Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 03:20:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer with nvidia  (Read 1980 times)
Racer8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 08:11:30 PM
 #1

Can't really seem to find the answer to this in any other topics - when using cgminer with nvidia cards do you need to install the AMD SDK and drivers?
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511536806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511536806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511536806
Reply with quote  #2

1511536806
Report to moderator
pmin00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:11:30 PM
 #2


edited
cancrena
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 09:08:55 AM
 #3

also, with nvidia cards cudaminer is recommended Smiley
Racer8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 12:22:36 PM
 #4

Thanks Patrick and cancrena.

Yes - realised I should have left a contact address on your website!

I'm solo mining in windows 32 with a NVIDIA NVS 4200M.  I have installed Cuda 5.0 and the latest NVIDIA graphics drivers.  This is the cgminer --ndevs output:

 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (938.2)
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 1 vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 1 name: NVIDIA CUDA
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] CL Platform 1 version: OpenCL 1.1 CUDA 4.2.1
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] Platform 1 devices: 1
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10]  0       NVS 4200M
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] Unable to load ati adl library
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] 1 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices
 [2013-04-10 13:17:10] No known USB devices

Seems to suggest cgminer can see the card?

I've tried not to overload the card to get it going so the cgminer bat file is:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 30
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer -o http://127.0.0.1:9332 -u xxxx -p yyyy --scrypt --intensity -5 --shaders 50 --thread-concurrency 1 --gpu-threads 1
Racer8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 10:08:32 AM
 #5

Yes I had started the LTC daemon.

I have taken cancrena's advice and installed cudaminer which worked right out of the box! 

Thanks for your assistance on cgminer.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!