Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2014, 05:42:44 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin-qt client network bandwidth usage  (Read 392 times)
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 12, 2013, 05:39:50 AM
 #1

By running the client, I understand that I become a node in the p2p network. I have installed it rougly 10 days ago and I just realized minutes ago that it is uploading roughly 20GB/day. It says that I have 79 active connections to the network. With this rate, I am going to bust my monthly bandwith limit.

Or maybe it is cgminer or a mix of both. Not sure which one. I'll investigate. Which application in the BTC ecosystem is know to be network hungry?

Is there any way to limit how much network the client is using.

BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
1397972564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397972564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397972564
Reply with quote  #2

1397972564
Report to moderator
1397972564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397972564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397972564
Reply with quote  #2

1397972564
Report to moderator
1397972564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397972564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397972564
Reply with quote  #2

1397972564
Report to moderator
    mBitCASINOWIN BITCOINS IN OUR
24/7 LIVE DEALER CASINO

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397972564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397972564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397972564
Reply with quote  #2

1397972564
Report to moderator
jackrats
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile

Ignore
April 12, 2013, 05:44:41 AM
 #2

Are you certain that the 20GB/day is from the Bitcoin client? I wouldn't expect it to use near that much b/w.
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 12, 2013, 05:47:42 AM
 #3

no I just edited the initial post of the thread. Could be cgminer or a mix of both. This is scary stuff. I have a peak of 31 GB upload for April 9 (maybe insider transactions before wednesday crash). Before installing bitcoin software, my average daily upload was 0.01 GB!

I have 2 pcs mining.

BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
Melonhead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


Law is just an opinion with a gun.


View Profile

Ignore
April 15, 2013, 12:43:54 AM
 #4

You can usually limit upload speed with a setting in your router. It depends on your router's firmware. I know that DD-WRT can do it. I suspect that various stock firmware also has that ability. It might under something called QOS (Quality of Service). Personally, I use the Traffic Shaping feature of IPCOP. I limit my upload speed to 500 kbps (a bit over 60KB per second), and I typically have 50-60 peers. They have to share the 60KB, so each is getting on average about 1KB per second.
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 01, 2013, 09:08:37 PM
 #5

thank you for the tip.

I also found a small tool called 'trickle' that do limit a process bandwidth usage.


BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!