Bitcoin Forum
December 19, 2018, 08:40:03 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Quick Question: IP issues  (Read 388 times)
dballing
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 15, 2016, 04:27:21 PM
 #1

Quick question for the community. I have 40 ASICS I'm wiring up as we speak. I'm searching ISP options. I'm using a TP link 48 port switch.

My question: Can a standard residential ISP be used for this? They say I can have up to 13 IPs (pay extra), but when I go to hipster coffee shops I see 30+ people all on the same wifi. I know all the connected devices are sharing one IP address.

So second question: Can the miners all go through one IP or do I need an individual IP for each miner connected to the 48 port switch?

There are commercial ISP plans available, but they are rather expensive.

I would like to be sure on this before I agree to a yearly contract.

Feedback appreciated, thanks peeps!
1545208803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545208803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545208803
Reply with quote  #2

1545208803
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
December 15, 2016, 04:38:48 PM
 #2

Quick question for the community. I have 40 ASICS I'm wiring up as we speak. I'm searching ISP options. I'm using a TP link 48 port switch.

My question: Can a standard residential ISP be used for this? They say I can have up to 13 IPs (pay extra), but when I go to hipster coffee shops I see 30+ people all on the same wifi. I know all the connected devices are sharing one IP address.

So second question: Can the miners all go through one IP or do I need an individual IP for each miner connected to the 48 port switch?

There are commercial ISP plans available, but they are rather expensive.

I would like to be sure on this before I agree to a yearly contract.

Feedback appreciated, thanks peeps!

You need to understand how DHCP works. Your router can feed dozens of DHCP addresses 192.168.1.? to your miners. You don't need a multitude of public-facing IP addresses. One will suffice.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
dballing
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 15, 2016, 04:44:42 PM
 #3

That's all I needed thanks!

 
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
December 15, 2016, 04:48:50 PM
 #4

That's all I needed thanks!

 

You talk about a switch, but you don't mention a router. You need a router to accomplish what you want unless the switch has DHCP capabilities.

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
dballing
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 16, 2016, 05:27:42 AM
 #5

This is the switch I purchased: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003CFATU6/ref=ox_sc_act_title_10?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

I was thinking I would connect the machines to the switch and be good to go. Can you suggest a router to go along with this setup?

Keep in mind the switch will connect to the modem which has a built in router.

Do you think that's good enough?

I would love to hear your opinion.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1024


View Profile
December 16, 2016, 10:19:06 AM
 #6

You probably want to use a firewall appliance to feed that switch from your internet connection, NOT just a router.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0XK-001V-00030&cm_re=netgear_firewall-_-0XK-001V-00030-_-Product

Is the option I use now - it replaced an old K6-based LINUX machine (which I still have as a backup).

 This unit is both a firewall *AND* an 8-port switch in one box with some management options I mostly don't need.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!