Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 01:33:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer with nvidia  (Read 2009 times)
Racer8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 08:11:30 PM
 #1

Can't really seem to find the answer to this in any other topics - when using cgminer with nvidia cards do you need to install the AMD SDK and drivers?
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529372008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529372008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529372008
Reply with quote  #2

1529372008
Report to moderator
1529372008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529372008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529372008
Reply with quote  #2

1529372008
Report to moderator
1529372008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529372008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529372008
Reply with quote  #2

1529372008
Report to moderator
pmin00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:11:30 PM
 #2


edited
cancrena
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 09:08:55 AM
 #3

also, with nvidia cards cudaminer is recommended Smiley
Racer8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 12:22:36 PM
 #4

Thanks Patrick and cancrena.

Yes - realised I should have left a contact address on your website!

I'm solo mining in windows 32 with a NVIDIA NVS 4200M.  I have installed Cuda 5.0 and the latest NVIDIA graphics drivers.  This is the cgminer --ndevs output:

 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (938.2)
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 1 vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 1 name: NVIDIA CUDA
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 1 version: OpenCL 1.1 CUDA 4.2.1
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] Platform 1 devices: 1
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10]  0       NVS 4200M
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] Unable to load ati adl library
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] 1 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] No known USB devices

Seems to suggest cgminer can see the card?

I've tried not to overload the card to get it going so the cgminer bat file is:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 30
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer -o http://127.0.0.1:9332 -u xxxx -p yyyy --scrypt --intensity -5 --shaders 50 --thread-concurrency 1 --gpu-threads 1
Racer8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 10:08:32 AM
 #5

Yes I had started the LTC daemon.

I have taken cancrena's advice and installed cudaminer which worked right out of the box! 

Thanks for your assistance on cgminer.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!