Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:51:08 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Verification Fail, Check Hardward. Need Help!! Ill Tip for solution.  (Read 2682 times)
CoolHand144
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 10:30:32 AM
 #1

Its giving me this message when I try and mine with 2 different cards.  It recognizes them both and works for a while.  But the second card fails even if i under-clock it.  The first GPU works the whole time no problem.  I have NOT modified the Bios of the cards.  When i disable Crossfire GUI miner cant find the second card.
Im running:
Windows XP
750 Watt PWS
2 x 5830 with crossfire enabled (i have 2 monitors if i need to hook them both up. 
         Both GPUs have been tested and work
GUI miner.
Drivers are all up to date.   Im at a loss.  Other posts on similar topics havent been what i needed. 
Thanks!!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481291468
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291468

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291468
Reply with quote  #2

1481291468
Report to moderator
1481291468
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291468

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291468
Reply with quote  #2

1481291468
Report to moderator
1481291468
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291468

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291468
Reply with quote  #2

1481291468
Report to moderator
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:25:10 PM
 #2

probably floating error within 2nd GPU. and/or partial failure of GPU itself.
note: not always GPU fail plain and open in smoke and explosions. frequently its pretend to work, but do it with [various]errors.
RMA it or leave for extra/stress-test/diagnostic in GPU vendor service lab.
CoolHand144
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:07:54 PM
 #3

Well i mined with it for about a day and a half and then i got another card.  My MoBo wasnt Crossfire compatible (only had SLI).   i have run the stress tests as well. The card would have to be DOA cuz its less than a week old. 

Also, Whats a floating error?


tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:38:07 PM
 #4

google furmark and run it on both your cards and watch the screens to see if you see any artifacts (could be dots lines or hard lock that kind of thing) and watch your temps  if they get over 80c you could have a overheating isus

aslo have both cards hoked up to monitors and not in crossfier when you do this  and if after 1 hour they both look good that would rule out the cards ad being bad and then we can go form their
CoolHand144
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:53:54 PM
 #5

The only time it has a problem is when it finds a block.  Thats when it says verification fail.  I have run testing like this on both cards and they both work.

tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:02:59 PM
 #6

ok well turn off crossfire and hook up your 2nd monitor to that card try that and see if that works. also try mining whit just 1 card and see if that works. also are you ocing you cpu? and try taking all your ram out but 1 stick and see if that helps. if not run driver cleaner and then restart you pc and install the newest amd drivers, after that idk what to try. you have 1 worker for each card right?
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:05:52 PM
 #7

also try swoping cards around like put card 1 in slot 2 and card 2 in slot 1 and see if the same card craps out you could have a bad pcie slot
CoolHand144
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:06:16 PM
 #8

I am still mining with only one card.  I have mined with both cards individualy and they both worked for over a day each.  I am not overclocking the CPU.  Ill try and and reinstall the Drivers and see where that takes me.  I wish it just worked... 
Also, Yes i have a worker for each GPU. 

Sebz4n
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:24:15 AM
 #9

Please tell us if you find a solution
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 03:21:39 AM
 #10

what pool are you mining in? have you tried changing just to see? if its not the gpus or the drivers or your miner its ether the psu might be drooping you 12v rail down casuign it to fail you mb just not liking the 2 cards have you tried installing just the drivers and leaving ccc no installed? have you tried the newest chip set drivers for your mb? what psu and what mb do you have?
Sebz4n
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:12:10 PM
 #11

I am mining at Slush's pool, but I've been mining for two-three months before that, without having this error.

It's not related to the pool
typhon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 02:52:17 PM
 #12

I had this exact error (poclbm + deepbit) when overclocking my 3x 5830s yesterday (985/325).  I would run for a while (no consistent time frame), then one of my cards would throw the "Verification Fail, Check Hardware" and go the command line (linux, ubuntu 10.04 LTS).  I rebooted and ran it again.  This time; a different card threw the error and stopped.  I have to think that there's a power issue related to my overclocking (750W PSU).  I have since tuned my cards back down to manageable 900/300, and I haven't seen an error since.  So if there's another problem; I would love to hear it because I was getting 300MH+ with the higher GPU clocking. Sad
Sebz4n
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 06:04:10 PM
 #13

I have a batch which restarts your miner every 10 minutes here, if you wanna have a look.
Consistent extra 300MHash/s is better than maybe 2 minutes of idle time (if any at all)
aim6i
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 03:00:38 PM
 #14

Ok guys, here is help! Yesterday I was setting up my rig with several 5830 under windows XP and hat the exact same error: "Verification failed, check hardware!" Wenn I had just one card plugged in, everything was working perfectly fine.

It has something to do with the Kernel32.dll which is a library in windows. My problem was, that I had a fresh Version of Windows XP SP1 running without any updates. So all I had to do was updating to SP3 and now it works just fine with all cards running simultaniously. (updating to SP3 should be enough, however I installed all other updates too, just to be safe).

I hope this helps you solving this problem.

“I hate predictions. They never turn out when I make them.” Words of wisdom by Keith Richards
1EUtP8NHwAoa51dg7kQUkucHk2GJ1FFmvH
NANO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:48:26 PM
 #15

I have very similar trouble here... http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21687.0

Will check if updates for xp (tried before with win7 and the same problem) are up to date now.
CoolHand144
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:38:59 PM
 #16

Thanks for all the help.  i just got back from 2 Weeks out of the country so i am going to try these new posts and see if i cant get everything working.  Ill keep posting to update and help out anyone else with a similar issue.

CoolHand144
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 04:57:22 PM
 #17

So none of the disabling crossfire options are working because i cant see the second card in my miner when i do that.  am i missing some option in the miner that will allow me to see the second card when Crossfire is turned off? i Have a second monitor plugged into it and everything.  anything else i need to do?

bcforum
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 03:40:14 PM
 #18


My 4870x2 reported the same error on the second GPU whenever both were running. I could run them individually without any errors.Underclocking either/both didn't help. Tried various ATI drivers and SDKs without fixing the problem.

Finally I followed:

http://foreverrising.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/bitcoin-mining-and-ubuntu-10-10-ati-radeon-5xxx/

And both of them run without any errors. I think there is a windows bug that is causing your problem. I suggest you try Linux out.

If you found this post useful, feel free to share the wealth: 1E35gTBmJzPNJ3v72DX4wu4YtvHTWqNRbM
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 03:49:28 PM
 #19

you may get this if your PSU is not good enough to supply the requiered power for both cards

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
d3c0n808
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113

Not Goxed


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 05:47:35 PM
 #20

So none of the disabling crossfire options are working because i cant see the second card in my miner when i do that.  am i missing some option in the miner that will allow me to see the second card when Crossfire is turned off? i Have a second monitor plugged into it and everything.  anything else i need to do?

I had this problem using poclbm on one of my 5850s, would run for a while and then crash, and then i'd reboot the whole machine.  This got old really quick and I searched for a way to get past these errors. sure a script could be written to solve it sure.  But I switched to Phoenix 1.50 and using the phatk kernels the problem has gone away, the error handling in phoenix seemed better than poclbm. Where as a verification failed halted the miner, phoenix will automatically reissue new work and keep mining away so even if I get ahardware verification failed which in phoenix is something like opencl internel error or something of that nature.  Try using phoenix and see if that doesn't solve your problems of constantly having to restart the card.  I was also running 3 cards in once case  when this started to occur.


60 GH/s BFL Single SC - Pre-Order Yours Today!
`````` Only $1299.99 - butterflylabs.com ``````
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!