Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 04:04:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help ASAP. 7970 and catalyst troubles...  (Read 359 times)
Bleroy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 03:06:30 AM
 #1

So I set up my 7970 rig, first crossfire then back to just a single one because I don't have the psu for two. Okay. So I got one 7970 hooked up, working fine. Then, while playing with the settings in catalyst, pushed it too far and crashed the display drivers, leaving a blank screen. Coming from an nvidia card previously, and using precision x, I figured it had a safe mode while if it was crashing, it would revert to default settings. But no. Of course not. So I'm stuck every time I turn my pc on, to look at the desktop for a few seconds and it going black. I've uninstalled it, and reinstalled it, same thing. I've tried everything under the sun. Nothing works. Please help!!!! Thanks in advance. .
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511064243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511064243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511064243
Reply with quote  #2

1511064243
Report to moderator
1511064243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511064243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511064243
Reply with quote  #2

1511064243
Report to moderator
1511064243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511064243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511064243
Reply with quote  #2

1511064243
Report to moderator
demosthenez
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 05:30:06 PM
 #2

Assuming you are using win7 - have you tried rebooting into safe mode?
From there, you should be able to remove the AMD drivers, reboot and reinstall.
jerk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 05:31:32 PM
 #3

How many screens do you have? you might try unplugging all but one of them.
bitman442
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 06:43:17 PM
 #4

Assuming you are using win7 - have you tried rebooting into safe mode?
From there, you should be able to remove the AMD drivers, reboot and reinstall.

This. Also uninstall any third party overclocking software.
NetcodePool
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:07:54 PM
 #5

If all else fails you can try baking the card.  I have given new life to some gpu's that I thought were dead this way.

netcodepool.org
bitman442
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:19:54 PM
 #6

If all else fails you can try baking the card.  I have given new life to some gpu's that I thought were dead this way.

Let's just hope it's not a hardware issue, that card should shut itself down before it gets hot enough to fry. That oven trick does work however, it reflows some of the solder joints on the card but releases all kinds of nasty toxic fumes. Not something you want to do in the kitchen stove or anything you ever intend to make food in. I wouldn't do it in a house under any circumstances, IMHO.
Bleroy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:45:24 PM
 #7

I got it. I used the AMD Cleanup utility and fixed it. Now just to figure out optimal settings without killing it again...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!