Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 05:07:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD 5870 OpenCL problems  (Read 3394 times)
ruthus99
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


CGC


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:26:05 PM
 #1

Hey all, I recently started looking into mining bitcoins and for this I need an OpenCL graphics card, I presume my Radeon HD 5870 is compatible. I installed the "AMD APP SDK" and ran "GPU Caps Viewer," when I clicked on the option to show me how many OpenCL devices I was using, it only showed my AMD Phenom CPU as the only OPenCL platform on my computer.

Unless the HD 5870 doesn't support OpenCL, what can I do?

Thanks for any help in advance!   Smiley

HD 5870 - 370 Mhash/Sec
1ETV9XAMERBbemEEZwBVseRdzK48H8GgFH
1513098460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513098460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513098460
Reply with quote  #2

1513098460
Report to moderator
1513098460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513098460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513098460
Reply with quote  #2

1513098460
Report to moderator
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513098460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513098460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513098460
Reply with quote  #2

1513098460
Report to moderator
1513098460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513098460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513098460
Reply with quote  #2

1513098460
Report to moderator
ruthus99
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


CGC


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:38:39 PM
 #2

anybody who is mining with a HD 5870 card tell me how its done?

HD 5870 - 370 Mhash/Sec
1ETV9XAMERBbemEEZwBVseRdzK48H8GgFH
Bert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:49:49 PM
 #3

When you click on the "OpenCL" leaf in GPU Caps Viewer, and then click on Devices do you see two devices or only one ?
The first one will be the GPU something like
1: Cypress
And the second one will be your CPU something like:
2: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU  

I have two Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 cards in my windows machine, so I see 3 devices, 1 &2 are the GPU's and 3 is my CPU.

Is this a new graphics card ? Did you uninstall the drivers for your old graphics card. And after you installed the AMD/ATI drivers "11-5_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl.exe" or "11-5_vista64_win7_32_dd_ccc_ocl.exe" did you reboot your machine ?

Tip jar: 1BW6kXgUjGrFTqEpyP8LpVEPQDLTkbATZ6
Bert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:02:28 PM
 #4

Until you can see the GPU as an OpenCL device under windows you can't go any further, maybe uninstall the driver and reinstall. What windows OS are you running ?

Windows 7 64 bit - http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.42&lang=us&rev=&ostype=Windows%207%20-%2064-Bit%20Edition
Windows 7 32 bit - http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_vista32.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.42&lang=us&rev=&ostype=Windows%207%20-%2032-Bit%20Edition
Windows Vista 32 bit - http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_vista32.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.42&lang=us&rev=&ostype=Windows%20Vista%20-%2032-Bit%20Edition

Anyhow once you can see the OpenCL device (Cypress)
Download the phoenix windows binary - https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Phoenix_miner
Pick a pool to mine for, will be too slow to gain BTC's otherwise https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Comparison_of_mining_pools
And the pool website will have instructions on what command line options to use with phoenix.



Tip jar: 1BW6kXgUjGrFTqEpyP8LpVEPQDLTkbATZ6
ruthus99
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


CGC


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 07:45:20 PM
 #5

Thanks guys, I sorted it out, I uninstalled all ATI Driver which was a stupid mistake so I had to do a system restore, downloaded the new ati catalyst drivers and updated everything. Now everythings working and GPU Caps Viewer is detecting two OpenCL devices :-) Thanks for all the help

HD 5870 - 370 Mhash/Sec
1ETV9XAMERBbemEEZwBVseRdzK48H8GgFH
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!