Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:34:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stupid Question - Confused Newbie  (Read 1885 times)
jbgc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 08:15:12 PM
 #1

Hey Everybody,

As you can see, I am still a newbie here so forgive me if this question is dumb or out of place.  I have read and searched through every article posted in this topic which was written by Atlas in order to help beginners.

I have been mining for 2 days now and I still have not received a BitCoin.  As of right now, my BTC application shows I have 128989 blocks and I am going at 1403 khash/s, with 4 connections.  I have a very good computer (Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz with 8GB RAM and a very powerful GPU as well as CPU).

Am I doing something wrong?  What does 'khash/s' mean?  Why don't I have a coin yet?  How long should it take to get one with my computer?

Sorry again if these questions are dumb.  This is the Newb forum so I figured it was the appropriate place to post.   Grin

jbgc

14kPcPp8mybMJ9gZKYPnP6Z337kp7Kvtik
1480847665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847665
Reply with quote  #2

1480847665
Report to moderator
1480847665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847665
Reply with quote  #2

1480847665
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480847665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847665
Reply with quote  #2

1480847665
Report to moderator
1480847665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847665
Reply with quote  #2

1480847665
Report to moderator
1480847665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847665
Reply with quote  #2

1480847665
Report to moderator
digitzero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:18:54 PM
 #2

So you're doing about 1 Megahash per second, which is very, very low.  It would take a long time to generate a block at your current rate.  I would suggest that you join a bitcoin pool, or build a mining rig, or both.
tokn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:27:40 PM
 #3

At your current rate: 1Mhash/s is a losing proposition you are going to pay a lot in electricity and not get anything out of it.

CPU doesn't matter with regards to mining, you need to have a good GPU.

See the hardware comparison site and see where you GPU fits in. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Malnilion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:33:59 PM
 #4

With your current computer, you're going to want to join a mining pool. Read about that here:  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Pooled_mining. You'll also want to get set up with a GPU miner. You might check this wiki article out: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/DiabloMiner.app

Shameless plug:
1H7ni5nMFcVUt85q61Z8AXWehv7FGA3e7W
jbgc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 08:37:05 PM
 #5

So is the 1Mhash/s due to my slow internet connection?  Why am I mining so slowly?  Also, my graphic card is an 'NVIDIA GeForce 320M' with 256MB of VRAM.  Is that a good or bad GPU?  How long would it take to get a BTC at this rate?

14kPcPp8mybMJ9gZKYPnP6Z337kp7Kvtik
impededotnet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:56:24 PM
 #6

theoretically you could get lucky and get a block though, i mean its just down to the odds - you increase those odds with a better rig...
rollingreens
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 09:04:48 PM
 #7

theoretically you could get lucky and get a block though, i mean its just down to the odds - you increase those odds with a better rig...


Regarding this, what do mining pools say about these odds?...I have a feeling that entering any sort of mining pool completely decreases the chance of luck in ratio to a single person because if one person gets lucky then the WHOLE POOL gets lucky but the amount of people in a pool is so large that it normalizes or something. idk what im saying actually....
jbgc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 09:06:58 PM
 #8

CPU doesn't matter with regards to mining, you need to have a good GPU.

Is my graphics card very good?  (NVIDIA GeForce 320M)

At your current rate: 1Mhash/s is a losing proposition you are going to pay a lot in electricity and not get anything out of it.

Does my Mhash/s depend on internet speed?

14kPcPp8mybMJ9gZKYPnP6Z337kp7Kvtik
tokn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 09:28:33 PM
 #9

CPU doesn't matter with regards to mining, you need to have a good GPU.

Is my graphics card very good?  (NVIDIA GeForce 320M)


No see the hardware link I gave.

At your current rate: 1Mhash/s is a losing proposition you are going to pay a lot in electricity and not get anything out of it.

Does my Mhash/s depend on internet speed?

mhash can come from CPU or GPU, but you will get more from the right GPU. Again see the link.
frutza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 09:37:50 PM
 #10

Mining with your current configuration is a waste of electricity. Unless you are extremely lucky, it may take years before you solve a block and get 50 BTC. Joining a pool may help you get a few fractions of a bitcoin to play with, but no more than that. Mining is pointless these days unless you can afford some pretty expensive hardware. Just buy some bitcoins with the electricity money  Smiley
jbgc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2011, 03:03:47 AM
 #11

Mining is pointless these days unless you can afford some pretty expensive hardware.

So most of the 21mil BTCs have already been mined?  Should I even try to mine?

14kPcPp8mybMJ9gZKYPnP6Z337kp7Kvtik
frutza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 12:42:39 PM
 #12

Less than 7 million bitcoins have been mined. There's still a lot of coins left  Smiley but it gets harder and harder to get them (difficulty goes up as more and more people get into the mining business).
Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 01:07:44 PM
 #13

CPU doesn't matter with regards to mining, you need to have a good GPU.

Is my graphics card very good?  (NVIDIA GeForce 320M)
No. It's actually pathetic. It should do about 6 MHash/s, I have a computer which can do 1400 MHash/s.

At your current rate: 1Mhash/s is a losing proposition you are going to pay a lot in electricity and not get anything out of it.

Does my Mhash/s depend on internet speed?
No.

In any case it's not enough to have a GPU, you need to actually use it. The Bitcoin client software doesn't, you need a mining software like kiv's GUI mining.

theoretically you could get lucky and get a block though, i mean its just down to the odds - you increase those odds with a better rig...

Regarding this, what do mining pools say about these odds?...I have a feeling that entering any sort of mining pool completely decreases the chance of luck in ratio to a single person because if one person gets lucky then the WHOLE POOL gets lucky but the amount of people in a pool is so large that it normalizes or something. idk what im saying actually....
Without a pool, you have 0.1% chance to get 50 BTC.
With a pool, you have 100% chance to get 0.05 BTC.
(Actual numbers depend on your hashrate and time spent mining)


1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
Stupidpal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:16:22 PM
 #14

Even your GPU won't be able to do much. It's Nvidia and also a mobility model.

If I helped, tip me! Smiley http://btc.to/a7
The easiest way to earn Bitcoins! BitCatch Randomizer
ts314
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:18:54 PM
 #15

jbgc, you are mining on your cpu! (which means you have a much lower hashrate than you could have)

see the already posted wiki page for instructions on how to set up GPU mining (you will need CUDA from NVidia for GPU computing)
chungy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:24:05 PM
 #16

Your GPU is very weak and won't get many hashes.  Like others said, it's possible you can get lucky and actually generate a block but the chances are against you for the next 5 years on that hardware.
kudoshin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:26:05 PM
 #17

You would have to calculate the rate at which you purchase electricity at, then calculate how many bitcoins you can mine and how much they would be worth. on the Nvidia side, if you have any card worse than a GTX 460, I think you wont even break even. AMD cards tend to be better and you would need a card that is better than a 5670. Anything less than 60 megahashes isn't worth it these days, unless if you just want to get some sample money to gamble with.
lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:38:15 PM
 #18

See www.Bitclockers.com Wink

http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=3.0 <--- Step-by-step guide to hold your hand through getting you set up on a pool.

You'll make more money on a pool.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!