Bitcoin Forum
January 20, 2019, 02:34:23 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: hardware requirement for mining  (Read 703 times)
Jengpot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 04, 2017, 12:57:05 PM
 #1

Is mining synonymous to bot? What's the hardware requirement for mining both for desktop and smartphone?
1547994863
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547994863

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547994863
Reply with quote  #2

1547994863
Report to moderator
1547994863
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547994863

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547994863
Reply with quote  #2

1547994863
Report to moderator
1547994863
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547994863

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547994863
Reply with quote  #2

1547994863
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547994863
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547994863

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547994863
Reply with quote  #2

1547994863
Report to moderator
1547994863
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547994863

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547994863
Reply with quote  #2

1547994863
Report to moderator
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1109



View Profile
January 04, 2017, 01:17:33 PM
 #2

Cant mine Bitcoins with a desktop and especially a smartphone.

You can only mine alt currencies with computers by GPUs.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
rehe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 09, 2017, 06:59:12 PM
 #3

For 6 GPUs You need special motherboard with 6 PCIe slots (like ASRock H81 Pro BTC), Celeron dual core processor G1840, 4GB RAM, used hard disc 100GB with Windows or Linux installed, single or double power supply min. 1000W. You need 1-6 GPUs (Radeon R9 series or RX series)... There is lot of electrical power (about 1200W for 6 GPUs) needed and heat produced.
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1046



View Profile
January 10, 2017, 12:30:51 AM
 #4

For 6 GPUs You need special motherboard with 6 PCIe slots (like ASRock H81 Pro BTC), Celeron dual core processor G1840, 4GB RAM, used hard disc 100GB with Windows or Linux installed, single or double power supply min. 1000W. You need 1-6 GPUs (Radeon R9 series or RX series)... There is lot of electrical power (about 1200W for 6 GPUs) needed and heat produced.
Yep, too bad that such a big setup won't even compare to a 50-dollar Antminer S3. With Ether or XMR that'd do just fine, but computers nowadays are far worse than ASICs in SHA256 and X11-16. You don't need a hard disc at all as you can boot off of a usb- not difficult and shaves off a few dollars at the minimum. Linux is better for miners generally but it's up to you.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 10, 2017, 03:39:06 AM
 #5

For 6 GPUs You need special motherboard with 6 PCIe slots (like ASRock H81 Pro BTC), Celeron dual core processor G1840, 4GB RAM, used hard disc 100GB with Windows or Linux installed, single or double power supply min. 1000W. You need 1-6 GPUs (Radeon R9 series or RX series)... There is lot of electrical power (about 1200W for 6 GPUs) needed and heat produced.

Or do what I do...I scrape PC's in my neighborhood & use the good parts to build my mining rigs-mobo's/cpu's,ram,hdd's.

All I buy are PSU's & video cards  Wink

I build PC's with mobo's that have at least 1 PCIE 16x & 1 or more PCIE 1x,usually running only 2 video cards per machine.Keeps the cost of PSU's down,I can use smaller one's that are cheaper  Cool

Oh,you don't really need a case  Grin

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1024


View Profile
January 10, 2017, 10:14:40 AM
 #6

If you want to even break even on mining Bitcoin under current conditions, you need a recent design ASIC device - it hasn't been mineable for a profit with CPUs or GPUs for YEARS.

 Antminer S9, Avalon 721 are the current best options with a few more that are "in the works" or in early days of sales.

 If your electric is cheap enough, you might be able to get by with the Anminer S7 or Avalon 6 and still be able to make enough to pay them off before they become unprofitable.


 There are also quite a few "altcoins", some of which are quite profitable (for now at least) to mine with GPU-based rigs and a very few of which might be mineable with CPUs.


 Forget mining on a smartphone. Too much electric usage for almost NO coins mined, and they're not DESIGNED to be pushing the CPU that hard for any significant length of time.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!