Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 03:52:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New to mining, need help with 7850 in CGMiner.  (Read 2514 times)
TheMysteriousQuail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:24:54 PM
 #1

Just started mining, and as I've read that CGMiner is the best around, I went with that. Problem is, though, is that it seems most people with my card are getting upwards of 300 Mh/s while I'm stuck at around 285. I'm not really sure where the issue lies. Could it be the intensity? I have it's set at 'dynamic' by default, so I left it at that, but could changing this make that much of a difference? I still want to be able to remote-desktop into my computer while I'm away to check up on the mining, so I don't want the GPU to be so locked up as to not be able to do that. Are there other settings in CGMiner I should use to get a better Mh/s out of my card? Thanks.
1511452372
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511452372

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511452372
Reply with quote  #2

1511452372
Report to moderator
1511452372
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511452372

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511452372
Reply with quote  #2

1511452372
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
stustu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 11:42:00 PM
 #2

Hi,

I've got a PowerColor 7850 PCS+ & get about 320-330Kh/s (only just started mining Litecoin's so I'm still playing around with the settings).  Took a few days to get to this rate without any HW figures being reported in cgminer.

My settings are: cgminer --scrypt --auto-gpu --temp-cutoff 70 --thread-concurrency 12800 -o stratum+tcp://coinotron.com:3334 -u 'user' -p 'pass' -I 14

GPU speeds/temp when mining (no overclocking done on my part):
GPU: 1000MHz
Mem clock: 1225MHz
GPU Temp: 66 degrees
GPU Fan: 53%

I'm starting to test upping the Intensity from 14 to see how this goes but it's running fine at the moment.
stryder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 11:54:20 AM
 #3

I also have 7850 and I have around 300Mhash/s. I increased the gpu clock to 1030Mhz. You can unlock overclocking settings in the Afterburner so you can increase the gpu clock even more:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbCT0hbo4As
Some people increased the gpu clock to 1150 and they are getting around 350Mhash/s
Memory clock is not important for BTC mining, so you can minimize it so the card will use less electricity
moodminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 08:10:26 PM
 #4

I have a 7850 and get 330MHash/s using the config file found at:
http://www.brandonorndorff.com/bitcoin/mining/radeon-hd7850-7870-cgminer-config-settings-bitcoin/

This being said it still runs at around only 58 degrees so there is room for improvement.  The biggest thing about this config file is that all overclocking is being controlled with it so you don't have to mess with overclocking using Catalyst.
pr0d1gy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 02:48:41 AM
 #5

Your mining Mh/sec in litecoins with a 7850?

Set Escrow
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
moodminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 05:12:45 PM
 #6

Your mining Mh/sec in litecoins with a 7850?

If your talking to me I was stating the MHash for Bitcoin Mining not litecoin.  From my understanding the question was for Bitcoin, if not then nevermind my comment above
pr0d1gy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 11:12:56 PM
 #7

Your mining Mh/sec in litecoins with a 7850?

If your talking to me I was stating the MHash for Bitcoin Mining not litecoin.  From my understanding the question was for Bitcoin, if not then nevermind my comment above

Yea im just new, and got a 7850 and had people telling me that me ming at 300khash/sec is low, when others get mhash/sec... But I guess now im learning thats the diff between btc and ltc mining. the algorithm is different... Cause getting mhash/sec for ltc would be awesome. lol. Just confusion between em both...

Set Escrow
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
aurefos
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 11:34:54 PM
 #8

Settings for my 7850, I spent few days to get those results ;-) I'm usually mining on Windows 8, on Ubuntu I have a receive a bit lower values even with newest drivers.

SHA256 (Bitcoin) - 330-340 MHash/s
Code:
cgminer.exe -o http://coinotron.com:9322 -u user -p password -I 8 -k diablo --gpu-memclock 1200 --gpu-engine 1125 --gpu-powertune -20

Scrypt (Litecoin) - 340-350 KHash/s
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://featherpool.com:9999 -u user -p password -I 13 --shaders 1024 --thread-concurrency 8192 --gpu-memclock 1300 --gpu-engine 1075 --gpu-powertune -20 -w 256 -v 1 -g 1

Oh, of course there is no guarantee that you'll be able overclock your card same as mine ;-)
On default clocks (910/1200) I have similar results to yours - 260-280MHash/s.
pr0d1gy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661



View Profile
May 03, 2013, 04:10:46 PM
 #9

Settings for my 7850, I spent few days to get those results ;-) I'm usually mining on Windows 8, on Ubuntu I have a receive a bit lower values even with newest drivers.

SHA256 (Bitcoin) - 330-340 MHash/s
Code:
cgminer.exe -o http://coinotron.com:9322 -u user -p password -I 8 -k diablo --gpu-memclock 1200 --gpu-engine 1125 --gpu-powertune -20

Scrypt (Litecoin) - 340-350 KHash/s
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://featherpool.com:9999 -u user -p password -I 13 --shaders 1024 --thread-concurrency 8192 --gpu-memclock 1300 --gpu-engine 1075 --gpu-powertune -20 -w 256 -v 1 -g 1

Oh, of course there is no guarantee that you'll be able overclock your card same as mine ;-)
On default clocks (910/1200) I have similar results to yours - 260-280MHash/s.

Great stuff! Ill have to check it out, thanks for posting.

Set Escrow
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!