Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:15:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD A6 3400M Mining.  (Read 3006 times)
yyrkoon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 01:29:01 AM
 #1

Just something I thought was interesting in relation to this post ( I can not seem to post there yet ) -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=26145.60

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/--c8SVI3WFHk/UWdEgybLKfI/AAAAAAAAAKI/vRkhLd8h0ho/s1152/GUIMiner.jpg

I am mining two workers on the same GPU. Apparently there are two different types of hardware, other than the CPU on this APU. One is [0.0] Beaver creek. The other is [0.1] Turks. Typically when not using my desktop I get between 100-104.9 MH/s. Supposedly this APU has "dedicated graphics", in that the GPU part of the APU has a dedicated 1GB( GPUZ shows only 512MB) of memory. Something like a daughter card usable only by the on CPU graphics . . .

Anyhow when I run with the flag -f 0, I *can* get up to ~114.9MH/s, but the screen lags something horrible, and it just seems that accepted shares slows down considerably. Yeah I do not know what that is about, but if fact, I would have to say because of over stressing the GPU. You can see in the screenshot the APU does run pretty hot, but not hot enough to bother me.

Flags:

[0.0] -v -f 80 -w64 all processors set to affinity
[0.1] -v -f 60 -w64 all processors set to affinity.

Increasing the working set seems to have a detrimental effect, if anything. e.g. -w128, removing the vectors flag decreases performance by around 10% If I add another worker to either of the on APU devices, I can get an additional 4-5MH/s per, but heat does go up, and in fact the fan pretty much stays on high all the time. It seems I can only add two workers per device. Overclocking the CPU has little to no effect.

Anyway, if anyone would be so kind to quote or link this post to the post listed above I would be grateful.

EDIT:

Obviously the Image is edited. This has been edited only for sanitizing reasons only. e.g. do you really need to know my computer name, username, and user information for my workers . . . ?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508728549
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508728549

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508728549
Reply with quote  #2

1508728549
Report to moderator
yyrkoon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 01:45:14 AM
 #2

Ah, forgot to mention that I am using openCL Miner for the miner setting of each worker.
belcat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 03:40:36 AM
 #3

-f X controls the framerate.  From what I understand the miner will attempt to free enough brains on the video card to maintain the framerate at X, so -F 0 essentially means forget about it, just drive it as hard as you can.
I've read that if the GPU overheats, some of the math it does is just plain wrong, so what it thinks is a success is actually totally wrong, and it will not be accepted.
cgminer has as a default that 75C as being the target temperature, 80C being a throttle temperature, and 85C being a "shutdown", so I'd try to keep it under 80C so things work good...
What I've read so far on -w is that results vary, try it and see...
logdog16
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile WWW
April 12, 2013, 04:25:07 AM
 #4

Are you even making money with the power the machine uses?
grobbes
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 04:32:15 AM
 #5

Are you even making money with the power the machine uses?

Would wonder as well. Thought the APU's would have lower power draw but just found out that isn't true...
yyrkoon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 06:56:18 AM
 #6

Are you even making money with the power the machine uses?

Would wonder as well. Thought the APU's would have lower power draw but just found out that isn't true...

You're kidding me right ? A laptop . . . peaks at 40W full CPU load . . . including monitor.

Either way, it is moot. We're 100% offgrid, e.g. Solar and wind power.
yyrkoon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 07:02:03 AM
 #7

Also, for what it is worth. This machine can be underclocked down to around 400Mhz-533Mhz. Since the processor has no to little bearing on the Hash rate ( yes I have tested, but not underclocked yet ), it would be truly interesting to see what I could get away with power wise.

But again, we're 100% offgrid so it is moot . . . I did notice however that these APUS are selling on ebay used for ~$30 US, and sometimes less. 
belcat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 12:50:58 AM
 #8

My mini laptop uses an AMD E-350 1.6 GHz processor, APU (CPU + GPU) integrated is a ATI Radeon 6310.  The whole rig uses maybe 20 watts, and does 11 Mhash/s, give or take.  That's almost 2 watts for every Mhash. 
My desktop has two ATI Radeon 5850's that do 600 Mhash, and it consumes 600 watts (nice heating here, it's about 0C outside), that's about 1:1 for watts:mhash.
So clearly in this case the regular cards win for efficiency.  Maybe there's an APU that does better, I don't know.
metal_jacke1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
August 09, 2013, 01:07:46 AM
 #9

I have the same APU and im not seeing these numbers. :S
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!