
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511418713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511418713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511418713
Reply with quote  #2

1511418713
Report to moderator
marketermac
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 09:55:54 PM
 #2

do you have something like MSI afterburner monitoring your GPUs?

the only time's I've had mine 'stop' are either when there is a problem with the pool I'm mining or 1 of the GPUs overheats and shuts down (then the program needs to be restarted to get it going again).


Install afterburner and watch your connection (in GUIminer) as well as temp levels and you should at least have a starting point troubleshooting this.
LotLP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 10:00:08 PM
 #3

I installed afterburner for monitoring my GPU before I even started minig. It NEVER goes over 62 celcius.

I only notice my miner stops mining is when I notice the GPU activity plummet from 99% to 1-2% in afterburner hardware monitor.

NANOMACHINES, SON.
martynw2000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 10:31:28 PM
 #4

Sounds similar to a problem I had with one of my graphics cards. For no apparent reason it would fail and then restart (I'm using windows 7, and I'd get a message pop up saying "your graphics card has recovered from a fault", or something like that). The graphics card would restart okay, but GUIminer would sit there doing nothing until I stopped and restarted the mining operation.

So I did a little digging into the event manager on Windows 7 and found that every time it did this it would generate a fault code in the "system" log. Event code 4101 I think it was.

Now.. Windows 7 allows you to assign tasks to specific events. So I simply wrote a batch file to stop and restart my GUIminer program whenever this event occurred. Problem solved. Here's the batch file I used.

Code:
@echo off
taskkill /f /t -im guiminer.exe
taskkill /f /t -im poclbm.exe
ping 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 30000 >nul
start C:\Users\admin\Desktop\guiminer\guiminer.exe
exit

I don't know what operating system you're using, but perhaps you can use a similar method to stop and restart your instance of GUIminer.
LotLP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:02:19 PM
 #5

I'm using win7 64 bits, but I don't have an error like that. I wish I could recreate it but it just randomly happens, no fault code, no popup. It seems to randomly stop mining when it hits an invalid share. I'll try to post more information if/when it happens again. Thanks for the help guys, I wish I could be more specific right now.

NANOMACHINES, SON.
martynw2000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:25:24 PM
 #6

Hmmm...

You might not get a popup on your screen, but that doesn't mean some kind of event wasn't logged in the event viewer. I would suggest keeping a manual log of the exact times it happens (if you can), and perhaps then you can narrow it down to something.
LotLP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 08:54:54 AM
 #7

At the bottom of GUIMiner, I noticed it say "job completed" or something similar, and then this -  EDIT - It says "warning, job finished" and some numbers.
http://i.imgur.com/8TIEcPQl.png

NANOMACHINES, SON.
martynw2000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 11:09:58 PM
 #8

Have you tried mining with a different pool (if only for an hour or so) just to see if you get the same problem? I had trouble with Deepbit when I was testing out different mining pools. It would do much the same as you described (i.e. just stopped for no apparent reason). Although I don't remember seeing any specific messages.

Other mining pools I've tried on the same computer with same setup worked flawlessly.
NetcodePool
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 11:26:30 PM
 #9

any temp issues?  could be throttling

netcodepool.org
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!