Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:53:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 50mhash for litecoin... How do people get this much? (Share experience)  (Read 1343 times)
howdoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:11:39 AM
 #1

Technically I know how this is possible, with a lot of GPUs and power but seriously... How can people get to that much Ghash on GPUs and not blow up the entire neighborhood with the power consumption - with only a couple system I can blow up fuses in my apt if I plug the vacuum, iron and start the ac at the same time!

Counting quickly, to reach that much hashes you could use 100 ATI 7970 ($400 x 100 = $40.000) just for the cards, then systems and power at 300kwh x 100 is over 30000kwh.

I am amazed at the dedication and possibilities, just can't imagine how people set these up.

Feel free to chime in or share your experience if you have one of those set ups - I'd love to know how you ended up building it.
1511556833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511556833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511556833
Reply with quote  #2

1511556833
Report to moderator
1511556833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511556833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511556833
Reply with quote  #2

1511556833
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511556833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511556833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511556833
Reply with quote  #2

1511556833
Report to moderator
marketermac
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:41:36 AM
 #2

Few things here:

If I'm buying 100+ cards, I'm not paying retail and the 300kwh per card is a bit high. I also get about 640k/h per 7970 @ stock settings, so it'd only take 80 cards to get to 50m/h

And I'm guessing that most of them either rent space or work somewhere that will let them use the electricity. I sincerely doubt that the people hashing at those rates have all that stuff inside where they live.


It would be cool to see some pics of the larger setups though. I've seen people ask but I've never seen anyone share..
hope2907
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:42:35 AM
 #3

100*.7 mhash/s =70mhash/s not giga hash

i know some guy in my country, they use over 170 7950 (now it can run near 700kh/s)
PinkBatman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 267



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:54:30 AM
 #4

How can people get to that much Ghash

They don't. The entire LTC network right now is estimated at 8.8GH/s.
howdoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:03:20 AM
 #5

100*.7 mhash/s =70mhash/s not giga hash

i know some guy in my country, they use over 170 7950 (now it can run near 700kh/s)

Mixed my hashes, corrected.
optikalsaint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2013, 01:49:49 AM
 #6

Here is a video of a guy that has a 25 machine rig. This is what I want Smiley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLt8Se3vVNg

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!