Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:00:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't mine via CUDA cores with GUIMiner?  (Read 2014 times)
trunorz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 12:50:34 AM
 #1

I'm using a 550 Ti to mine while I'm at school/sleeping or just bored, but I can't get past 50Mh/s because the default is OpenCL for some reason.  So I try to change it to CUDA and everything is set up except for the fact that clicking the "start mining" button does absolutely nothing.
1508727647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727647
Reply with quote  #2

1508727647
Report to moderator
1508727647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727647
Reply with quote  #2

1508727647
Report to moderator
1508727647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727647
Reply with quote  #2

1508727647
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508727647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727647
Reply with quote  #2

1508727647
Report to moderator
1508727647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727647
Reply with quote  #2

1508727647
Report to moderator
trunorz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:06:23 AM
 #2

bump
trunorz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:17:39 AM
 #3

bump.
AlphaWolf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:22:33 AM
 #4

I'm using a 550 Ti to mine while I'm at school/sleeping or just bored, but I can't get past 50Mh/s because the default is OpenCL for some reason.  So I try to change it to CUDA and everything is set up except for the fact that clicking the "start mining" button does absolutely nothing.

The latest version of GUIMiner doesn't come with the extra miners, that are normally stored in the "miners" folder.   To get that folder, you need to download an older version from here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3878.0

I believe the version you want is guiminer-20120219.exe.  Extract that, and it should have the "miners" folder.   See if you can get that to work. If so, try updating to the latest version by extracting the newest version on top of the old.
fendlestick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:29:16 AM
 #5

theres a thread someplace by psychocoder maybe spelling, that has a nvidia specific miner thats much improved.

20% OFF All Bondage - www.cryptosextoys.com
Affiliates Get 10% - Join
mendicm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:59:38 AM
 #6

yes there is a new miner coded for cuda with a 560gtx you can get 130 kh/s for ltc
termhn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 02:12:04 AM
 #7

Check this out!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0

MAKE SURE you put -C 0 in your launch options, that option is broken currently. Hopefully he will put out an update soon that fixes it because it improves performance a ton Cheesy Also, READ THROUGH THE WHOLE README, you will probably increase your performance. If you need a little guide I'll write one but you should be able to figure it out.
AlphaWolf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 05:21:23 AM
 #8

Check this out!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0

MAKE SURE you put -C 0 in your launch options, that option is broken currently. Hopefully he will put out an update soon that fixes it because it improves performance a ton Cheesy Also, READ THROUGH THE WHOLE README, you will probably increase your performance. If you need a little guide I'll write one but you should be able to figure it out.

According to the README.txt:
Quote
this is a CUDA accelerated mining application for litecoin only.

I'm still boggled by why there is so much non-Bitcoin alt-currency activity on the Bitcoin Forum at bitcointalk.org... but... whatever.  People should specify if they're talking about LTC instead of BTC... but based on face that OP said he "can't get past 50Mh/s" on a nVidia card, it is logical to assume he's mining BTC.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!