Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 07:05:45 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Z170 chipset can't detect 6GPU????  (Read 2070 times)
TheRider
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 18, 2016, 10:30:45 PM
 #21

Yes sir, and the same result, I don't know what more I can try...

Try disabling any device you're not using. Sound, LAN, etc... maybe those'll free up resources.
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537729545
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537729545

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537729545
Reply with quote  #2

1537729545
Report to moderator
1537729545
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537729545

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537729545
Reply with quote  #2

1537729545
Report to moderator
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1022


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 12:12:27 AM
 #22

Main issue with the Z170 chipset is that it is almost totally reliant on the CPU to provide PCI-E lanes - some older chipsets + optimal CPU could provide up to 40 lanes, Z170 seems to be limited to about 28 at MOST with any CPU it works with.

 They're just not intended to run more than about 4 video cards, and have to some convoluted stuff to be able to do so.

 Onboard sound and LAN do not normally use a PCI-E lane.
 Some M.2 SSDs do use a PCI-E lane.




I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Joelite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 12:48:32 AM
 #23

Main issue with the Z170 chipset is that it is almost totally reliant on the CPU to provide PCI-E lanes - some older chipsets + optimal CPU could provide up to 40 lanes, Z170 seems to be limited to about 28 at MOST with any CPU it works with.

 They're just not intended to run more than about 4 video cards, and have to some convoluted stuff to be able to do so.

 Onboard sound and LAN do not normally use a PCI-E lane.
 Some M.2 SSDs do use a PCI-E lane.





Brilliant explanation. But the question is... could, this M.2, SATA slots or anothers I never going to  use, be disabled with the objetive to release some lanes you talking about?

Yes sir, and the same result, I don't know what more I can try...

Try disabling any device you're not using. Sound, LAN, etc... maybe those'll free up resources.

I did with the sound and it didn't work. LAN it's not necessary for the mining software?

Yes sir, and the same result, I don't know what more I can try...

Try updating your BIOS, if doesn't work its probably a problem with your board

I had it updated!

Thanks for the help guys
digitalgrow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 706
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 24, 2016, 12:38:48 AM
 #24

just a heads up for everyone
ive flashed 10 gigabyte GA-Z170-Gaming K3 to latest bios F20
9 out 10 work flawlessly with 6 cards, problematic rig needs taking apart and resetting
been stable for 2-3 days now
for anyone with the following board

ASROCK Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
using BIOS 2.8
can run 5 cards by doing the following in the bios
go to advanced mode
and chipset settings
Change PCIE to gen1 on both options
change max TOLUD which is the next option down from the above to 2.5GB

this makes 5 cards work
I have not got round to flashing the bios yet to reassess if can do 6 cards

sp_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050

Ccminer developer


View Profile
January 08, 2017, 04:20:51 PM
 #25

I finally managed to run 5 cards on the MSI Z170-A PRO.

1. Use an old ide drive.
2. Enable internal graphics in the bios, but use the screen on the pci-e.
3. Set  1 gen pci-e slot in the bios.
4. windows 10.

The internal graphics will fail with code 12, but the 5 other cards will work. If your harddrive is too new, the machine will not boot.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!