Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 08:28:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: So I mined 4.5 LTC via P2Pool....  (Read 1475 times)
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2013, 11:55:48 PM
 #1

And now I have to include a 0.60 LTC transaction fee to be able to send it?!
That's a huge fee that I didn't see coming. Is there any way I can send it without a fee?
I'd be much better off mining at a pool with 2-3% fee if there's no way to avoid that fee.
This sucks Sad

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
1511036890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036890
Reply with quote  #2

1511036890
Report to moderator
1511036890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036890
Reply with quote  #2

1511036890
Report to moderator
1511036890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036890
Reply with quote  #2

1511036890
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
chriswen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:58:44 PM
 #2

Try sending 4 ltc.
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 12:03:15 AM
 #3

Try sending 4 ltc.

Exact same problem

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
Ilikeham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:39:14 AM
 #4

Yeah the transactions are too high in LTC, I avoid sending whenever possible which I think is counterproductive to the point of coin.
rbbrdckybk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:45:24 AM
 #5

I don't have much experience with moving ltc around, but I thought that the fees were optional? Can't you set your own fee right in the litecoin wallet, or even elect to pay no fee at all? My understanding was that it would just take longer to process your transaction that way...

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BC1BgMbaHFWArSHxTCNjTTFCeWt2pD9LRU
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 12:53:17 AM
 #6

I don't have much experience with moving ltc around, but I thought that the fees were optional? Can't you set your own fee right in the litecoin wallet, or even elect to pay no fee at all? My understanding was that it would just take longer to process your transaction that way...

The optional fee is set to zero in the client. However, that 0,60 fee is a mandatory fee it seems. Can't send it without the fee. How does anyone expect Litecoin to succeed if those fees are so high?

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
bcdvojka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:13:29 AM
 #7

maybe such a fee is only applied to bigger transactions?
biggest i've done was from vicurex with 1% fee, im cashing from notroll.in without any fee at all

BTC: 1NTR87iw5kxLEUxE59Uy77JMbTPxPLSRoP    LTC: LRFKbStqMJMpoT8UDnXGm2Phbd59BGXGnK
PPC: PPCezbBz1H4mS4v3kjRyWA5Posazs3tr7g    BBQ: bbuf2gScvhRdyLVS1bu1pPThoYGVnvnL9T
jade087
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:15:11 AM
 #8

LTC transaction fees really are too high right now, the client assumes everyone's got 10,000 LTC+. I think they should be reduced from 0.1 LTC default to 0.01 LTC (or lower). Most clients actually ignore transactions < 0.0001 LTC (see mininput parameter).
rbbrdckybk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:20:45 AM
 #9

I don't have much experience with moving ltc around, but I thought that the fees were optional? Can't you set your own fee right in the litecoin wallet, or even elect to pay no fee at all? My understanding was that it would just take longer to process your transaction that way...

The optional fee is set to zero in the client. However, that 0,60 fee is a mandatory fee it seems. Can't send it without the fee. How does anyone expect Litecoin to succeed if those fees are so high?

Ah, thanks for clearing that up. Those fees do seem a bit ridiculous given the volume.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BC1BgMbaHFWArSHxTCNjTTFCeWt2pD9LRU
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 01:21:07 AM
 #10

LTC transaction fees really are too high right now, the client assumes everyone's got 10,000 LTC+. I think they should be reduced from 0.1 LTC default to 0.01 LTC (or lower). Most clients actually ignore transactions < 0.0001 LTC (see mininput parameter).

Yeah but mine is even at 0.60, not just 0.1. It's insane =/

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
chriswen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:23:11 AM
 #11

Yeah, maybe we need to start a petition to lower the fee now that market cap has increased.  Currently LTC tx cost is higher than BTC tx cost.
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:49:44 AM
 #12

Well, the downside of p2pool mining is that your payouts come frequent and small, so you're trying to send a transaction with a lot of dusty inputs to make up that amount.

That makes your transaction take up more space, and pushes your fee up.

-- Smoov
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 08:57:59 AM
 #13

Well, the downside of p2pool mining is that your payouts come frequent and small, so you're trying to send a transaction with a lot of dusty inputs to make up that amount.

That makes your transaction take up more space, and pushes your fee up.

-- Smoov


Hmmm that makes sense. But as far as I know, LTC transactions aren't even close to the blocksize limit, so sending it without fee should get it confirmed as well, even if it takes slightly longer. Hell, I'm a miner myself, so naturally I should be able to just include my transaction in a block, even tough there's no fee attached to it. Is there any way to do just that? Maybe via a raw tx? I never used that function before though, not even sure if that's possible with LTC, but I've heard of people using it with BTC.

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
TradeFortress
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:01:48 AM
 #14

Well, the downside of p2pool mining is that your payouts come frequent and small, so you're trying to send a transaction with a lot of dusty inputs to make up that amount.

That makes your transaction take up more space, and pushes your fee up.

-- Smoov


Hmmm that makes sense. But as far as I know, LTC transactions aren't even close to the blocksize limit, so sending it without fee should get it confirmed as well, even if it takes slightly longer. Hell, I'm a miner myself, so naturally I should be able to just include my transaction in a block, even tough there's no fee attached to it. Is there any way to do just that? Maybe via a raw tx? I never used that function before though, not even sure if that's possible with LTC, but I've heard of people using it with BTC.
Look into transaction fees.

Yes, you can send a TX without fees. Has to be high priority enough. Sending a TX without fees is not a good idea on bitcoin now, even if the client accepts it, btw.
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 09:13:13 AM
 #15

Well, the downside of p2pool mining is that your payouts come frequent and small, so you're trying to send a transaction with a lot of dusty inputs to make up that amount.

That makes your transaction take up more space, and pushes your fee up.

-- Smoov


Hmmm that makes sense. But as far as I know, LTC transactions aren't even close to the blocksize limit, so sending it without fee should get it confirmed as well, even if it takes slightly longer. Hell, I'm a miner myself, so naturally I should be able to just include my transaction in a block, even tough there's no fee attached to it. Is there any way to do just that? Maybe via a raw tx? I never used that function before though, not even sure if that's possible with LTC, but I've heard of people using it with BTC.
Look into transaction fees.

Yes, you can send a TX without fees. Has to be high priority enough. Sending a TX without fees is not a good idea on bitcoin now, even if the client accepts it, btw.

Yes I understand, but bitcoin's situation is a lot different with a lot of competition between TXs to get inside a block. With LTC it should be a lot less hard to get a low priority transaction in a block, and I don't really mind if it would take a while. But since I'm a miner myself, it shouldn't be impossible to include my own feeless transaction. I just have no idea how to do that.

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 09:23:34 PM
 #16

Anybody? Can this be send without a fee by creating a raw transaction? Can I include my own transaction in a block while mining?

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 773



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:30:43 PM
 #17

I'm pretty sure you can create a raw tx but I've never done it before.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
jade087
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 12:02:04 AM
 #18

The Litecoin devs are apparently working on updating the client to 0.8, and they'll reduce the default transaction fee as part of the release. So one option is to recompile the client yourself (this is what I'm planning to do soon), or you can use the Android client which uses 0.0005 LTC AFAIK, otherwise you can probably just wait for the upcoming 0.8 QT client.
ryhel
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 12:45:27 AM
 #19

I sent many times thousands of ltc (fresh from p2pool) this way:

500, 500, 250, 250, 250, 200, 200, 200, 200, 150, 150, ..., 100, 100, 50, 50, ... 10, 9, 8, 7, ... 0.5, 0.5, 0.25, end



As you see I usually started from 500 because when I tried 1k - client crash. When I got popup about fee, I lowered amount.
I noticed that popup with fee comes when amount = (1/10 + ~10%) value of wallet.

Cashout few k usually took me 0.5-1h

You can try this way without fee.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!