Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 10:13:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: diagnosing connection problems  (Read 528 times)
wcrax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 11:26:26 AM
 #1

Hey everyone... Im new to the bitcoin scene and was wondering if someone could assist me in an issue I am having.  Im running a 7950 and am currently working with deepbit.  I am also using the GUIMiner software... for some reason I am getting very erratic MH/s values.  Its suppose to stay right around 500 but it randomly drops to 250 and recovers and repeats.  I am also seeing alot of "Connection problem" messages in the speed column.

As a test, I jumped over to triplemining for a little bit and it was rock solid for days.  Constantly around 500 and I never saw a connection issue.   

Is this my issue or something with deepbit and should look elsewhere?  Thanks for the help everyone!
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511604804
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511604804

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511604804
Reply with quote  #2

1511604804
Report to moderator
1511604804
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511604804

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511604804
Reply with quote  #2

1511604804
Report to moderator
wcrax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 18, 2013, 02:14:14 AM
 #2

Further testing shows that its only with deepbit.  It will time out or something with "Connection problems" and then I have to hit "Stop" and then "Start" and it works fine for a short while, then repeat. 

Thankfully I have a backup so im not wasting anything but I would like to keep it 50/50 between the two pools.  Any ideas or alternative miners I could use?  Am I the only one with issues connecting to deepbit on a consistent basis?
nintari
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 18, 2013, 07:49:58 PM
 #3

try using an older version of GUIMiner, I was having the same problems and switched to 2012-02-19 and so far so good.
Signus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 18, 2013, 08:07:30 PM
 #4

I suggest using anything other than GUIMiner. While it's a simple solution, it has its problems (like lower hashrates). I suggest using bfgminer or cgminer.
wcrax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 03:05:01 AM
 #5

Yeah the interesting part is that it works great with triplemining... no idea.

I"ll try BFGMiner thanks for the heads up... hopefully I Can run both still with that one. 
sikman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
April 19, 2013, 04:32:03 AM
 #6

Its the pool for sure. I was trying to mine PPC with coinotron and kept getting longpoll IO errors was lucky to mine for 10-15min at a time, I switched pool's using same prog & settings and never had an issue, I thought it was cgminer....

adara
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102


View Profile
June 10, 2013, 03:56:38 PM
 #7

Try changing pools.
Triplemining is a nontrusted pool. It not only has connection problems randomly but also seems to be keeping some blocks for himself according to the pool stats thread.
Try joining any other pool.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!